$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
2024 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
89 reviews
Can't wait to go back!

Loved this place! Great stay, staff & comfort. The hot tub is a must!!! Can't wait for my next visit. See full review

  • Traveling Rooster
  • Oct 10, 2014
Perfect For Cruisers

Had a awsome time at the Galvaz! Very Friendlt staff and a very nice pool area! See full review

  • Zack San
  • Sep 15, 2014
Award-winning historic Galveston hotel with full-service spa
Nicknamed the "Queen of the Gulf," the historic Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa dates back to 1911 and offer gracious accommodations unlike any other in the area. The property was renovated in anticipation of the 100th birthday of the property but maintains the period details that make it special. Of course there are plenty of modern additions to the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa, including an enormous full-service spa, a beautiful outdoor pool with a swim-up bar, and shuttles to local attractions (fee may apply).
Highlights
  • A 10,000-square-foot full-service spa
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar
  • Beach chair and umbrella service
  • Every room offers an island or Gulf view
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms
Luxury awaits Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa guests in rooms furnished with pillowtop Simmons Health Smart mattresses and pure cotton linens. Rooms have every expected amenity from a hair-dryer and an iron/ironing board to WebTV to an iPod docking station. In-room safes are large enough to accommodate a laptop computer. In the bathroom, find Carrara marble countertops and scalloped sinks along with full-length mirrors and spa-style bathrobes for guest use.
Features
The beautifully restored Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa offer a glimpse of the Victorian heritage of Galveston, but with every modern amenity. A spectacular full-service spa offers guests a beautiful place to indulge. Guests of the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa are also invited to relax on the beach and enjoy chair and umbrella service. At Bernardo's, the renowned on-site restaurant, the menu features traditional and nouvelle cuisine.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (71 mi/114.2 km)
Attractions
  • St. Mary Cathedral Basilica (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Strand District (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Port of Galveston (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig and Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment available (fee applies) with support staff
  • All rooms wired with high-speed Internet access
  • Full catering available
  • Accommodates groups of up to 500 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 89
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Rooster
Business
ATX
Oct 10, 2014

Can't wait to go back!

Loved this place! Great stay, staff & comfort. The hot tub is a must!!! Can't wait for my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Murdoch's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zack San
Business
Texas
Sep 15, 2014

Perfect For Cruisers

Had a awsome time at the Galvaz! Very Friendlt staff and a very nice pool area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scasares
Business
Spring, TX
Aug 14, 2014

Galvez stay

The check in was not good. The rooms were not ready, and they lost some of our bags when they were sent to the room. They did find them after about 3 hours. That was the only bad thing that happened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BR Mom
Business
Midland, Texas
Jul 24, 2014

Great!

We loved this hotel - Please remember when booking that it is historical so the rooms and bathrooms may be smaller than modern day hotels, but the downstairs lobby, patio, pool, Adirondack chairs on the lawn, provide ample opportunity to visit and relax. The charm and atmosphere are well worth a slightly smaller room/bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HTXRN
Business
Houston
Jan 2, 2014

Is a celebration, but...

I took my family to the Hotel Galvez for New Year's Eve this year because I wanted to experience what it would be like to stay there. I grew up on Galveston and drove past the hotel all the time, but I knew it was an expensive place, so I never got to stay there. Now that I'm older and travel frequently, we like to try out new spots and spend that extra cash for the experience and the luxury. While Hotel Galvez delivers on the luxury, our experience was terrible. Out check in was at 4pm, which is fine. When we arrived we were given a room on the 2nd floor with a partial ocean view. No problem. We could see lots of action in the lobby. There was a private party that evening.. The party happened to be in the ballroom that was directly under our second floor room. I'm assuming that they kicked off sometime earlier in the evening, because they were going at about 10pm when we returned to the hotel due to the weather being bad. We decided to go to our room and relax. Then w tried to sleep. Not happening. This party had a dj with an amazing sound system that rattled the windows all night. I called the desk and was told that the party would go on until about 0130. It was terrible. I have a four year old that couldn't sleep. I couldn't sleep. My wife couldn't sleep. I feel like for the money I spent, the hotel could have put us in a room that was not directory above an all night party. I've never had this problem when I stay at the Driskill. There's always a party there and it's right on 6th street in Austin. I don't think I would ever go back to this hotel again. The service did not match the dollar amount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith W. B.
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 1, 2013

terrific weekend trip

It was a fantastic stay. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fitness fanatic age 44
Business
Paragould, AR
Mar 26, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel

I was concerned before I booked the room due to reviews complaining about the small rooms but we were happy with everything in the hotel other than the restaurant. We had 2 adults and 3 teenage girls with a roll away bed and were comfortable. We did have perfect weather and spent minimal time inside. We ate breakfast 1 time in the hotel restaurant. It was the worst gravy we have ever tasted. We were not able to eat it and the price was ridiculous for poor tasting food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The bicycles made for 4 riders were so much fun. We laughed so much trying to get them across the streets. We were able to get all 5 people and 1 dog on the bike. Great workout too : )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sue Mac
Business
Houston, Texas
Dec 25, 2012

Great service; beautiful hotel

Rooms were clean and updated. Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. I would definitely return for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pleasure Pier is within walking distance, and great restaurants are within a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Short Summer Vacay
Business
Leander, Texas
Jul 20, 2012

Great Trip

Upon arrival, I was impressed with the appearance of the hotel. It's very upscale. All of my encounters with the staff were very courteous and professional. The room was very modern, clean and comfortable. I was also very happy with the closeness of the hotel to the beach, Pleasure Pier and local restaurants. We were able to walk to most places. The only negative thing I can say about the hotel, is that the walls are very thin. We were able to hear our neighbor's tv and conversations every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Pleasure Pier, Duck Tours, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., the beach, Fish Tales restaurant and The Spot restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lilaggiegirl
Business
Spring, TX
Jun 24, 2012

Great Stay!

Fabulous location + beautiful hotel + courteous staff = Great Vacation Note: Parking is FREE in the garage next to the hotel with your room key as access. It will save you $17/day on valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stewart Beach is great on check-out day. They have showers there so you can rinse off before you head home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top