$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
2024 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
89 reviews
Can't wait to go back!

Loved this place! Great stay, staff & comfort. The hot tub is a must!!! Can't wait for my next visit. See full review

  • Traveling Rooster
  • Oct 10, 2014
Perfect For Cruisers

Had a awsome time at the Galvaz! Very Friendlt staff and a very nice pool area! See full review

  • Zack San
  • Sep 15, 2014
Award-winning historic Galveston hotel with full-service spa
Nicknamed the "Queen of the Gulf," the historic Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa dates back to 1911 and offer gracious accommodations unlike any other in the area. The property was renovated in anticipation of the 100th birthday of the property but maintains the period details that make it special. Of course there are plenty of modern additions to the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa, including an enormous full-service spa, a beautiful outdoor pool with a swim-up bar, and shuttles to local attractions (fee may apply).
Highlights
  • A 10,000-square-foot full-service spa
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar
  • Beach chair and umbrella service
  • Every room offers an island or Gulf view
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms
Luxury awaits Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa guests in rooms furnished with pillowtop Simmons Health Smart mattresses and pure cotton linens. Rooms have every expected amenity from a hair-dryer and an iron/ironing board to WebTV to an iPod docking station. In-room safes are large enough to accommodate a laptop computer. In the bathroom, find Carrara marble countertops and scalloped sinks along with full-length mirrors and spa-style bathrobes for guest use.
Features
The beautifully restored Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa offer a glimpse of the Victorian heritage of Galveston, but with every modern amenity. A spectacular full-service spa offers guests a beautiful place to indulge. Guests of the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa are also invited to relax on the beach and enjoy chair and umbrella service. At Bernardo's, the renowned on-site restaurant, the menu features traditional and nouvelle cuisine.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (71 mi/114.2 km)
Attractions
  • St. Mary Cathedral Basilica (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Strand District (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Port of Galveston (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig and Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment available (fee applies) with support staff
  • All rooms wired with high-speed Internet access
  • Full catering available
  • Accommodates groups of up to 500 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sugar Land Dad
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 7, 2010

Not so nice Hotel

A/C didn't work, so they moved us to a smaller room and did not adjust our rate because we prepaid. Maintenace people were not very helpful. Front Desk attendant [...] was very nice. After the room change the towels in the new room looked like they had poop on them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 2, 2007

Waste of Money

The rooms were too small. The bathroom was tiny. The air conditioner didn't work at first then, after it was fixed, it was either too cold or, when it was off, too stiffling. No middle ground. The pool bar was closed Monday and Tuesday. The are surrounding the hotel was rundown and seedy. The beach was dirty. The maitre'd was rude and indifferent to our plight when I told him my wife's dinner was cold and overcooked. He really didn't care. The waiter, however, was very nice and offered to pay for my meal. I left him a big tip. When I told the front desk that we were leaving a day early they didn't even inquire why. They were indifferent as well. The Wyndam Galvez hotel is a beautifully restored hotel but not worth the money they ask for their rooms. They offered no ammenities except free internet. Breakfast was OK but pricey. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone else. Frankly, the whole of Galveston is a waste of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The staff recommended a seafood restaurant called Fisherman's Wharf. It was terrible and over priced. Gaido's on Seawall Blvd. was better and a nicer staff. Great raw oysters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unsatisfied 60th Birthday Outing
Business
La Porte, Texas
May 19, 2009

Not Worth the Price

For the price of $170.00 the room did not even have a CHAIR to sit in!!! If you wanted to sit down you had to sit on bed! Made it where you couldn't even order room serve to eat, NO WHERE TO SIT TO EAT!!! Not even a table, just bed and TV, not even a desk!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 16, 2009

Family Getaway

Our room was the worst! It was next to the employee entrance and the door slammed all hours during the night. The staff workroom and housekeeping rooms were across the hall. It was impossible to sleep. I was told by the hotel that because we booked through Orbitz, we were given a "certain type of room" -- in other words one of the bad ones! You need to cancel your deal with the Galvez. It was a terrible experience. Our room was not ready at check-in, which was 4 p.m. We had to wait an additional hour to get in our room. Very bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BallouTX
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jul 1, 2014

Un-washed Towels

My husband and I stayed here for a good friends wedding over the weekend. This hotel is right on the Seawall and the exterior is a real beauty. The lobby is grand with a large antique bar front nearby the check in. That's where my positive notes regarding this hotel end. We checked in early and received a tiny room. The room contained a wet washcloth hanging over the shower head- should have been our first sign that something was amiss. The following morning as we were preparing for the celebrations, my husband gets out of the shower only to realize that his towel has butt juice on it. Obviously, we did not have fresh towels. Now tell me, does that mean the rest of the room is not clean? Absolutely. We demanded a new hotel and an immediately clean up. They offered to let us stay at their sister property, BUT there is one common laundry service for the two hotels. We definitely passed on that offer and were not given a different hotel to stay. The room clean up happened 12 hours after the discovery of the stained towel. That was disappointing. We had already had to shower AGAIN with dirty towels in order to be clean for the wedding that evening. I guess, the last upshot is we did not have our Ipad stolen, like our friends did. We just have an image, smell and memory of this hotel burned into our memory. Avoid this hotel. Over priced and poorly run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
newly wed traveler
Business
San Antonio TX
Oct 30, 2012

Pretty but not worth the money

The hotel is very pretty at the end of the seawall, not really within walking distance anywhere. Room was clean and pretty, large bed that was comfortable; But not much more room around the room. The bathroom was small and hard to move around in. Pool is nice but awkward to get to, you have to go through the lobby and past the restaurant to get to it. Business area is a couple computers on a table just past the lobby, where anyone can see what your doing. It was pretty hotel, very elegant. So unless you plan on spending a majority of your time at the hotel, Definitely not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HTXRN
Business
Houston
Jan 2, 2014

Is a celebration, but...

I took my family to the Hotel Galvez for New Year's Eve this year because I wanted to experience what it would be like to stay there. I grew up on Galveston and drove past the hotel all the time, but I knew it was an expensive place, so I never got to stay there. Now that I'm older and travel frequently, we like to try out new spots and spend that extra cash for the experience and the luxury. While Hotel Galvez delivers on the luxury, our experience was terrible. Out check in was at 4pm, which is fine. When we arrived we were given a room on the 2nd floor with a partial ocean view. No problem. We could see lots of action in the lobby. There was a private party that evening.. The party happened to be in the ballroom that was directly under our second floor room. I'm assuming that they kicked off sometime earlier in the evening, because they were going at about 10pm when we returned to the hotel due to the weather being bad. We decided to go to our room and relax. Then w tried to sleep. Not happening. This party had a dj with an amazing sound system that rattled the windows all night. I called the desk and was told that the party would go on until about 0130. It was terrible. I have a four year old that couldn't sleep. I couldn't sleep. My wife couldn't sleep. I feel like for the money I spent, the hotel could have put us in a room that was not directory above an all night party. I've never had this problem when I stay at the Driskill. There's always a party there and it's right on 6th street in Austin. I don't think I would ever go back to this hotel again. The service did not match the dollar amount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
May 31, 2010

Don't take your computer

Overall, room was nice, and clean, but on the first day, we never did get our room cleaned. We went out 3 different times before 2 PM, and came back to an uncleaned room all three times. On the second day, I asked the maid in the hall if she would be sure it was cleaned while we were gone, and that time it was. Internet service was awful. My wife had to monitor e-mails for her online business, and she was unable to send e-mails, although she did eventually receive them. However, the wifi kept losing the signal, and she had to sign on repeatedly. Would have been nice if they had offered free breakfast, but they didn't, and the restaurants were expensive. It was a great location, central to a lot of recreation. The desk staff was professional, but the valet service was pushy, and wouldn't even let us take a cart to load our own luggage. We probably won't return to this hotel. It's a lovely old place, but the need to come up to the 2000's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bummed Beach Guest
Business
Houston
Apr 5, 2010

Once was enough

Very small rooms, construction going on outside the hours we were told at the front desk at check in. Been there done that--won't be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX.
Jun 1, 2009

galvez

Hotel is stunning!! Staff is slow and without direction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top