Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$89
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 18, 2016
4 /5
Overall score
85%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

When you walk through the entrance of the Hotel Galvez & Spa in Galveston, you understand why Texans fondly call this grand property the Queen of the Gulf. Built in 1911, the historic hotel charms guests traveling for business and pleasure with grand architectural style and an elegant atmosphere.

Massive mahogany beams crown the expansive lobby, and arched floor-to-ceiling windows open to the Gulf of Mexico just across the street. Make yourself at home in one of the plush, rattan lounge chairs gracing the famous loggia. This long, beautiful hallway floods with natural light during the day and offers captivating views of the beach by moonlight.

Highlights

Key facts

Put personal pampering at the top of your to-do list when you stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel in Galveston that lives up to its reputation in every way. Indulge in full-service salon and day spa amenities including Vichy showers, fitness facilities and a serene meditation garden.

The hotel s heated pool caters to comfort with attentive staff and a swim-up bar. Take your appetite to the Galvez Bar and Grill for a delicious bowl of gumbo, and rest easy at night on plush bedding over a pillow-top mattress. From beachcombing to seawall shopping, Hotel Galvez & Spa offers shuttle service to the area s favorite attractions.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.8 / 5
$89
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$92
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$47
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$79

Amenities

Featured

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking

General

  • Non Smoking
  • Pet friendly
  • Elevators

Activities

  • Heated pool
  • Fitness Center
  • Exercise gym
  • Jacuzzi
  • Sauna

Dining

  • Continental breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Meal plan - continental

Services

  • 24 hour front desk
  • Business center
  • Express check in
  • Guest laundromat
  • Express checkout
  • Concierge desk
  • ATM/Cash machine
  • Security
  • Wake-up service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Barber/Beauty shop
  • Porters
  • FAX
  • Conference facilities
  • Copy service
  • Overhead projector
  • Audio visual equipment

Internet

  • Free Wi-Fi in Room

Parking

  • Indoor parking
  • Valet parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible facilities
  • Accessible parking

Reviews

4 /5 Overall score

85% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.4/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.3/5
  • Comfort: 4/5
  • Location: 4.6/5
  • Value: 3.7/5

Not just for Summer

Would recommend Thu, Dec 10, 2015
A beautiful step into past elegance. Scenic views of the ocean and the lights of Pleasure Pier which features an old fashion carnival on the pier with lighted Farris wheel and rides. Plan to go in December for the Dickens Festival.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Five stars but pick your room carefully

Would recommend Sat, Dec 5, 2015
I give it five stars. A beautifully maintained older hotel with gracious staff. My only beef is that the view I got from the partial gulf view room for which I paid a few extra bucks was filled with rooftop air conditioners and kitchen exhaust fans. They not only enhanced the view they offered up droning sound. Definitely not worth it, in fact worse that the less expensive city view rooms. If you go for that option request an upper not 2nd floor room.

| College Station Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Wife's Birthday

Would recommend Thu, Nov 19, 2015
Beautiful Classic Hotel that exudes elegance of the past and tastefully maintained for today's expectations.

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Weekend get away

Would recommend Mon, Oct 12, 2015
Beautiful hotel and location good service but small rooms.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Family vacation

Would not recommend Wed, Sep 30, 2015
Hotel room was very small. Leaking faucets, clogged toilet, commode seat broken. Undisclosed pet fee of 110. Added to price of room. Dog friendly only plus of this hotel.

| N/A Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Great Family Get Away

Would recommend Sun, Aug 2, 2015
You Must I Repeat You Must Take The Tour of The Hotel With BOBBY He is 84 years old and full of information not only about the Hotel but about Galveston. The only a complaint that my wife and I had was the bed was a little hard for us a minor thing overall. Staff was fantastic my problem is that I am in my 60's and it was hard for me sometimes to hear and understand what they were saying. i.e. one of my pool waitresses asked me how I would like to pay for it and I thought she was asking me what dressing I wanted on my salad I said ranch lol. We worked it out.

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Relaxing

Would recommend Fri, Jul 10, 2015
Superior amenities...awesome service...friendly, smiling faces

| N/A Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

work

Would recommend Mon, Jun 8, 2015
Lovely. I stay here every time i come. My husband and i love the history of the hotel. I cant wait to come back.

| arlington Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Wedding Day Hotel

Would recommend Thu, Feb 26, 2015
My husband and I are from Chicago and got married in Galveston on September 4, 2014. The Hotel Galvez was super accommodating to us on our wedding day and night ( we stayed with friends the remainder of our trip). The lady who did my hair and makeup at the salon was AMAZING and I couldn't have asked for a better wedding look for my big day. We had a photographer and needed a place to take pictures of us cutting our cake and the Hotel Galvez was awesome at finding us an empty room and setting us up with plates, forks and knives to cut the cake with. Needless to say, the pictures turned out flawless. We will definitely be coming back and staying at this hotel again in the future!!!

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

nice

Would recommend Wed, Feb 18, 2015
nice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice location

| League City Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Port of Galveston 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 04:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$89
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 18, 2016