$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

2 stars
View map of 8216 Harborside Drive, Galveston, TX 77554

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OKC, OK
Sep 3, 2009

Good place close to ports with free park

It is close to the port with free parking. They have a shuttle service if you are going on a cruise for $10 per person. THey drop you off and pick you up. The rooms were clean. Hot showers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Aug 17, 2009

It was good enough

We go to galveston every year and usually stay on the sea shore. Most of the hotels were booked this time, so we decided to try this HJ; which was more inland from the beach. Most of the hotels in galveston are weathered so I don't expect everything to be perfect and spotless. Keeping this in mind, I only had some minor complaints: stained tub (looked dirty), drawers in dresser had no bottom, loud AC, and there is a train that passes by. The bottom line is that this hotel served its purpose for our trip despite some of the shortcomings and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas texas
Jul 6, 2009

Decent stay

manager was helpful and kind housekeeping were good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

beach is an all day event for kids

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas texas
Jul 6, 2009

Decent stay

manager was helpful and kind housekeeping were good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

beach is an all day event for kids

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crooksta54
Business
dallas, tx
Jun 24, 2009

great disappointment

Im am very disappointed in the hotel that is shown for the trip that I am on right this minute in Galveston, TX. The hotel is nothing like in the photos on the website. The toilet is broken and no vending machine wrks. I chose this hotel because of this websites recommending it and showing photos of what it was like. It is nothing like the photos. I am on a vacation from my job for fathers day with my son...and i do feel it is runined by this stay. I do not plan on using orbitz as a 1st choice for booking any more of my travelings since I cant trust to get what I see on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Jun 24, 2009

Eh

The staff wasn't all that friendly. We had to switch rooms due to ants in our sink

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver Colorado
Jun 8, 2009

Overnight Stay before the cruise

The staff was great. I had to make special arrangements for an extra child and they were extremely helpful. I also love the fact that I can leave my vehicle and it is safe while I go on my cruise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
okielle
Business
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
May 12, 2009

Had a good time

We just used the hotel to sleep at and a place to stay before crusing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterrey N.L. México
Apr 22, 2009

Good for the price but they didn´t gave.

We satyed there because it was close from the cruise terminal and have the extra of Free Parking w/Overnight for Cruise Guests. Everyhing was fine and clean, the way we expected for the pricing. They just missed something..... on the price was included breakfast and they did´t have any !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
norman, ok
Apr 22, 2009

Good

We spent one night before getting on a cruise out of Galveston. This motel is located on Harborside Road which takes you straight to Carnival pier. We parked at a secured lot across the street. Saved $20.00. The shuttle to the pier and upon our return was perfect. Much better that parking at the Carnival Lots A and B. It did not have a continental breakfast as was advertised. This was a hugh problem to the bus load of 42 people who counted on this feature. The locale is not pretty but so convenient for just a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top