$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

2 stars
8216 Harborside Drive, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
49 reviews
4th of July

Nice and quiet! Close to I-45 and away from all of the crowds... See full review

  • B Nick
  • Jul 7, 2014
cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise See full review

  • Mustang girly
  • Sep 27, 2013
Closest Howard Johnson to Cruise Terminal Close to UTMB Hospital Easy Access to I-45 Free Parking w/Overnight for Cruise Guests/1 car per guest Special Corporate Rates Upon Request Weekly Rates Available through Hotel Free Continental breakfast No Swimming Pool Only 5 Miles from beaches No Pets Allowed

Hotel Map

29.2881 -94.8641
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crooksta54
dallas, tx
Jun 24, 2009

great disappointment

Im am very disappointed in the hotel that is shown for the trip that I am on right this minute in Galveston, TX. The hotel is nothing like in the photos on the website. The toilet is broken and no vending machine wrks. I chose this hotel because of this websites recommending it and showing photos of what it was like. It is nothing like the photos. I am on a vacation from my job for fathers day with my son...and i do feel it is runined by this stay. I do not plan on using orbitz as a 1st choice for booking any more of my travelings since I cant trust to get what I see on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleburne tx
Mar 16, 2010

Ok

It was noisy you can hear the train passing by all time of day and night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ARKANSAS
Apr 22, 2009

"THE GOOD, THE BAD, THE UGLY"

WE TRIED TO WATCH TV AND RELAX BUT THE TV DID NOT COME IN VERY GOOD AND THE AIR DID NOT WORK. THE CARPET WAS DIRTY, I WALK AROUND BAREFOOT AND MY FEET WERE BLACK...... THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT IT WAS YOU COULD LEAVE YOUR CAR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HappyCruiser2014
Yorba Linda, CA
Sep 3, 2014

Adrian, the front desk manager, was the best part of the stay

After reading reviews we really weren't expecting much from the Howard Johnson. It was in a pretty industrial neighborhood kind of in the middle of nowhere if you didn't have a car. We only chose this place for a quick overnight stay prior to boarding our cruise ship. Our party had 3 rooms. The rooms were all pretty run down, with old dirty carpets and thin towels. One room was not even cleaned prior to our arrival, with Cheetos crumbs on the floor and a dirty toilet seat. The air conditioner, which was absolutely necessary to be on because of the weather, had only two settings, loud or louder. No one got a sound sleep that night. The only redemption HoJo had was Adrian. He cheerfully checked us in at 11 p.m. He informed us there was a breakfast the next morning (which we did not expect). We saw him bright an early the next day, in a flurry of activity. He was constantly refilling breakfast items, calling cabs or shuttles for departing guests, handling front desk calls, checking guests out, and it seemed also handling maintenance calls. All this was done with a genuine smile. While our party of 10 was waiting for a shuttle and our arranged ride did not show up, he actually went to the gas station next door to negotiate a ride for us while the taxi driver was filling gas in his car. Adrian went way above and beyond his call of duty during our 12 hour stay in Galveston. We were very impressed with his service and friendly way. He definitely made a difference for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Artistic Mess
Fort Worth Texas
Mar 3, 2014

So bad we checked out early!

My family and I were planning on staying the entire weekend (friday thru sunday), however we left Saturday morning because the hotel was so awful! First of all unless you are used to A LOT of noise, don't stay here. The train goes by all night long and across the parking lot is a truck stop. The constant sound of each of these made us crazy all night. It was impossible to sleep. Then there was the appearance of the room, the comforter had holes in it, the towels had black stuff on them, the shower water was brown, and our feet turned black from walking on the carpet. The so called continental breakfast, consisted of stale cereal, and stale pastries as well as a gallon of milk for community use. When we complained to the staff, even they recommended calling and trying to get a refund!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
alex-disappointed guest
conroe,tx
Mar 21, 2010

The worst experience ever

one hotel was dirty, the beds were pushed together and urine was in the toilet. there was no pool. the desk clerk was sleeping when we need help later in the evening. there wasn't enough parking. there was no frig or microwave, when stated there should have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gary & Sharon Smith
MT. Angel, Oregon
Nov 9, 2009

Really awful!

WE were there for one night prior to cruising. It is by far the filthiest hotel we have ever stayed in. There was even blood stain on the bedspread. I am very disappointed and am shocked, especially as the rooms were well over $100.00 a night. [...] Gary and Sharon Smith

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Giudo's Fish House on the SeaWall in Galveston. Food was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
miisst
houston
Aug 16, 2014

i didnt like it

Honestly i didnt like it. While sleeping at night we could hear the train. But i can say that the staff was very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Healthy chinese buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
texas
Jun 24, 2009

Eh

The staff wasn't all that friendly. We had to switch rooms due to ants in our sink

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David Waytall
Garland Texas
Mar 20, 2010

It was alright but service bad

We wanted to stay on that Saturday they gave a quote over the phone of $89.00 but changed it to $129.00. Then on last day the General Manager calls at the last minute as we where leaving and told us we could stay for the $89.00 something. We were already packed and almost out the door and had already told every one that we were coming home. They should have been more prompt about that. Bed was very hard and not very comfortable had trouble sleeping on it. Do not intend to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Marios Resturante had Italion food that was great and so did Salas's Mexican Resturanton the Seawall. All the sights and intertainment were really great we just did not like the Hotel that much

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search