$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
2024 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
116 reviews
Fantastic historic hotel

Rooms are great and staff is very nice!! Very good experience and if ever comin back to galveston... See full review

  • Sulev
  • Feb 2, 2014
Great room, great view

The bed was comfy, the room was beautiful and clean. See full review

  • Planner II
  • Oct 5, 2013
Award-winning historic Galveston hotel with full-service spa
Nicknamed the "Queen of the Gulf," the historic Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa dates back to 1911 and offer gracious accommodations unlike any other in the area. The property was renovated in anticipation of the 100th birthday of the property but maintains the period details that make it special. Of course there are plenty of modern additions to the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa, including an enormous full-service spa, a beautiful outdoor pool with a swim-up bar, and shuttles to local attractions (fee may apply).
Highlights
  • A 10,000-square-foot full-service spa
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar
  • Beach chair and umbrella service
  • Every room offers an island or Gulf view
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms
Luxury awaits Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa guests in rooms furnished with pillowtop Simmons Health Smart mattresses and pure cotton linens. Rooms have every expected amenity from a hair-dryer and an iron/ironing board to WebTV to an iPod docking station. In-room safes are large enough to accommodate a laptop computer. In the bathroom, find Carrara marble countertops and scalloped sinks along with full-length mirrors and spa-style bathrobes for guest use.
Features
The beautifully restored Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa offer a glimpse of the Victorian heritage of Galveston, but with every modern amenity. A spectacular full-service spa offers guests a beautiful place to indulge. Guests of the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa are also invited to relax on the beach and enjoy chair and umbrella service. At Bernardo's, the renowned on-site restaurant, the menu features traditional and nouvelle cuisine.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (71 mi/114.2 km)
Attractions
  • St. Mary Cathedral Basilica (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Strand District (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Port of Galveston (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig and Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment available (fee applies) with support staff
  • All rooms wired with high-speed Internet access
  • Full catering available
  • Accommodates groups of up to 500 people

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2925 -94.7858
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston
Jul 30, 2011

Pool disaster

We went for my sons birthday weekend, second day, people were circling the pool only to find someone had left a toilet treat, pictures were taken, people stared and pointed, pool was closed...along with our minds to enjoy the pool the rest of the day. We tried to make sure that we were out of the room so the maids could clean in the morning,but to our surprise when we arrive to the room at 3pm the afternoon, they were knocking at the door...so back downstairs once again. Not a good experience. I notified the front desk who told me the manager would call me after checking out early, but never did. Add insult to injury. Oh well, I called corporate, maybe they will respond.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston
Jul 30, 2011

Pool disaster

We went for my sons birthday weekend, second day, people were circling the pool only to find someone had left a toilet treat, pictures were taken, people stared and pointed, pool was closed...along with our minds to enjoy the pool the rest of the day. We tried to make sure that we were out of the room so the maids could clean in the morning,but to our surprise when we arrive to the room at 3pm the afternoon, they were knocking at the door...so back downstairs once again. Not a good experience. I notified the front desk who told me the manager would call me after checking out early, but never did. Add insult to injury. Oh well, I called corporate, maybe they will respond.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Salem, IN
Jul 28, 2011

Nice, romantic hotel

We started out poorly with a disinterested clerk in the late evening, and a room that had some minor cleaning issues. However, the manager made thing "right" quickly, and the rest of the stay was great. Pool area small but nice, wonderful veranda to just sit out on in the breeze, great locked parking area with plenty of room. Breakfast buffet was superb. Other than the initial interaction with personel, all were very attentive and pleasant to work with

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The nearby water park (Schliterbahn)I would avoid on a weekend--way to crowded and the tube rides are very poorly run, i.e. they let people carry the tubes away, so if you don't grab one early, you are not going to get one. We left 3 hours early due to this. Also, Rainforest CAfe (2miles) was great---but a long wait. They make the wait as enjoyable as possible though.

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Salem, IN
Jul 28, 2011

Nice, romantic hotel

We started out poorly with a disinterested clerk in the late evening, and a room that had some minor cleaning issues. However, the manager made thing "right" quickly, and the rest of the stay was great. Pool area small but nice, wonderful veranda to just sit out on in the breeze, great locked parking area with plenty of room. Breakfast buffet was superb. Other than the initial interaction with personel, all were very attentive and pleasant to work with

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The nearby water park (Schliterbahn)I would avoid on a weekend--way to crowded and the tube rides are very poorly run, i.e. they let people carry the tubes away, so if you don't grab one early, you are not going to get one. We left 3 hours early due to this. Also, Rainforest CAfe (2miles) was great---but a long wait. They make the wait as enjoyable as possible though.

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma
Jul 9, 2011

Annual Galveston Trip

Beautiful hotel. Very nice and comfy. Have stayed in the Hilton the past 6 years. Room was smaller than the Hilton. Only complaints are the bathroom is very dark and the guy at check-in was not very helpful at all. Grounds are gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma
Jul 9, 2011

Annual Galveston Trip

Beautiful hotel. Very nice and comfy. Have stayed in the Hilton the past 6 years. Room was smaller than the Hilton. Only complaints are the bathroom is very dark and the guy at check-in was not very helpful at all. Grounds are gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tucks
Fort Worth, TX
Jun 8, 2011

Fun Spot for a Long Weekend

We came for a three-day getaway with the kids. The location is wonderful directly across from the beach. The service was also very good. The rooms are very small --- especially if you are traveling with little ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Aquarium was the perfect destionation for some time to kill on a rainy day. We all loved it!

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tucks
Fort Worth, TX
Jun 8, 2011

Fun Spot for a Long Weekend

We came for a three-day getaway with the kids. The location is wonderful directly across from the beach. The service was also very good. The rooms are very small --- especially if you are traveling with little ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Aquarium was the perfect destionation for some time to kill on a rainy day. We all loved it!

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Belton Texas
May 19, 2011

Very Comfortable

Very nice and comfortable. Paid $40 extra to upgrade to Gulf view, but the room actually faced sideways. The Gulf was only visible if you were standing right in front of the window and looking to the side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Belton Texas
May 19, 2011

Very Comfortable

Very nice and comfortable. Paid $40 extra to upgrade to Gulf view, but the room actually faced sideways. The Gulf was only visible if you were standing right in front of the window and looking to the side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top