$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
2024 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
85 reviews
Great!

We loved this hotel - Please remember when booking that it is historical so the rooms and bathrooms... See full review

  • BR Mom
  • Jul 24, 2014
Fantastic historic hotel

Rooms are great and staff is very nice!! Very good experience and if ever comin back to galveston... See full review

  • Sulev
  • Feb 2, 2014
Award-winning historic Galveston hotel with full-service spa
Nicknamed the "Queen of the Gulf," the historic Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa dates back to 1911 and offer gracious accommodations unlike any other in the area. The property was renovated in anticipation of the 100th birthday of the property but maintains the period details that make it special. Of course there are plenty of modern additions to the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa, including an enormous full-service spa, a beautiful outdoor pool with a swim-up bar, and shuttles to local attractions (fee may apply).
Highlights
  • A 10,000-square-foot full-service spa
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar
  • Beach chair and umbrella service
  • Every room offers an island or Gulf view
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms
Luxury awaits Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa guests in rooms furnished with pillowtop Simmons Health Smart mattresses and pure cotton linens. Rooms have every expected amenity from a hair-dryer and an iron/ironing board to WebTV to an iPod docking station. In-room safes are large enough to accommodate a laptop computer. In the bathroom, find Carrara marble countertops and scalloped sinks along with full-length mirrors and spa-style bathrobes for guest use.
Features
The beautifully restored Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa offer a glimpse of the Victorian heritage of Galveston, but with every modern amenity. A spectacular full-service spa offers guests a beautiful place to indulge. Guests of the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa are also invited to relax on the beach and enjoy chair and umbrella service. At Bernardo's, the renowned on-site restaurant, the menu features traditional and nouvelle cuisine.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (71 mi/114.2 km)
Attractions
  • St. Mary Cathedral Basilica (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Strand District (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Port of Galveston (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig and Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment available (fee applies) with support staff
  • All rooms wired with high-speed Internet access
  • Full catering available
  • Accommodates groups of up to 500 people

Hotel Map

29.2925 -94.7858
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Mar 1, 2010

Excellent Hotel...Great Bartender!

The stay was great, except for bad parents who let their unruly children run wild through the halls. The Hotel bar has a great bartender!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 2, 2009

Wonderful long weekend!!!

The hotel was lovely. The room was small but had a king sized bed, desk & chair, armoir w/ TV and drawers, night stand, and large bathroom. It had everything we needed. The staff at the hotel was very friendly. The beach is right across the street and is very nice and the pool area is beautiful and fun. The hotel has an amazing Sunday brunch. We also ate at some of the other local eateries. Overall, excellent trip, no complaints, and YES, we would do it again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Texas
Jul 16, 2009

Family Getaway

Our room was the worst! It was next to the employee entrance and the door slammed all hours during the night. The staff workroom and housekeeping rooms were across the hall. It was impossible to sleep. I was told by the hotel that because we booked through Orbitz, we were given a "certain type of room" -- in other words one of the bad ones! You need to cancel your deal with the Galvez. It was a terrible experience. Our room was not ready at check-in, which was 4 p.m. We had to wait an additional hour to get in our room. Very bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cour
East Tennessee
Jun 27, 2009

Lovely Romantic Get-Away

The Hotel Galvez was the perfect get-away for our first child free vacation in 12 years. The hotel pool was beautiful. Room service was yummy and prompt. The portions were so large we ended up splitting each meal instead of ordering two. Poolside service was terrific as well; and the swim up bar was divine. Even though there were plenty of kids in the hotel, we never heard one of them in our corner room. The beach was a short walk across the street and we enjoyed being able to access the pool from the sidewalk, with our room key, rather than walk through the lobby. A quick rinse in the poolside shower and we were set to enjoy the pool for the next couple of hours. We had plans to eplore the island more but the beach and the pool and were so wonderful, as was our room, we never strayed far from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

1. Flying on a Sunday saved over a hundred dollars. It also allowed us to spend a quiet Sunday through Thursday in the hotel. Lots of families were checking out when we arrived on Sunday, and plenty more checked in as we were leaving on Thursday. 2. Orbitz offered a deluxe room for a single dollar more that came with a refund policy. The standard king room had no refunds. Four dollars had the potential of saving us hundreds. Lucky for us we did not need a refund.

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX.
Jun 1, 2009

galvez

Hotel is stunning!! Staff is slow and without direction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unsatisfied 60th Birthday Outing
La Porte, Texas
May 19, 2009

Not Worth the Price

For the price of $170.00 the room did not even have a CHAIR to sit in!!! If you wanted to sit down you had to sit on bed! Made it where you couldn't even order room serve to eat, NO WHERE TO SIT TO EAT!!! Not even a table, just bed and TV, not even a desk!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crockett, TX
May 2, 2009

A very nice historical place to stay

Good service no problems

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 28, 2008

Great getaways.

Everything at the Galvez hotel was as great as the last time. We will come back the next time we need a one to two day getaway. There are many things to do if you look for them and not just go to the Strand or the beach. We did both, but also drove all the way down to the end of the island and came back a different way then I45. It was fun and we looked at a condo which might be a thought for a summer home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
The Woodlands
Aug 11, 2008

Great location, great facility, good service

This hotel is very good four star hotel. It has a great lobby, lobby bar, and restaurant. The pool facility is the best in the market. The location is excellent for guests wanting to be close to the beach. The hotel provides good parking options. The front desk staff did a great job checking us in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The restraurant next door, Smiths, has the best breakfast on the seawall. The beach is directly across the street from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Killeen, TX
Jul 24, 2008

location

clean,comfortable,convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search