$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

2 stars
8216 Harborside Drive, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
49 reviews
4th of July

Nice and quiet! Close to I-45 and away from all of the crowds... See full review

  • B Nick
  • Jul 7, 2014
cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise See full review

  • Mustang girly
  • Sep 27, 2013
Closest Howard Johnson to Cruise Terminal Close to UTMB Hospital Easy Access to I-45 Free Parking w/Overnight for Cruise Guests/1 car per guest Special Corporate Rates Upon Request Weekly Rates Available through Hotel Free Continental breakfast No Swimming Pool Only 5 Miles from beaches No Pets Allowed

Hotel Map

29.2881 -94.8641
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shreveport, La
Apr 4, 2011

VERY FREINDLY, GREAT LOCATION FOR CRUISE

1. My wife & I had a very good evening dining in Galveston & the rest at the Howard-Johnson was great. The room cost $ reasonable $, we will say there again on our next trip. Room was VERY CLEAN,COMFEY BED,COLD A/C, HOT SHOWER, ETC. ALL THE BASIC NEEDS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
miisst
houston
Aug 16, 2014

i didnt like it

Honestly i didnt like it. While sleeping at night we could hear the train. But i can say that the staff was very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Healthy chinese buffet

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
martin vt
Mcallen, Texas
Aug 1, 2014

Not what I expected

For what the hotel had to offer it was way overpriced. The air con was loud and didn't really cool the place down, the view was of a muddy area right next to the railroad tracks. On the side there is a nice little convenient store, but truckers use the place to park at night so you can just about hear everything. For the price that was paid, I strongly feel I was over charged. I will not stay here again, on a positive not the location is right off the expressway and easy to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

When going to the beach do the 'pay by phone' and park on the side of the road. It is very inexpensive (I paid $3 for 3hrs) and a lot less hassle then trying to cross the road with family and gear.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B Nick
Houston, Tx
Jul 7, 2014

4th of July

Nice and quiet! Close to I-45 and away from all of the crowds...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michelle85226
Galveston, TX
Jul 5, 2014

family getaway

Hotel sits right on a railroad crossing so I was awakened every few hours during the night from a train whistle. Rooms were clean but needed updating. Pillows were very flat. Hotel doesn't have a pool, breakfast was average with cold cereal and toasted bagels. Neighbors were noisey and keep their tv on all night. I'll be staying somewhere else next time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hadji and hammi
ROCKVILLE, MD
Apr 6, 2014

great stay after cruise

Nothing special but great place to stay.We don't stay long in the room but it had a clean comfortable bed after a busy day exploring Galveston. Management was very helpful in answering our questions. We stayed at the completion of our cruise but the allowed us to park our car there with a paid for room after the cruise. Transportation to the ship was at our front door. Had a couple of trains pass during our stay but they did not disrupt our rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ATraveller2
Oklahoma
Mar 24, 2014

great pre-cruise motel.

This was our third stay at the H. Johnson. So easy to park vehicle and take the shuttle to the port. Friendly service, clean, quiet rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good variety of dining minutes away by car.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Artistic Mess
Fort Worth Texas
Mar 3, 2014

So bad we checked out early!

My family and I were planning on staying the entire weekend (friday thru sunday), however we left Saturday morning because the hotel was so awful! First of all unless you are used to A LOT of noise, don't stay here. The train goes by all night long and across the parking lot is a truck stop. The constant sound of each of these made us crazy all night. It was impossible to sleep. Then there was the appearance of the room, the comforter had holes in it, the towels had black stuff on them, the shower water was brown, and our feet turned black from walking on the carpet. The so called continental breakfast, consisted of stale cereal, and stale pastries as well as a gallon of milk for community use. When we complained to the staff, even they recommended calling and trying to get a refund!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalynmn
Business
Rochester, N.Y.
Feb 10, 2014

noisy

Loud train and truck noise but motel was decent. Typical cereal and oatmeal breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalynmn
Business
Rochester, N.Y.
Feb 10, 2014

Galveston

The motel was fine. The train runs behind motel and blows it's horn all night long and the semi trucks idle at the gas station in front of the hotel all night. Neither are the fault of the motel, it was clean and fine. Just know it's a noisy place to stay regarding background noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mustang girly
arkansas
Sep 27, 2013

cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search