$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 4, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
2024 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
89 reviews
Can't wait to go back!

Loved this place! Great stay, staff & comfort. The hot tub is a must!!! Can't wait for my next visit. See full review

  • Traveling Rooster
  • Oct 10, 2014
Perfect For Cruisers

Had a awsome time at the Galvaz! Very Friendlt staff and a very nice pool area! See full review

  • Zack San
  • Sep 15, 2014
Award-winning historic Galveston hotel with full-service spa
Nicknamed the "Queen of the Gulf," the historic Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa dates back to 1911 and offer gracious accommodations unlike any other in the area. The property was renovated in anticipation of the 100th birthday of the property but maintains the period details that make it special. Of course there are plenty of modern additions to the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa, including an enormous full-service spa, a beautiful outdoor pool with a swim-up bar, and shuttles to local attractions (fee may apply).
Highlights
  • A 10,000-square-foot full-service spa
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar
  • Beach chair and umbrella service
  • Every room offers an island or Gulf view
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms
Luxury awaits Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa guests in rooms furnished with pillowtop Simmons Health Smart mattresses and pure cotton linens. Rooms have every expected amenity from a hair-dryer and an iron/ironing board to WebTV to an iPod docking station. In-room safes are large enough to accommodate a laptop computer. In the bathroom, find Carrara marble countertops and scalloped sinks along with full-length mirrors and spa-style bathrobes for guest use.
Features
The beautifully restored Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa offer a glimpse of the Victorian heritage of Galveston, but with every modern amenity. A spectacular full-service spa offers guests a beautiful place to indulge. Guests of the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa are also invited to relax on the beach and enjoy chair and umbrella service. At Bernardo's, the renowned on-site restaurant, the menu features traditional and nouvelle cuisine.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (71 mi/114.2 km)
Attractions
  • St. Mary Cathedral Basilica (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Strand District (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Port of Galveston (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig and Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment available (fee applies) with support staff
  • All rooms wired with high-speed Internet access
  • Full catering available
  • Accommodates groups of up to 500 people

Hotel Map

29.2925 -94.7858
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 89
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yorkieboy
Business
UK
Oct 9, 2014

Charming Period Getaway

Great time at this historic hotel. Lovely staff & super spa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Millers Seawall Grill ... A short step for a great breakfast overlooking the gulf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Plain Phil
Business
San Antonio, TX
Oct 6, 2014

Galveston, TX - stayed 10/03 - 10/05

Staff was exemplary and the facility as a whole was great. Upon our return noticed a billing discrepancy wherein we were charged $379.22 which we did not owe. Had provided our on-line confirmation and receipt at check-in and verified the zero balance on the nights indicated on the reservation. At check-out on 10/05/14, was told had balance for 1 day valet parking (which we did not use). Was told the charge was deleted from bill and now had zero balance. Contacted hotel this date (10/06/14) to discuss. Was told they would check with reservation agent and call back with results. Hotel did call back in a reasonable amount of time and stated had worked things out with on-line reservation agent and credit would be issued. Other than the billing issue, all was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrG928
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 1, 2014

Great Anniversary weekend

If you want excellent food with great location and staff Hotel Galvez is for you! The hotel is beautiful esp the lobby and adjoining rooms. We were in 525 (the 5th floor is haunted!) And it was a basic room. The food was excellent...from the swim up pool bar snacks to dinner at their restaurant we didn't have a bad meal! We did the world famous brunch on Sunday... Go hungry as they have Everything! It was a great experience but would rather do their other options. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BallouTX
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jul 1, 2014

Un-washed Towels

My husband and I stayed here for a good friends wedding over the weekend. This hotel is right on the Seawall and the exterior is a real beauty. The lobby is grand with a large antique bar front nearby the check in. That's where my positive notes regarding this hotel end. We checked in early and received a tiny room. The room contained a wet washcloth hanging over the shower head- should have been our first sign that something was amiss. The following morning as we were preparing for the celebrations, my husband gets out of the shower only to realize that his towel has butt juice on it. Obviously, we did not have fresh towels. Now tell me, does that mean the rest of the room is not clean? Absolutely. We demanded a new hotel and an immediately clean up. They offered to let us stay at their sister property, BUT there is one common laundry service for the two hotels. We definitely passed on that offer and were not given a different hotel to stay. The room clean up happened 12 hours after the discovery of the stained towel. That was disappointing. We had already had to shower AGAIN with dirty towels in order to be clean for the wedding that evening. I guess, the last upshot is we did not have our Ipad stolen, like our friends did. We just have an image, smell and memory of this hotel burned into our memory. Avoid this hotel. Over priced and poorly run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iveyusmc
Business
Austin
May 8, 2014

2 day stay

Hotel is beautiful and at a good location. Rooms where small but it was built around 1911. Rooms need to be re painted but everything else was great. I would stay there again next time I visit Galveston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish tails is good. The black perl was amazing !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melanie the traveler
Business
Fort Worth, tx
Mar 23, 2014

Just lacking a little

It's been a long time since I have stayed at a hotel that doesn't at least have a continental breakfast. Our shower ceiling also leaking when the people upstairs would take a shower. However, those are the only two complaints I have. The location was perfect. The ground were beautiful. Staff was very nice. Overall we had a wonderful stay. I would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel offers bikes- but the walks are ahort and beautiful. Lots if food and shopping right along the beach. Pleasure pier is an amusement park with rides and games maybe a seven minute walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sulev
Business
Houston
Feb 2, 2014

Fantastic historic hotel

Rooms are great and staff is very nice!! Very good experience and if ever comin back to galveston i will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
klln
Business
Lake jackson, tx
Jan 25, 2014

Vacation

Overall a very nice place. Clean room, received an upgrade for our anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at bubba gump's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenjenk
Business
Williamston, Michigan
Sep 16, 2013

Spectacular location!

The hotel is in a perfect spot! Once you get there, you never need get in your car for the rest of your stay. Food, ocean, entertainment, amusement park, etc., all within walking distance. I do however, have 2 complaints: the hotel bar NEVER has change when you order something, almost forcing you to leave them a bigger tip than you normally would, and I found the staff a bit snippy. I had a problem at check out and the man behind the counter, manager or not I don't know, seemed very put out that he had to help the girl who was waiting on me. Overall, a very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great restaurants well within walking distance and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blutoab
Business
New York,NY
Aug 31, 2013

Yearly Vacation

Stay was very relaxing and enjoyable. Pool is the best part of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gumbo Bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top