$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

2 stars
8216 Harborside Drive, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
50 reviews
4th of July

Nice and quiet! Close to I-45 and away from all of the crowds... See full review

  • B Nick
  • Jul 7, 2014
cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise See full review

  • Mustang girly
  • Sep 27, 2013
Closest Howard Johnson to Cruise Terminal Close to UTMB Hospital Easy Access to I-45 Free Parking w/Overnight for Cruise Guests/1 car per guest Special Corporate Rates Upon Request Weekly Rates Available through Hotel Free Continental breakfast No Swimming Pool Only 5 Miles from beaches No Pets Allowed

Hotel Map

29.2881 -94.8641
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Artistic Mess
Business
Fort Worth Texas
Mar 3, 2014

So bad we checked out early!

My family and I were planning on staying the entire weekend (friday thru sunday), however we left Saturday morning because the hotel was so awful! First of all unless you are used to A LOT of noise, don't stay here. The train goes by all night long and across the parking lot is a truck stop. The constant sound of each of these made us crazy all night. It was impossible to sleep. Then there was the appearance of the room, the comforter had holes in it, the towels had black stuff on them, the shower water was brown, and our feet turned black from walking on the carpet. The so called continental breakfast, consisted of stale cereal, and stale pastries as well as a gallon of milk for community use. When we complained to the staff, even they recommended calling and trying to get a refund!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gary & Sharon Smith
Business
MT. Angel, Oregon
Nov 9, 2009

Really awful!

WE were there for one night prior to cruising. It is by far the filthiest hotel we have ever stayed in. There was even blood stain on the bedspread. I am very disappointed and am shocked, especially as the rooms were well over $100.00 a night. [...] Gary and Sharon Smith

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Giudo's Fish House on the SeaWall in Galveston. Food was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleburne tx
Mar 16, 2010

Ok

It was noisy you can hear the train passing by all time of day and night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crooksta54
Business
dallas, tx
Jun 24, 2009

great disappointment

Im am very disappointed in the hotel that is shown for the trip that I am on right this minute in Galveston, TX. The hotel is nothing like in the photos on the website. The toilet is broken and no vending machine wrks. I chose this hotel because of this websites recommending it and showing photos of what it was like. It is nothing like the photos. I am on a vacation from my job for fathers day with my son...and i do feel it is runined by this stay. I do not plan on using orbitz as a 1st choice for booking any more of my travelings since I cant trust to get what I see on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
alex-disappointed guest
Business
conroe,tx
Mar 21, 2010

The worst experience ever

one hotel was dirty, the beds were pushed together and urine was in the toilet. there was no pool. the desk clerk was sleeping when we need help later in the evening. there wasn't enough parking. there was no frig or microwave, when stated there should have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ARKANSAS
Apr 22, 2009

"THE GOOD, THE BAD, THE UGLY"

WE TRIED TO WATCH TV AND RELAX BUT THE TV DID NOT COME IN VERY GOOD AND THE AIR DID NOT WORK. THE CARPET WAS DIRTY, I WALK AROUND BAREFOOT AND MY FEET WERE BLACK...... THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT IT WAS YOU COULD LEAVE YOUR CAR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HappyCruiser2014
Business
Yorba Linda, CA
Sep 3, 2014

Adrian, the front desk manager, was the best part of the stay

After reading reviews we really weren't expecting much from the Howard Johnson. It was in a pretty industrial neighborhood kind of in the middle of nowhere if you didn't have a car. We only chose this place for a quick overnight stay prior to boarding our cruise ship. Our party had 3 rooms. The rooms were all pretty run down, with old dirty carpets and thin towels. One room was not even cleaned prior to our arrival, with Cheetos crumbs on the floor and a dirty toilet seat. The air conditioner, which was absolutely necessary to be on because of the weather, had only two settings, loud or louder. No one got a sound sleep that night. The only redemption HoJo had was Adrian. He cheerfully checked us in at 11 p.m. He informed us there was a breakfast the next morning (which we did not expect). We saw him bright an early the next day, in a flurry of activity. He was constantly refilling breakfast items, calling cabs or shuttles for departing guests, handling front desk calls, checking guests out, and it seemed also handling maintenance calls. All this was done with a genuine smile. While our party of 10 was waiting for a shuttle and our arranged ride did not show up, he actually went to the gas station next door to negotiate a ride for us while the taxi driver was filling gas in his car. Adrian went way above and beyond his call of duty during our 12 hour stay in Galveston. We were very impressed with his service and friendly way. He definitely made a difference for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Delane
Business
Richardson, TX, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Every thing average

Everything here was fine except for location. I was awaken twice in the middle of the night by freight trains!!! Hotel is right next to several tracks. NOT GOOD if you need to rest before getting back on the road. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Only the bath tub could have used more attention, but everything else was nice and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zekesmd
Business
Midwest
Jan 21, 2013

Park and Cruise

I chose this hotel as I procrastinated and could not get into the hotel I really wanted. I was looking for a park and cruise hotel and this hotel does allow you to leave your car in their lot. Pick up for the shuttle is right at the main desk of the hotel and is $10/person round trip. Breakfast was cereal and juice in a very cramped lobby. Room has issues! Carpet has not been cleaned in a long time and my suspicion is that there is mold in the carpet as we transferred much black material from our socks to the bed. Sheets were clean but stained. Heater/air conditioner would not stay on continuous fan. Not worth the ninety plus dollars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I brought my family to the port, dropped them off, and parked back at the hotel, riding the shuttle back to port. Then everything in reverse after the cruise. This way you have no luggage to bring on the shuttle and I was able to squeeze on when others had to wait due to the limited luggage space. This also then only cost me $10 to ride the shuttle instead of $60 for our entire party! When driving to the port stay in the right hand lane of harborside drive until the last possible moment then sneak in before or after a stop light. An alternative would be to take 45/87 or Broadway to 22nd street as this line tends to be shorter. This will save tons of time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ricky Ticky Tavy
Business
San Antonio Texas
May 2, 2013

Trot to Galveston

First let me say that the staff was very friendly and professional. Our complaint is that the location is about 50 yards from a very busy freight train depot. all night long you could hear their horns blaring. On the other side of the hotel was a truck stop with considerable traffic through out the day. We really did not get much sleep the 2 nights we were there and decided to forgo the final night and left for home. The toilet seat should be replaced because it was in bad shape. There was a retention pond (or moat) on the side of the hotel that needed some clean up. The hotel did have free Wi Fi and the continental breakfast was adequate for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salsas Restaurant has Mariachi music Wednesday and Sunday evenings. Very good band and great drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top