$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Inn at the Waterpark

3 stars
2525 Jones Dr, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
35 reviews
Relaxing atmosphere

Very nice accomodations. Very clean and in good order. Only concern was the view... looking at a... See full review

  • Fast tracker
  • Jul 8, 2014
Great room for the price!

Moody Gardens was booked so we booked here and was not disappointed. Rooms we're clean and the... See full review

  • Betsy Ann
  • Sep 25, 2013
Adjacent to Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark, with oversized rooms
Families who have the Schlitterbahn Waterpark on their list of vacation "must-dos" appreciate the close proximity of the Inn at the Waterpark. Just steps from the park, which features more than 20 slides and attractions, the water park and Moody Gardens are family favorites. Inn at the Waterpark rooms are bright and airy. For even more water fun, the hotel features an outdoor pool and deck surrounded by palm trees.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and deck
  • Close to beach and other Galveston attractions
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
Rooms
Decorated in light island tones, rooms at the Inn at the Waterpark feature a refrigerator, coffee-maker, microwave, iron/ironing board, hair-dryer and, of course, cable television and free Wi-Fi. All rooms are individually climate controlled. Cribs and rollaway beds are also  available (fees apply).
Features
Start the day at Inn at the Waterpark with a complimentary continental breakfast. From there, head to the adjacent Schillerbahn Waterpark, to the beach, or to any of the major attractions of Galveston. The Inn at the Waterpark is close to everything visitors to Galveston want to see and do. At the Lone Star Flight Museum, a variety of World War II aircraft are on display. The outdoor pool and large wooden deck make an ideal place for families to lounge and relax. Free parking is available and guests are invited to use the hotel shuttle service to the cruise terminal (some limitations and restrictions apply).
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (37 mi/60 km)
Attractions
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moody Gardens (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Fort Crockett (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
  • Port of Galveston (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Strand District (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in guest rooms
  • Close to Galveston Island Convention Center
  • Meeting room available
  • Light catering available

Hotel Map

29.2673 -94.8489
Nearby airports
Galveston Intl Scholes Field Airport, (GLS), 0.25, MI, E; William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 37.27, MI, S; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 57.92, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn at the Waterpark also booked these hotels.

Inn at the Waterpark Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe Queen - Two queen beds. Refrigerator. Coffee maker and microwave. Cable TV. Rollaway beds. All rooms have been recently renovated and are non-smoking.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Standard King - Each room offers one king bed. Refrigerator. Coffee maker and microwave. Cable TV. Rollaway beds. All rooms have been recently renovated and are non-smoking.
Standard
Standard Double - Two double beds. Refrigerator. Coffee maker and microwave. Cable TV. Rollaway beds. All rooms have been recently renovated and are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Miniature golf
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4.4 mi

Dining

81st Street Grill
Pool side restaurant and bar 6AM till 11PM.
Terrace Restaurant
Located on the main floor of Moody Gardens Hotel 6AM to 10PM.
Giados
From 11am to 10pm.
Chilis
From 11 AM to 10 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Inn at the Waterpark

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Terri Todd
alexandria,la
Jun 6, 2014

Very Disappointed

If you book on a travel site they put you in the old section of the hotel that the rooms are very small, dingy and OLD. The bathroom was so small that you could almost stick your leg in the tub from the bathroom door. Our friends met us there and booked a room with the hotel on the hotels website and were put in the new part with bigger rooms and much larger bathrooms. On the website they say that there is a bar and there is NO bar. The ice machine by our room and the soda machine were out of order. we had to go to the lobby for ice. I am very disappointed and will never go to that place again.Sorry that I took my family there and paid so much money for a place like that. Motel 6 would have been better and I could have saved some money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jun 27, 2011

Dirty and Disappointing

I was charged quite a bit more for this hotel than what the hotel themselves offered for the stay. When we got to our room it was extremely dirty. There were stains on the carpet everywhere, the bed spread had brown goo on it. The couch, and chairs were all stained and the air conditioning had mold growing on it. Needless to say it was not what I expected after having paid almost $200 for one night. [...] There is a newer section that is supposed to be really nice, but the hotel is not putting any of the money that they are getting from the outrageous prices toward the older section. They could at least try to get the stains out of the furniture and carpets. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
baton rouge
May 31, 2010

galveston beach vacation

we stayed at a super 8, got a 2 bedroom, not to far away and paid less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gonzabo
San Antonio, TX, USA
Aug 15, 2011

conference at Moody Gardens

room was nice but when we tried the (Micro) was not working, also light switches were mixed we'd have to keep one on in order for all of them to work, we were not told of this, plus their swimming pool was dirty, water was cloudy for 2 days,it wasnt til the our last day (third day) that i actually notice water had been cleaned. also they had put a family with several children above us so it was pretty bad noise wise running jumping and I did complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 16, 2007

Close to waterpark and Moody Gardens

The Inn at the Waterpark was closed to attractions, the room was OK except that our coffee maker was missing so we ask attentdant for another one, she gave us one that was very dirty and did not work, so we return it and went to Wal Mart and bought our own, then our microwave would not work as well. However, at check out they did take 10% off of our total bill. All in all it was just OK, I probably would not stay there again if I return to the Galveston area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

1. Close walk to Schlitterban Waterpark 2. Several Blocks from Seawall Blvd

Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CraigAustin
Business
Austin
Sep 19, 2012

Not bad but not a 3-star

Close to the water park (not right next door though, maybe quarter mile). Nothing wrong with the place but it is a motel, not a 3-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jakdasnake
Houston
Sep 4, 2012

Good place good price

Overall good place to stay the night. The rooms where clean and so was the pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
friends on a weekend getaway
houston, TX
Jun 1, 2010

Nice

Great location for west end beach, Moody Gardens, and Schlitterbahn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Galvestonian Traveler
Summerville, SC
Feb 24, 2014

Great location but otherwise ok

We were put in the old building even though the hotel was nearly empty during our stay. The room layout was great for my needs; the desk and fridge/microwave were situated in a small room in the entry and felt separated from the bedroom and bath, which was perfect for working. However, the beds were very old and uncomfortable and one comforter had a large disgusting stain on it. The bathtub and sink did not have drain plugs, so I couldn't give my child a bath, and the bathtub was so gross anyways I likely wouldn't have anyway. The faucets to turn the shower on were extremely difficult to operate. Staff were friendly but not overly helpful. Breakfast was acceptable but less than what you would normally expect for a continental breakfast (no oatmeal, no waffles, minimal fresh fruit, nothing hot). The mini golf course was a fun addition but in horrible shape! The greens were peeling up from most of the holes, the PVC pipes that direct the golf balls were broken, the golf clubs were disgustingly dirty, and many aspects of the course decorations were in poor shape or broken. Overall, a convenient place to stay if you are going to Moody Gardens or Schlitterbahn, but I don't think we'll stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Inn at the Waterpark

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brenda Olvera MesquiteTX
Mesquite, Tx
Sep 4, 2012

Inn at Waterpark Labor Day Week-End

Front desk lady was not very pleasant. She was very short with all the guests and would talk to me without looking at me. The room was ok, it was much bigger than I expected. Our room was at a building across the parking lot of the inn. It was very difficult to get to the breakfast in the morning from a different building. Pool was very far away too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Recommended only if looking for a good deal. Otherwise look elsewhere.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search