$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

2 stars
8216 Harborside Drive, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
72 reviews
4th of July

Nice and quiet! Close to I-45 and away from all of the crowds... See full review

  • B Nick
  • Jul 7, 2014
cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise See full review

  • Mustang girly
  • Sep 27, 2013
Closest Howard Johnson to Cruise Terminal Close to UTMB Hospital Easy Access to I-45 Free Parking w/Overnight for Cruise Guests/1 car per guest Special Corporate Rates Upon Request Weekly Rates Available through Hotel Free Continental breakfast No Swimming Pool Only 5 Miles from beaches No Pets Allowed

Hotel Map

29.2881 -94.8641
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.2

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isis Somerhalds
Houston, TX
Aug 7, 2012

Fantastic

May not be in the seawall but it only takes minutes to get there and paid an excellent price. Close to the cruise terminals, great dining, and the Strand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
north texas
Jul 27, 2011

UNHAPPY CAMPERS

friends had a room also and our tub had big crack in bottom and a constant drip in the tub, all you could hear all night was power lines crackling and the train.we also stayed 3 nights and no soaps or little shampoos they left the old wet one on the sink. it isn't a very good area either. was not happy with my choice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lvlrs_l3urnside
Plano, TX
May 30, 2011

Nice

We weren't too sure about it b/c it's off the beaten path and away from the main strip....we got in the room and it's larger than we thought it would be, the ac worked great, the staff were VERY nice, and the breakfast was good...what else can you ask for....we didn't hear a train at 1 am like someone else said and there wasn't any noise....it was a good place to stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lvlrs_l3urnside
Plano, TX
May 30, 2011

Nice

We weren't too sure about it b/c it's off the beaten path and away from the main strip....we got in the room and it's larger than we thought it would be, the ac worked great, the staff were VERY nice, and the breakfast was good...what else can you ask for....we didn't hear a train at 1 am like someone else said and there wasn't any noise....it was a good place to stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shreveport, La
Apr 4, 2011

VERY FREINDLY, GREAT LOCATION FOR CRUISE

1. My wife & I had a very good evening dining in Galveston & the rest at the Howard-Johnson was great. The room cost $ reasonable $, we will say there again on our next trip. Room was VERY CLEAN,COMFEY BED,COLD A/C, HOT SHOWER, ETC. ALL THE BASIC NEEDS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shreveport, La
Apr 4, 2011

VERY FREINDLY, GREAT LOCATION FOR CRUISE

1. My wife & I had a very good evening dining in Galveston & the rest at the Howard-Johnson was great. The room cost $ reasonable $, we will say there again on our next trip. Room was VERY CLEAN,COMFEY BED,COLD A/C, HOT SHOWER, ETC. ALL THE BASIC NEEDS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sunnyvale, CA
Mar 16, 2011

Very Nice Place to Stay

Very nice place to stay if you are catching a cruise from the port of Galveston. Please note this motel is not near the cruise terminal and is about a five minute drive by car to the terminal. (It may be on Harborside Drive but is not near the harbor) The management allowed us to leave our car in the parking lot of the motel for the duration of our 1 week cruise at no charge. (Parking lot is lit very brightly and has security cameras) We felt very comfortable leaving our car at the motel! Staff was very friendly but did have some difficulty in giving us easy to understand directions to location on a very foggy Galveston night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sunnyvale, CA
Mar 16, 2011

Very Nice Place to Stay

Very nice place to stay if you are catching a cruise from the port of Galveston. Please note this motel is not near the cruise terminal and is about a five minute drive by car to the terminal. (It may be on Harborside Drive but is not near the harbor) The management allowed us to leave our car in the parking lot of the motel for the duration of our 1 week cruise at no charge. (Parking lot is lit very brightly and has security cameras) We felt very comfortable leaving our car at the motel! Staff was very friendly but did have some difficulty in giving us easy to understand directions to location on a very foggy Galveston night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenkins family
chickasha,ok
Aug 9, 2010

fun n the sun

courtious staff clean rooms,no complaints.had a great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the ferry is a great way to see the dolphins an its free just park an ride across stay on an ride back

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenkins family
chickasha,ok
Aug 9, 2010

fun n the sun

courtious staff clean rooms,no complaints.had a great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the ferry is a great way to see the dolphins an its free just park an ride across stay on an ride back

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
alex-disappointed guest
conroe,tx
Mar 21, 2010

The worst experience ever

one hotel was dirty, the beds were pushed together and urine was in the toilet. there was no pool. the desk clerk was sleeping when we need help later in the evening. there wasn't enough parking. there was no frig or microwave, when stated there should have been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top