$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

2 stars
8216 Harborside Drive, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
50 reviews
4th of July

Nice and quiet! Close to I-45 and away from all of the crowds... See full review

  • B Nick
  • Jul 7, 2014
cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise See full review

  • Mustang girly
  • Sep 27, 2013
Take the family on an exciting trip to our hotel off Interstate 45 near beaches, cruise terminal and Pleasure Pier with rides and shopping. Splash through the water at Schlitterban indoor water park, visit the Bishops Place castle or Moody Gardens for an IMAX theatre, penguins and golf course. Wake up to free Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and enjoy the free car and large-vehicle parking to make visiting popular attractions simple. Plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with free Wi-Fi and refrigerator. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shreveport, La
Apr 4, 2011

VERY FREINDLY, GREAT LOCATION FOR CRUISE

1. My wife & I had a very good evening dining in Galveston & the rest at the Howard-Johnson was great. The room cost $ reasonable $, we will say there again on our next trip. Room was VERY CLEAN,COMFEY BED,COLD A/C, HOT SHOWER, ETC. ALL THE BASIC NEEDS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queenie281
Business
Friendswood, TX, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Not bad

When I booked this room, I didn't really look at the location. It was not a bad location, just not what I really wanted, my mistake. Other then that, the room was clean, location is OK if you're going on a cruise. I'm sure it was cheaper then the other big hotels closer to the Strand. Needs a bigger sign. My tip, it's right nextdoor to the Valero.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Look for the Valero, you might miss it otherwise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EOT1
Business
Gainesville, TX
Feb 12, 2012

Galveston HoJo

For those cruising out of Galveston on one of the cruise lines and dont need a 5 star, this hotel is perfect.. Prior to this cruise I always booked a hotel in Texas City because it was close to Galveston. HoJo is so much better for a couple reasons. 1) you dont have to deal with the smell and noise of Texas City, 2) Its located just a few miles from the port. 3) HoJo lets you park your vehicle in their parking lot for the entire week at no additional charge and the cruise parking across the street will take you and pick you up for $10/person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Delane
Business
Richardson, TX, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Every thing average

Everything here was fine except for location. I was awaken twice in the middle of the night by freight trains!!! Hotel is right next to several tracks. NOT GOOD if you need to rest before getting back on the road. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Only the bath tub could have used more attention, but everything else was nice and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north texas
Jul 27, 2011

UNHAPPY CAMPERS

friends had a room also and our tub had big crack in bottom and a constant drip in the tub, all you could hear all night was power lines crackling and the train.we also stayed 3 nights and no soaps or little shampoos they left the old wet one on the sink. it isn't a very good area either. was not happy with my choice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lvlrs_l3urnside
Business
Plano, TX
May 30, 2011

Nice

We weren't too sure about it b/c it's off the beaten path and away from the main strip....we got in the room and it's larger than we thought it would be, the ac worked great, the staff were VERY nice, and the breakfast was good...what else can you ask for....we didn't hear a train at 1 am like someone else said and there wasn't any noise....it was a good place to stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, La
Apr 4, 2011

VERY FREINDLY, GREAT LOCATION FOR CRUISE

1. My wife & I had a very good evening dining in Galveston & the rest at the Howard-Johnson was great. The room cost $ reasonable $, we will say there again on our next trip. Room was VERY CLEAN,COMFEY BED,COLD A/C, HOT SHOWER, ETC. ALL THE BASIC NEEDS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Mar 16, 2011

Very Nice Place to Stay

Very nice place to stay if you are catching a cruise from the port of Galveston. Please note this motel is not near the cruise terminal and is about a five minute drive by car to the terminal. (It may be on Harborside Drive but is not near the harbor) The management allowed us to leave our car in the parking lot of the motel for the duration of our 1 week cruise at no charge. (Parking lot is lit very brightly and has security cameras) We felt very comfortable leaving our car at the motel! Staff was very friendly but did have some difficulty in giving us easy to understand directions to location on a very foggy Galveston night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenkins family
Business
chickasha,ok
Aug 9, 2010

fun n the sun

courtious staff clean rooms,no complaints.had a great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the ferry is a great way to see the dolphins an its free just park an ride across stay on an ride back

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
alex-disappointed guest
Business
conroe,tx
Mar 21, 2010

The worst experience ever

one hotel was dirty, the beds were pushed together and urine was in the toilet. there was no pool. the desk clerk was sleeping when we need help later in the evening. there wasn't enough parking. there was no frig or microwave, when stated there should have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David Waytall
Business
Garland Texas
Mar 20, 2010

It was alright but service bad

We wanted to stay on that Saturday they gave a quote over the phone of $89.00 but changed it to $129.00. Then on last day the General Manager calls at the last minute as we where leaving and told us we could stay for the $89.00 something. We were already packed and almost out the door and had already told every one that we were coming home. They should have been more prompt about that. Bed was very hard and not very comfortable had trouble sleeping on it. Do not intend to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Marios Resturante had Italion food that was great and so did Salas's Mexican Resturanton the Seawall. All the sights and intertainment were really great we just did not like the Hotel that much

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top