$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

2 stars
View map of 8216 Harborside Drive, Galveston, TX 77554

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas texas
Jul 6, 2009

Decent stay

manager was helpful and kind housekeeping were good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

beach is an all day event for kids

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crooksta54
Business
dallas, tx
Jun 24, 2009

great disappointment

Im am very disappointed in the hotel that is shown for the trip that I am on right this minute in Galveston, TX. The hotel is nothing like in the photos on the website. The toilet is broken and no vending machine wrks. I chose this hotel because of this websites recommending it and showing photos of what it was like. It is nothing like the photos. I am on a vacation from my job for fathers day with my son...and i do feel it is runined by this stay. I do not plan on using orbitz as a 1st choice for booking any more of my travelings since I cant trust to get what I see on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Jun 24, 2009

Eh

The staff wasn't all that friendly. We had to switch rooms due to ants in our sink

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver Colorado
Jun 8, 2009

Overnight Stay before the cruise

The staff was great. I had to make special arrangements for an extra child and they were extremely helpful. I also love the fact that I can leave my vehicle and it is safe while I go on my cruise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
okielle
Business
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
May 12, 2009

Had a good time

We just used the hotel to sleep at and a place to stay before crusing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey N.L. México
Apr 22, 2009

Good for the price but they didn´t gave.

We satyed there because it was close from the cruise terminal and have the extra of Free Parking w/Overnight for Cruise Guests. Everyhing was fine and clean, the way we expected for the pricing. They just missed something..... on the price was included breakfast and they did´t have any !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
norman, ok
Apr 22, 2009

Good

We spent one night before getting on a cruise out of Galveston. This motel is located on Harborside Road which takes you straight to Carnival pier. We parked at a secured lot across the street. Saved $20.00. The shuttle to the pier and upon our return was perfect. Much better that parking at the Carnival Lots A and B. It did not have a continental breakfast as was advertised. This was a hugh problem to the bus load of 42 people who counted on this feature. The locale is not pretty but so convenient for just a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ARKANSAS
Apr 22, 2009

"THE GOOD, THE BAD, THE UGLY"

WE TRIED TO WATCH TV AND RELAX BUT THE TV DID NOT COME IN VERY GOOD AND THE AIR DID NOT WORK. THE CARPET WAS DIRTY, I WALK AROUND BAREFOOT AND MY FEET WERE BLACK...... THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT IT WAS YOU COULD LEAVE YOUR CAR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 15, 2008

very nice,friendly,helpful employees

very nice place to stay. very clean. close to schlitterbaun and kemah boardwalk, the two places we visited.dissapointed that it had no swimming pool, but otherwise ok...plenty of parking spaces in spite of the fact that the hotel was booked for spring break. nice family place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

schlitterbaun and kemah boardwalk within 20 minute drive. also shopping and dining closeby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Jan 20, 2008

old motel

this is a old motel away from everything,it has 2 floors and no elavator. very hard when you are disabled

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

there is nowhere to eat near by the motel, except a gas station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top