$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

2 stars
8216 Harborside Drive, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
72 reviews
4th of July

Nice and quiet! Close to I-45 and away from all of the crowds... See full review

  • B Nick
  • Jul 7, 2014
cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise See full review

  • Mustang girly
  • Sep 27, 2013
Closest Howard Johnson to Cruise Terminal Close to UTMB Hospital Easy Access to I-45 Free Parking w/Overnight for Cruise Guests/1 car per guest Special Corporate Rates Upon Request Weekly Rates Available through Hotel Free Continental breakfast No Swimming Pool Only 5 Miles from beaches No Pets Allowed

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2881 -94.8641
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.2

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lvlrs_l3urnside
Plano, TX
May 30, 2011

Nice

We weren't too sure about it b/c it's off the beaten path and away from the main strip....we got in the room and it's larger than we thought it would be, the ac worked great, the staff were VERY nice, and the breakfast was good...what else can you ask for....we didn't hear a train at 1 am like someone else said and there wasn't any noise....it was a good place to stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
alex-disappointed guest
conroe,tx
Mar 21, 2010

The worst experience ever

one hotel was dirty, the beds were pushed together and urine was in the toilet. there was no pool. the desk clerk was sleeping when we need help later in the evening. there wasn't enough parking. there was no frig or microwave, when stated there should have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David Waytall
Garland Texas
Mar 20, 2010

It was alright but service bad

We wanted to stay on that Saturday they gave a quote over the phone of $89.00 but changed it to $129.00. Then on last day the General Manager calls at the last minute as we where leaving and told us we could stay for the $89.00 something. We were already packed and almost out the door and had already told every one that we were coming home. They should have been more prompt about that. Bed was very hard and not very comfortable had trouble sleeping on it. Do not intend to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Marios Resturante had Italion food that was great and so did Salas's Mexican Resturanton the Seawall. All the sights and intertainment were really great we just did not like the Hotel that much

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David Waytall
Garland Texas
Mar 20, 2010

It was alright but service bad

We wanted to stay on that Saturday they gave a quote over the phone of $89.00 but changed it to $129.00. Then on last day the General Manager calls at the last minute as we where leaving and told us we could stay for the $89.00 something. We were already packed and almost out the door and had already told every one that we were coming home. They should have been more prompt about that. Bed was very hard and not very comfortable had trouble sleeping on it. Do not intend to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Marios Resturante had Italion food that was great and so did Salas's Mexican Resturanton the Seawall. All the sights and intertainment were really great we just did not like the Hotel that much

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleburne tx
Mar 16, 2010

Ok

It was noisy you can hear the train passing by all time of day and night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleburne tx
Mar 16, 2010

Ok

It was noisy you can hear the train passing by all time of day and night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oldman1959
san antonio texas
Feb 15, 2010

overnight cruise stay

just four miles to the cruise terminal, right off the highway. great price and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salina, KS
Feb 15, 2010

Comfortable hotel

Really appreciate the free parking for cruise ship vacationers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oldman1959
san antonio texas
Feb 15, 2010

overnight cruise stay

just four miles to the cruise terminal, right off the highway. great price and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salina, KS
Feb 15, 2010

Comfortable hotel

Really appreciate the free parking for cruise ship vacationers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ddneal
Okc, Oklahoma
Jan 17, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location if you are taking a cruise, very friendly staff, clean room, took great car of our car while we were on the cruise, easy out of town access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top