$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
2024 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
89 reviews
Can't wait to go back!

Loved this place! Great stay, staff & comfort. The hot tub is a must!!! Can't wait for my next visit. See full review

  • Traveling Rooster
  • Oct 10, 2014
Perfect For Cruisers

Had a awsome time at the Galvaz! Very Friendlt staff and a very nice pool area! See full review

  • Zack San
  • Sep 15, 2014
Award-winning historic Galveston hotel with full-service spa
Nicknamed the "Queen of the Gulf," the historic Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa dates back to 1911 and offer gracious accommodations unlike any other in the area. The property was renovated in anticipation of the 100th birthday of the property but maintains the period details that make it special. Of course there are plenty of modern additions to the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa, including an enormous full-service spa, a beautiful outdoor pool with a swim-up bar, and shuttles to local attractions (fee may apply).
Highlights
  • A 10,000-square-foot full-service spa
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar
  • Beach chair and umbrella service
  • Every room offers an island or Gulf view
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms
Luxury awaits Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa guests in rooms furnished with pillowtop Simmons Health Smart mattresses and pure cotton linens. Rooms have every expected amenity from a hair-dryer and an iron/ironing board to WebTV to an iPod docking station. In-room safes are large enough to accommodate a laptop computer. In the bathroom, find Carrara marble countertops and scalloped sinks along with full-length mirrors and spa-style bathrobes for guest use.
Features
The beautifully restored Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa offer a glimpse of the Victorian heritage of Galveston, but with every modern amenity. A spectacular full-service spa offers guests a beautiful place to indulge. Guests of the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa are also invited to relax on the beach and enjoy chair and umbrella service. At Bernardo's, the renowned on-site restaurant, the menu features traditional and nouvelle cuisine.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (71 mi/114.2 km)
Attractions
  • St. Mary Cathedral Basilica (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Strand District (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Port of Galveston (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig and Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment available (fee applies) with support staff
  • All rooms wired with high-speed Internet access
  • Full catering available
  • Accommodates groups of up to 500 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boswell
Business
Morgantown, WV
Oct 16, 2012

Beautiful Hotel

This is a beautiful grand old hotel that has been updated for today. The fitness room was very nice and the pool and hot tub were beautiful with all of the palm trees and wonderful lounge chairs. The rooms on the bayside have a great view. Nice lounge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of nice restaurants close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTSJASM
Business
Lake Charles
Oct 8, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Hotel is in a great location. We would walk the beach every night. The Sunday brunch is a must. The only thing that annoyed me was no refrigerator in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sunday Brunch is a must

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr Steve Preacherman
Business
Spring, TX
Sep 17, 2012

Great Anniversary Stay

My wife and I had a great time at the Galvez. The breakfast buffet was great and the conceirge was extremely helpful. The room was small but comfortable and all the staff was friendly and ready to help at any turn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Granny Ann
Business
Northwest Harris County, Texas
Aug 25, 2012

Sort of a dissappointment

It's been a very long time since I was at the Hotel Galvez. It is a lovely hotel, but our room was very small for $145 per night. But, it's the location we paid for! We were in walking distance of the beach, Murdock's and the Pleasure Pier and that is why we came! The food was very good and the service excellent! The pool area was clean and readily supplied with towels and pool toys for the kids! It's a very quiet hotel at night compared to others I've stayed in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Murdock's is our favorite place to shop and just sit and enjoy the sea breeze when we come to Galveston. You'll love it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RkII
Business
Okla
Aug 19, 2012

Great!

Outstanding hotel, great location, VERY clean Will def go back, good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Student Sarah
Business
Coppell, TX
Aug 18, 2012

Great Stay

We will come back. The beach was terrific. The pool was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Come during the week for a better price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dd from Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 13, 2012

Grand historical hotel

This is one of the 200+ historical hotels in US. Unique design of the building, amazing location, excellent staff, beautiful and very comfortable pool area - we would recommend this hotel to all our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have breakfast at the Mosquito cafe on 14th street. We loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dutchwoman
Business
Arkansas
Aug 8, 2012

small rooms

The room was small and trash was on the floor when we arrived. I guess housekeeping was having a bad day, but other than that it was awesome. The old building has been updated and is comfy. It has a great deal of charm and the pool was nice but a little dirty for my taste. The bellman went and got me some ice and I had already tipped him. Nice folks. Ask about the ghost in room 501. Interesting story. Walk across the street to Murdochs and have a drink on the porch. And make sure and eat at Casey's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive down the beach to a public beach where you can park right on the beach and have some quiet time.Stop at store and pick up picnic supplies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ScaredyCat
Business
Texas
Aug 6, 2012

Weekend Getaway

The hotel was beautiful. The staff were very helpful and the spa was HEAVENLY! But the hotel is haunted. Thankfully we weren't on the 5th floor (the haunted floor). Overall wonderful stay, just wish someone would of told me about the haunted part. Maybe I would have slept better had I known what I had booked before hand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Moody gardens is awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Short Summer Vacay
Business
Leander, Texas
Jul 20, 2012

Great Trip

Upon arrival, I was impressed with the appearance of the hotel. It's very upscale. All of my encounters with the staff were very courteous and professional. The room was very modern, clean and comfortable. I was also very happy with the closeness of the hotel to the beach, Pleasure Pier and local restaurants. We were able to walk to most places. The only negative thing I can say about the hotel, is that the walls are very thin. We were able to hear our neighbor's tv and conversations every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Pleasure Pier, Duck Tours, Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., the beach, Fish Tales restaurant and The Spot restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top