Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

2 stars
8216 Harborside Drive, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
49 reviews
4th of July

Nice and quiet! Close to I-45 and away from all of the crowds... See full review

  • B Nick
  • Jul 7, 2014
cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise See full review

  • Mustang girly
  • Sep 27, 2013
Closest Howard Johnson to Cruise Terminal Close to UTMB Hospital Easy Access to I-45 Free Parking w/Overnight for Cruise Guests/1 car per guest Special Corporate Rates Upon Request Weekly Rates Available through Hotel Free Continental breakfast No Swimming Pool Only 5 Miles from beaches No Pets Allowed

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

29.2881 -94.8641
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mustang girly
arkansas
Sep 27, 2013

cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jose Veloz
El Paso
Jul 10, 2013

Howard J's

Just ok! It wasn't within walking distance to much...front desk person was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beachcombers
East Texas
Jun 24, 2013

Not great, but ok

Check in was a snap and the room was clean, but nothing fancy. Desk clerk was friendly and helpful. Room lighting was dim and one lamp was missing the bulb, not to good when you're eyesight is poor as mine is. Location is not great, but then the price is acceptable compared to hotels near the beach or downtown, and besides nothing is really that far away in Galveston. I'm happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sis Mary Margaret
Galveston, TX
Jun 9, 2013

Summer Vacation

First of all the picture shown is not what you get. I chose Howard Johnson because I know them here in California to be clean. However, this was more of a low graded Motel 6. The bath sink didn't have a stopper, at times the air conditioner didn't work, the bed spread had any cigarette burn in them, the television didn't work. The person at the front desk was friendly. The hotel was creepy to me. I felt that person could push hard against the door and it would open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ricky Ticky Tavy
San Antonio Texas
May 2, 2013

Trot to Galveston

First let me say that the staff was very friendly and professional. Our complaint is that the location is about 50 yards from a very busy freight train depot. all night long you could hear their horns blaring. On the other side of the hotel was a truck stop with considerable traffic through out the day. We really did not get much sleep the 2 nights we were there and decided to forgo the final night and left for home. The toilet seat should be replaced because it was in bad shape. There was a retention pond (or moat) on the side of the hotel that needed some clean up. The hotel did have free Wi Fi and the continental breakfast was adequate for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salsas Restaurant has Mariachi music Wednesday and Sunday evenings. Very good band and great drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tami s
beaumont texas
Mar 25, 2013

spring break in galveston texas

i brought my kids down for spring break, we only needed our room to get cleaned up and sleep. over all our stay was pretty good. i cant give a bad rating at all. the room was quiet, it was clean and smelled fresh. the staff was very friendly as well. i would visit again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zekesmd
Midwest
Jan 21, 2013

Park and Cruise

I chose this hotel as I procrastinated and could not get into the hotel I really wanted. I was looking for a park and cruise hotel and this hotel does allow you to leave your car in their lot. Pick up for the shuttle is right at the main desk of the hotel and is $10/person round trip. Breakfast was cereal and juice in a very cramped lobby. Room has issues! Carpet has not been cleaned in a long time and my suspicion is that there is mold in the carpet as we transferred much black material from our socks to the bed. Sheets were clean but stained. Heater/air conditioner would not stay on continuous fan. Not worth the ninety plus dollars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I brought my family to the port, dropped them off, and parked back at the hotel, riding the shuttle back to port. Then everything in reverse after the cruise. This way you have no luggage to bring on the shuttle and I was able to squeeze on when others had to wait due to the limited luggage space. This also then only cost me $10 to ride the shuttle instead of $60 for our entire party! When driving to the port stay in the right hand lane of harborside drive until the last possible moment then sneak in before or after a stop light. An alternative would be to take 45/87 or Broadway to 22nd street as this line tends to be shorter. This will save tons of time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isis Somerhalds
Houston, TX
Aug 7, 2012

Fantastic

May not be in the seawall but it only takes minutes to get there and paid an excellent price. Close to the cruise terminals, great dining, and the Strand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ls1202
Dallas area, Texas
Jun 4, 2012

Good middle-of-the-road...

'Nothing fancy here but it was clean and cold which was exactly what we were looking for after a long day at the beach. Good value. The free wifi worked very well. 'Comfortable beds. We didn't eat breakfast here so I cannot comment on that. ' Polite, courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queenie281
Friendswood, TX, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Not bad

When I booked this room, I didn't really look at the location. It was not a bad location, just not what I really wanted, my mistake. Other then that, the room was clean, location is OK if you're going on a cruise. I'm sure it was cheaper then the other big hotels closer to the Strand. Needs a bigger sign. My tip, it's right nextdoor to the Valero.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Look for the Valero, you might miss it otherwise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top