$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

2 stars
8216 Harborside Drive, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
50 reviews
4th of July

Nice and quiet! Close to I-45 and away from all of the crowds... See full review

  • B Nick
  • Jul 7, 2014
cruise destination

good location and great place to park while on cruise See full review

  • Mustang girly
  • Sep 27, 2013
Take the family on an exciting trip to our hotel off Interstate 45 near beaches, cruise terminal and Pleasure Pier with rides and shopping. Splash through the water at Schlitterban indoor water park, visit the Bishops Place castle or Moody Gardens for an IMAX theatre, penguins and golf course. Wake up to free Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and enjoy the free car and large-vehicle parking to make visiting popular attractions simple. Plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with free Wi-Fi and refrigerator. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 4.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isis Somerhalds
Houston, TX
Aug 7, 2012

Fantastic

May not be in the seawall but it only takes minutes to get there and paid an excellent price. Close to the cruise terminals, great dining, and the Strand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Downtown Ray
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Oct 6, 2014

Hospital visit

Staff was courteous. Price was good. Location was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HappyCruiser2014
Business
Yorba Linda, CA
Sep 3, 2014

Adrian, the front desk manager, was the best part of the stay

After reading reviews we really weren't expecting much from the Howard Johnson. It was in a pretty industrial neighborhood kind of in the middle of nowhere if you didn't have a car. We only chose this place for a quick overnight stay prior to boarding our cruise ship. Our party had 3 rooms. The rooms were all pretty run down, with old dirty carpets and thin towels. One room was not even cleaned prior to our arrival, with Cheetos crumbs on the floor and a dirty toilet seat. The air conditioner, which was absolutely necessary to be on because of the weather, had only two settings, loud or louder. No one got a sound sleep that night. The only redemption HoJo had was Adrian. He cheerfully checked us in at 11 p.m. He informed us there was a breakfast the next morning (which we did not expect). We saw him bright an early the next day, in a flurry of activity. He was constantly refilling breakfast items, calling cabs or shuttles for departing guests, handling front desk calls, checking guests out, and it seemed also handling maintenance calls. All this was done with a genuine smile. While our party of 10 was waiting for a shuttle and our arranged ride did not show up, he actually went to the gas station next door to negotiate a ride for us while the taxi driver was filling gas in his car. Adrian went way above and beyond his call of duty during our 12 hour stay in Galveston. We were very impressed with his service and friendly way. He definitely made a difference for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
miisst
Business
houston
Aug 16, 2014

i didnt like it

Honestly i didnt like it. While sleeping at night we could hear the train. But i can say that the staff was very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Healthy chinese buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
martin vt
Business
Mcallen, Texas
Aug 1, 2014

Not what I expected

For what the hotel had to offer it was way overpriced. The air con was loud and didn't really cool the place down, the view was of a muddy area right next to the railroad tracks. On the side there is a nice little convenient store, but truckers use the place to park at night so you can just about hear everything. For the price that was paid, I strongly feel I was over charged. I will not stay here again, on a positive not the location is right off the expressway and easy to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

When going to the beach do the 'pay by phone' and park on the side of the road. It is very inexpensive (I paid $3 for 3hrs) and a lot less hassle then trying to cross the road with family and gear.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B Nick
Business
Houston, Tx
Jul 7, 2014

4th of July

Nice and quiet! Close to I-45 and away from all of the crowds...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michelle85226
Business
Galveston, TX
Jul 5, 2014

family getaway

Hotel sits right on a railroad crossing so I was awakened every few hours during the night from a train whistle. Rooms were clean but needed updating. Pillows were very flat. Hotel doesn't have a pool, breakfast was average with cold cereal and toasted bagels. Neighbors were noisey and keep their tv on all night. I'll be staying somewhere else next time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hadji and hammi
Business
ROCKVILLE, MD
Apr 6, 2014

great stay after cruise

Nothing special but great place to stay.We don't stay long in the room but it had a clean comfortable bed after a busy day exploring Galveston. Management was very helpful in answering our questions. We stayed at the completion of our cruise but the allowed us to park our car there with a paid for room after the cruise. Transportation to the ship was at our front door. Had a couple of trains pass during our stay but they did not disrupt our rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ATraveller2
Business
Oklahoma
Mar 24, 2014

great pre-cruise motel.

This was our third stay at the H. Johnson. So easy to park vehicle and take the shuttle to the port. Friendly service, clean, quiet rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good variety of dining minutes away by car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Artistic Mess
Business
Fort Worth Texas
Mar 3, 2014

So bad we checked out early!

My family and I were planning on staying the entire weekend (friday thru sunday), however we left Saturday morning because the hotel was so awful! First of all unless you are used to A LOT of noise, don't stay here. The train goes by all night long and across the parking lot is a truck stop. The constant sound of each of these made us crazy all night. It was impossible to sleep. Then there was the appearance of the room, the comforter had holes in it, the towels had black stuff on them, the shower water was brown, and our feet turned black from walking on the carpet. The so called continental breakfast, consisted of stale cereal, and stale pastries as well as a gallon of milk for community use. When we complained to the staff, even they recommended calling and trying to get a refund!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Galveston Texas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalynmn
Business
Rochester, N.Y.
Feb 10, 2014

noisy

Loud train and truck noise but motel was decent. Typical cereal and oatmeal breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top