$161 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2024 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
94 reviews
work

Lovely. I stay here every time i come. My husband and i love the history of the hotel. I cant wait... See full review

  • angela r.
  • Jun 8, 2015
Wedding Day Hotel

My husband and I are from Chicago and got married in Galveston on September 4, 2014. The Hotel... See full review

  • Jennifer Massat
  • Feb 26, 2015
Nicknamed the "Queen of the Gulf," the historic Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa dates back to 1911 and offer gracious accommodations unlike any other in the area. The property was renovated in anticipation of the 100th birthday of the property but maintains the period details that make it special. Of course there are plenty of modern additions to the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa, including an enormous full-service spa, a beautiful outdoor pool with a swim-up bar, and shuttles to local attractions (fee may apply).
Rooms
Luxury awaits Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa guests in rooms furnished with pillowtop Simmons Health Smart mattresses and pure cotton linens. Rooms have every expected amenity from a hair-dryer and an iron/ironing board to WebTV to an iPod docking station. In-room safes are large enough to accommodate a laptop computer. In the bathroom, find Carrara marble countertops and scalloped sinks along with full-length mirrors and spa-style bathrobes for guest use.
Property features
The beautifully restored Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa offer a glimpse of the Victorian heritage of Galveston, but with every modern amenity. A spectacular full-service spa offers guests a beautiful place to indulge. Guests of the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa are also invited to relax on the beach and enjoy chair and umbrella service. At Bernardo's, the renowned on-site restaurant, the menu features traditional and nouvelle cuisine.
Highlights
  • A 10,000-square-foot full-service spa
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar
  • Beach chair and umbrella service
  • Every room offers an island or Gulf view
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • St. Mary Cathedral Basilica (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Strand District (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Port of Galveston (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig and Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment available (fee applies) with support staff
  • All rooms wired with high-speed Internet access
  • Full catering available
  • Accommodates groups of up to 500 people
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (71 mi/114.2 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 94
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
5
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
THE 3 GIRLS
Business
DALLAS TX
Mar 19, 2013

OUR GALVESTON STAY

Hotel was very nice but not worth $300/night...BUT it WAS spring break, so not sure that any of the hotels were worth what they were charging that week. Staff was very nice, it was excellent location. For the amount we spent, I expected as many clean towels back when they cleaned room as the ones they took. We were short a couple towels. Also, they did not refill any of the soaps, shampoos, mouthwash or water we used the 2 nights we were there. Any other hotel I have stayed at gives you way more than you need and replace what you have used. The parking was included in price of room, which was great no to have to pay another $17 for parking per day like alot of hotels do. The hotel was very nice, including pool area....but we were not able to enjoy the hot tub at all during stay and pool very little due to being overcrowded. I think with the amount of rooms there should be a bigger pool or another hot tub to accomodate...but AGAIN it was spring break!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Granny Ann
Business
Northwest Harris County, Texas
Aug 25, 2012

Sort of a dissappointment

It's been a very long time since I was at the Hotel Galvez. It is a lovely hotel, but our room was very small for $145 per night. But, it's the location we paid for! We were in walking distance of the beach, Murdock's and the Pleasure Pier and that is why we came! The food was very good and the service excellent! The pool area was clean and readily supplied with towels and pool toys for the kids! It's a very quiet hotel at night compared to others I've stayed in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Murdock's is our favorite place to shop and just sit and enjoy the sea breeze when we come to Galveston. You'll love it!!

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susanmarie
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 19, 2012

Great Hotel

This is a great location at great rates for a 4 star. The rooms are a little small but that lends to the historic charm. The pool bar and pool have been expanded since I have been here years ago, and my friends said the spa is top notch. They have a valet if not busy that can run you up the block to Strand or restaurants. Definately, will be back. Service very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay at the Galvez, leave your chairs and umbrellas, and just walk across to the beach and rent them all set up.

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
janiceolee
Business
Houston, TX
May 22, 2012

Great hotel and great location!

Overall, very good experience. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spring, texas
Oct 3, 2010

Excellent

An excellent place to stay. Had everything you need for a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 25, 2008

No Vew; No Pool, No Spa

Although I paid extra for a room with a view, I received a room with half of the sea and half of the rooms on the right;a spotlight aimed at our window so at night we had no view of the ocean just blinding light.No pool.. No spa..........Room service didn't pick up our breakfast order...............I called at 8:00 and they did bring it about 8:35..........lukewarm $8.00 pot of coffee and lukewarm oatmeal.............Compliants at the desk didn't get me any type of refund or something !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 20, 2007

The view is beautiful...

The view of the Gulf as well as the hotel was beautiful. The hotel's decor reminded me of the Clark Gable days. We only had to cross the street to be the Gulf. The folks in Galveston are very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top