$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

2 stars
8216 Harborside Drive, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
72 reviews
4th of July

Nice and quiet! Close to I-45 and away from all of the crowds... See full review

  • B Nick
  • Jul 7, 2014
cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise See full review

  • Mustang girly
  • Sep 27, 2013
Closest Howard Johnson to Cruise Terminal Close to UTMB Hospital Easy Access to I-45 Free Parking w/Overnight for Cruise Guests/1 car per guest Special Corporate Rates Upon Request Weekly Rates Available through Hotel Free Continental breakfast No Swimming Pool Only 5 Miles from beaches No Pets Allowed

Hotel Map

29.2881 -94.8641
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.2

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isis Somerhalds
Houston, TX
Aug 7, 2012

Fantastic

May not be in the seawall but it only takes minutes to get there and paid an excellent price. Close to the cruise terminals, great dining, and the Strand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sis Mary Margaret
Galveston, TX
Jun 9, 2013

Summer Vacation

First of all the picture shown is not what you get. I chose Howard Johnson because I know them here in California to be clean. However, this was more of a low graded Motel 6. The bath sink didn't have a stopper, at times the air conditioner didn't work, the bed spread had any cigarette burn in them, the television didn't work. The person at the front desk was friendly. The hotel was creepy to me. I felt that person could push hard against the door and it would open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ricky Ticky Tavy
San Antonio Texas
May 2, 2013

Trot to Galveston

First let me say that the staff was very friendly and professional. Our complaint is that the location is about 50 yards from a very busy freight train depot. all night long you could hear their horns blaring. On the other side of the hotel was a truck stop with considerable traffic through out the day. We really did not get much sleep the 2 nights we were there and decided to forgo the final night and left for home. The toilet seat should be replaced because it was in bad shape. There was a retention pond (or moat) on the side of the hotel that needed some clean up. The hotel did have free Wi Fi and the continental breakfast was adequate for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salsas Restaurant has Mariachi music Wednesday and Sunday evenings. Very good band and great drinks.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tami s
beaumont texas
Mar 25, 2013

spring break in galveston texas

i brought my kids down for spring break, we only needed our room to get cleaned up and sleep. over all our stay was pretty good. i cant give a bad rating at all. the room was quiet, it was clean and smelled fresh. the staff was very friendly as well. i would visit again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zekesmd
Midwest
Jan 21, 2013

Park and Cruise

I chose this hotel as I procrastinated and could not get into the hotel I really wanted. I was looking for a park and cruise hotel and this hotel does allow you to leave your car in their lot. Pick up for the shuttle is right at the main desk of the hotel and is $10/person round trip. Breakfast was cereal and juice in a very cramped lobby. Room has issues! Carpet has not been cleaned in a long time and my suspicion is that there is mold in the carpet as we transferred much black material from our socks to the bed. Sheets were clean but stained. Heater/air conditioner would not stay on continuous fan. Not worth the ninety plus dollars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I brought my family to the port, dropped them off, and parked back at the hotel, riding the shuttle back to port. Then everything in reverse after the cruise. This way you have no luggage to bring on the shuttle and I was able to squeeze on when others had to wait due to the limited luggage space. This also then only cost me $10 to ride the shuttle instead of $60 for our entire party! When driving to the port stay in the right hand lane of harborside drive until the last possible moment then sneak in before or after a stop light. An alternative would be to take 45/87 or Broadway to 22nd street as this line tends to be shorter. This will save tons of time!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isis Somerhalds
Houston, TX
Aug 7, 2012

Fantastic

May not be in the seawall but it only takes minutes to get there and paid an excellent price. Close to the cruise terminals, great dining, and the Strand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ls1202
Dallas area, Texas
Jun 4, 2012

Good middle-of-the-road...

'Nothing fancy here but it was clean and cold which was exactly what we were looking for after a long day at the beach. Good value. The free wifi worked very well. 'Comfortable beds. We didn't eat breakfast here so I cannot comment on that. ' Polite, courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queenie281
Friendswood, TX, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Not bad

When I booked this room, I didn't really look at the location. It was not a bad location, just not what I really wanted, my mistake. Other then that, the room was clean, location is OK if you're going on a cruise. I'm sure it was cheaper then the other big hotels closer to the Strand. Needs a bigger sign. My tip, it's right nextdoor to the Valero.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Look for the Valero, you might miss it otherwise

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EOT1
Gainesville, TX
Feb 12, 2012

Galveston HoJo

For those cruising out of Galveston on one of the cruise lines and dont need a 5 star, this hotel is perfect.. Prior to this cruise I always booked a hotel in Texas City because it was close to Galveston. HoJo is so much better for a couple reasons. 1) you dont have to deal with the smell and noise of Texas City, 2) Its located just a few miles from the port. 3) HoJo lets you park your vehicle in their parking lot for the entire week at no additional charge and the cruise parking across the street will take you and pick you up for $10/person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Delane
Richardson, TX, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Every thing average

Everything here was fine except for location. I was awaken twice in the middle of the night by freight trains!!! Hotel is right next to several tracks. NOT GOOD if you need to rest before getting back on the road. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Only the bath tub could have used more attention, but everything else was nice and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
north texas
Jul 27, 2011

UNHAPPY CAMPERS

friends had a room also and our tub had big crack in bottom and a constant drip in the tub, all you could hear all night was power lines crackling and the train.we also stayed 3 nights and no soaps or little shampoos they left the old wet one on the sink. it isn't a very good area either. was not happy with my choice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top