$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

2 stars
View map of 8216 Harborside Drive, Galveston, TX 77554

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shreveport, La
Apr 4, 2011

VERY FREINDLY, GREAT LOCATION FOR CRUISE

1. My wife & I had a very good evening dining in Galveston & the rest at the Howard-Johnson was great. The room cost $ reasonable $, we will say there again on our next trip. Room was VERY CLEAN,COMFEY BED,COLD A/C, HOT SHOWER, ETC. ALL THE BASIC NEEDS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ATraveller2
Business
Oklahoma
Mar 24, 2014

great pre-cruise motel.

This was our third stay at the H. Johnson. So easy to park vehicle and take the shuttle to the port. Friendly service, clean, quiet rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good variety of dining minutes away by car.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Artistic Mess
Business
Fort Worth Texas
Mar 3, 2014

So bad we checked out early!

My family and I were planning on staying the entire weekend (friday thru sunday), however we left Saturday morning because the hotel was so awful! First of all unless you are used to A LOT of noise, don't stay here. The train goes by all night long and across the parking lot is a truck stop. The constant sound of each of these made us crazy all night. It was impossible to sleep. Then there was the appearance of the room, the comforter had holes in it, the towels had black stuff on them, the shower water was brown, and our feet turned black from walking on the carpet. The so called continental breakfast, consisted of stale cereal, and stale pastries as well as a gallon of milk for community use. When we complained to the staff, even they recommended calling and trying to get a refund!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalynmn
Business
Rochester, N.Y.
Feb 10, 2014

noisy

Loud train and truck noise but motel was decent. Typical cereal and oatmeal breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalynmn
Business
Rochester, N.Y.
Feb 10, 2014

Galveston

The motel was fine. The train runs behind motel and blows it's horn all night long and the semi trucks idle at the gas station in front of the hotel all night. Neither are the fault of the motel, it was clean and fine. Just know it's a noisy place to stay regarding background noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mustang girly
Business
arkansas
Sep 27, 2013

cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jose Veloz
Business
El Paso
Jul 10, 2013

Howard J's

Just ok! It wasn't within walking distance to much...front desk person was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beachcombers
Business
East Texas
Jun 24, 2013

Not great, but ok

Check in was a snap and the room was clean, but nothing fancy. Desk clerk was friendly and helpful. Room lighting was dim and one lamp was missing the bulb, not to good when you're eyesight is poor as mine is. Location is not great, but then the price is acceptable compared to hotels near the beach or downtown, and besides nothing is really that far away in Galveston. I'm happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sis Mary Margaret
Business
Galveston, TX
Jun 9, 2013

Summer Vacation

First of all the picture shown is not what you get. I chose Howard Johnson because I know them here in California to be clean. However, this was more of a low graded Motel 6. The bath sink didn't have a stopper, at times the air conditioner didn't work, the bed spread had any cigarette burn in them, the television didn't work. The person at the front desk was friendly. The hotel was creepy to me. I felt that person could push hard against the door and it would open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ricky Ticky Tavy
Business
San Antonio Texas
May 2, 2013

Trot to Galveston

First let me say that the staff was very friendly and professional. Our complaint is that the location is about 50 yards from a very busy freight train depot. all night long you could hear their horns blaring. On the other side of the hotel was a truck stop with considerable traffic through out the day. We really did not get much sleep the 2 nights we were there and decided to forgo the final night and left for home. The toilet seat should be replaced because it was in bad shape. There was a retention pond (or moat) on the side of the hotel that needed some clean up. The hotel did have free Wi Fi and the continental breakfast was adequate for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salsas Restaurant has Mariachi music Wednesday and Sunday evenings. Very good band and great drinks.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tami s
Business
beaumont texas
Mar 25, 2013

spring break in galveston texas

i brought my kids down for spring break, we only needed our room to get cleaned up and sleep. over all our stay was pretty good. i cant give a bad rating at all. the room was quiet, it was clean and smelled fresh. the staff was very friendly as well. i would visit again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top