$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

2 stars
8216 Harborside Drive, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
72 reviews
4th of July

Nice and quiet! Close to I-45 and away from all of the crowds... See full review

  • B Nick
  • Jul 7, 2014
cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise See full review

  • Mustang girly
  • Sep 27, 2013
Closest Howard Johnson to Cruise Terminal Close to UTMB Hospital Easy Access to I-45 Free Parking w/Overnight for Cruise Guests/1 car per guest Special Corporate Rates Upon Request Weekly Rates Available through Hotel Free Continental breakfast No Swimming Pool Only 5 Miles from beaches No Pets Allowed

Hotel Map

29.2881 -94.8641
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 72
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hadji and hammi
ROCKVILLE, MD
Apr 6, 2014

great stay after cruise

Nothing special but great place to stay.We don't stay long in the room but it had a clean comfortable bed after a busy day exploring Galveston. Management was very helpful in answering our questions. We stayed at the completion of our cruise but the allowed us to park our car there with a paid for room after the cruise. Transportation to the ship was at our front door. Had a couple of trains pass during our stay but they did not disrupt our rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mustang girly
arkansas
Sep 27, 2013

cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ricky Ticky Tavy
San Antonio Texas
May 2, 2013

Trot to Galveston

First let me say that the staff was very friendly and professional. Our complaint is that the location is about 50 yards from a very busy freight train depot. all night long you could hear their horns blaring. On the other side of the hotel was a truck stop with considerable traffic through out the day. We really did not get much sleep the 2 nights we were there and decided to forgo the final night and left for home. The toilet seat should be replaced because it was in bad shape. There was a retention pond (or moat) on the side of the hotel that needed some clean up. The hotel did have free Wi Fi and the continental breakfast was adequate for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salsas Restaurant has Mariachi music Wednesday and Sunday evenings. Very good band and great drinks.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queenie281
Friendswood, TX, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Not bad

When I booked this room, I didn't really look at the location. It was not a bad location, just not what I really wanted, my mistake. Other then that, the room was clean, location is OK if you're going on a cruise. I'm sure it was cheaper then the other big hotels closer to the Strand. Needs a bigger sign. My tip, it's right nextdoor to the Valero.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Look for the Valero, you might miss it otherwise

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shreveport, La
Apr 4, 2011

VERY FREINDLY, GREAT LOCATION FOR CRUISE

1. My wife & I had a very good evening dining in Galveston & the rest at the Howard-Johnson was great. The room cost $ reasonable $, we will say there again on our next trip. Room was VERY CLEAN,COMFEY BED,COLD A/C, HOT SHOWER, ETC. ALL THE BASIC NEEDS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shreveport, La
Apr 4, 2011

VERY FREINDLY, GREAT LOCATION FOR CRUISE

1. My wife & I had a very good evening dining in Galveston & the rest at the Howard-Johnson was great. The room cost $ reasonable $, we will say there again on our next trip. Room was VERY CLEAN,COMFEY BED,COLD A/C, HOT SHOWER, ETC. ALL THE BASIC NEEDS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sunnyvale, CA
Mar 16, 2011

Very Nice Place to Stay

Very nice place to stay if you are catching a cruise from the port of Galveston. Please note this motel is not near the cruise terminal and is about a five minute drive by car to the terminal. (It may be on Harborside Drive but is not near the harbor) The management allowed us to leave our car in the parking lot of the motel for the duration of our 1 week cruise at no charge. (Parking lot is lit very brightly and has security cameras) We felt very comfortable leaving our car at the motel! Staff was very friendly but did have some difficulty in giving us easy to understand directions to location on a very foggy Galveston night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sunnyvale, CA
Mar 16, 2011

Very Nice Place to Stay

Very nice place to stay if you are catching a cruise from the port of Galveston. Please note this motel is not near the cruise terminal and is about a five minute drive by car to the terminal. (It may be on Harborside Drive but is not near the harbor) The management allowed us to leave our car in the parking lot of the motel for the duration of our 1 week cruise at no charge. (Parking lot is lit very brightly and has security cameras) We felt very comfortable leaving our car at the motel! Staff was very friendly but did have some difficulty in giving us easy to understand directions to location on a very foggy Galveston night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David Waytall
Garland Texas
Mar 20, 2010

It was alright but service bad

We wanted to stay on that Saturday they gave a quote over the phone of $89.00 but changed it to $129.00. Then on last day the General Manager calls at the last minute as we where leaving and told us we could stay for the $89.00 something. We were already packed and almost out the door and had already told every one that we were coming home. They should have been more prompt about that. Bed was very hard and not very comfortable had trouble sleeping on it. Do not intend to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Marios Resturante had Italion food that was great and so did Salas's Mexican Resturanton the Seawall. All the sights and intertainment were really great we just did not like the Hotel that much

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David Waytall
Garland Texas
Mar 20, 2010

It was alright but service bad

We wanted to stay on that Saturday they gave a quote over the phone of $89.00 but changed it to $129.00. Then on last day the General Manager calls at the last minute as we where leaving and told us we could stay for the $89.00 something. We were already packed and almost out the door and had already told every one that we were coming home. They should have been more prompt about that. Bed was very hard and not very comfortable had trouble sleeping on it. Do not intend to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Marios Resturante had Italion food that was great and so did Salas's Mexican Resturanton the Seawall. All the sights and intertainment were really great we just did not like the Hotel that much

Back to menu Return to top