$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 4, 2014 Check-out: Dec 5, 2014

Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
2024 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
89 reviews
Can't wait to go back!

Loved this place! Great stay, staff & comfort. The hot tub is a must!!! Can't wait for my next visit. See full review

  • Traveling Rooster
  • Oct 10, 2014
Perfect For Cruisers

Had a awsome time at the Galvaz! Very Friendlt staff and a very nice pool area! See full review

  • Zack San
  • Sep 15, 2014
Award-winning historic Galveston hotel with full-service spa
Nicknamed the "Queen of the Gulf," the historic Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa dates back to 1911 and offer gracious accommodations unlike any other in the area. The property was renovated in anticipation of the 100th birthday of the property but maintains the period details that make it special. Of course there are plenty of modern additions to the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa, including an enormous full-service spa, a beautiful outdoor pool with a swim-up bar, and shuttles to local attractions (fee may apply).
Highlights
  • A 10,000-square-foot full-service spa
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar
  • Beach chair and umbrella service
  • Every room offers an island or Gulf view
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms
Luxury awaits Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa guests in rooms furnished with pillowtop Simmons Health Smart mattresses and pure cotton linens. Rooms have every expected amenity from a hair-dryer and an iron/ironing board to WebTV to an iPod docking station. In-room safes are large enough to accommodate a laptop computer. In the bathroom, find Carrara marble countertops and scalloped sinks along with full-length mirrors and spa-style bathrobes for guest use.
Features
The beautifully restored Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa offer a glimpse of the Victorian heritage of Galveston, but with every modern amenity. A spectacular full-service spa offers guests a beautiful place to indulge. Guests of the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa are also invited to relax on the beach and enjoy chair and umbrella service. At Bernardo's, the renowned on-site restaurant, the menu features traditional and nouvelle cuisine.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (71 mi/114.2 km)
Attractions
  • St. Mary Cathedral Basilica (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Strand District (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Port of Galveston (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig and Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment available (fee applies) with support staff
  • All rooms wired with high-speed Internet access
  • Full catering available
  • Accommodates groups of up to 500 people

Hotel Map

29.2925 -94.7858
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
May 31, 2010

Don't take your computer

Overall, room was nice, and clean, but on the first day, we never did get our room cleaned. We went out 3 different times before 2 PM, and came back to an uncleaned room all three times. On the second day, I asked the maid in the hall if she would be sure it was cleaned while we were gone, and that time it was. Internet service was awful. My wife had to monitor e-mails for her online business, and she was unable to send e-mails, although she did eventually receive them. However, the wifi kept losing the signal, and she had to sign on repeatedly. Would have been nice if they had offered free breakfast, but they didn't, and the restaurants were expensive. It was a great location, central to a lot of recreation. The desk staff was professional, but the valet service was pushy, and wouldn't even let us take a cart to load our own luggage. We probably won't return to this hotel. It's a lovely old place, but the need to come up to the 2000's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
May 24, 2010

N

Historic and unique hotel. There was ongoing renovation, but it didn't bother us much. Great saltwater pool. Odd chemical smells in the hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sunflower bakery

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
May 9, 2010

Wonderful Stay Will Definitely Return!!

Wonderful experience. One little hitch, but taken care of immediately and with a note of apology and a yummy dessert tray.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bummed Beach Guest
Business
Houston
Apr 5, 2010

Once was enough

Very small rooms, construction going on outside the hours we were told at the front desk at check in. Been there done that--won't be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 1, 2010

Excellent Hotel...Great Bartender!

The stay was great, except for bad parents who let their unruly children run wild through the halls. The Hotel bar has a great bartender!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 2, 2009

Wonderful long weekend!!!

The hotel was lovely. The room was small but had a king sized bed, desk & chair, armoir w/ TV and drawers, night stand, and large bathroom. It had everything we needed. The staff at the hotel was very friendly. The beach is right across the street and is very nice and the pool area is beautiful and fun. The hotel has an amazing Sunday brunch. We also ate at some of the other local eateries. Overall, excellent trip, no complaints, and YES, we would do it again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 16, 2009

Family Getaway

Our room was the worst! It was next to the employee entrance and the door slammed all hours during the night. The staff workroom and housekeeping rooms were across the hall. It was impossible to sleep. I was told by the hotel that because we booked through Orbitz, we were given a "certain type of room" -- in other words one of the bad ones! You need to cancel your deal with the Galvez. It was a terrible experience. Our room was not ready at check-in, which was 4 p.m. We had to wait an additional hour to get in our room. Very bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cour
Business
East Tennessee
Jun 27, 2009

Lovely Romantic Get-Away

The Hotel Galvez was the perfect get-away for our first child free vacation in 12 years. The hotel pool was beautiful. Room service was yummy and prompt. The portions were so large we ended up splitting each meal instead of ordering two. Poolside service was terrific as well; and the swim up bar was divine. Even though there were plenty of kids in the hotel, we never heard one of them in our corner room. The beach was a short walk across the street and we enjoyed being able to access the pool from the sidewalk, with our room key, rather than walk through the lobby. A quick rinse in the poolside shower and we were set to enjoy the pool for the next couple of hours. We had plans to eplore the island more but the beach and the pool and were so wonderful, as was our room, we never strayed far from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

1. Flying on a Sunday saved over a hundred dollars. It also allowed us to spend a quiet Sunday through Thursday in the hotel. Lots of families were checking out when we arrived on Sunday, and plenty more checked in as we were leaving on Thursday. 2. Orbitz offered a deluxe room for a single dollar more that came with a refund policy. The standard king room had no refunds. Four dollars had the potential of saving us hundreds. Lucky for us we did not need a refund.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX.
Jun 1, 2009

galvez

Hotel is stunning!! Staff is slow and without direction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unsatisfied 60th Birthday Outing
Business
La Porte, Texas
May 19, 2009

Not Worth the Price

For the price of $170.00 the room did not even have a CHAIR to sit in!!! If you wanted to sit down you had to sit on bed! Made it where you couldn't even order room serve to eat, NO WHERE TO SIT TO EAT!!! Not even a table, just bed and TV, not even a desk!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top