$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2024 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
93 reviews
Wedding Day Hotel

My husband and I are from Chicago and got married in Galveston on September 4, 2014. The Hotel... See full review

  • Jennifer Massat
  • Feb 26, 2015
Can't wait to go back!

Loved this place! Great stay, staff & comfort. The hot tub is a must!!! Can't wait for my next visit. See full review

  • Traveling Rooster
  • Oct 10, 2014

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Planner II
Business
Beaumont, Texas
Oct 5, 2013

Great room, great view

The bed was comfy, the room was beautiful and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennifer Massat
Business
N/A
Feb 26, 2015

Wedding Day Hotel

My husband and I are from Chicago and got married in Galveston on September 4, 2014. The Hotel Galvez was super accommodating to us on our wedding day and night ( we stayed with friends the remainder of our trip). The lady who did my hair and makeup at the salon was AMAZING and I couldn't have asked for a better wedding look for my big day. We had a photographer and needed a place to take pictures of us cutting our cake and the Hotel Galvez was awesome at finding us an empty room and setting us up with plates, forks and knives to cut the cake with. Needless to say, the pictures turned out flawless. We will definitely be coming back and staying at this hotel again in the future!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BOB
Business
League City
Feb 18, 2015

nice

nice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Rooster
Business
ATX
Oct 10, 2014

Can't wait to go back!

Loved this place! Great stay, staff & comfort. The hot tub is a must!!! Can't wait for my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Murdoch's

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yorkieboy
Business
UK
Oct 9, 2014

Charming Period Getaway

Great time at this historic hotel. Lovely staff & super spa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Millers Seawall Grill ... A short step for a great breakfast overlooking the gulf.

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Plain Phil
Business
San Antonio, TX
Oct 6, 2014

Galveston, TX - stayed 10/03 - 10/05

Staff was exemplary and the facility as a whole was great. Upon our return noticed a billing discrepancy wherein we were charged $379.22 which we did not owe. Had provided our on-line confirmation and receipt at check-in and verified the zero balance on the nights indicated on the reservation. At check-out on 10/05/14, was told had balance for 1 day valet parking (which we did not use). Was told the charge was deleted from bill and now had zero balance. Contacted hotel this date (10/06/14) to discuss. Was told they would check with reservation agent and call back with results. Hotel did call back in a reasonable amount of time and stated had worked things out with on-line reservation agent and credit would be issued. Other than the billing issue, all was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrG928
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 1, 2014

Great Anniversary weekend

If you want excellent food with great location and staff Hotel Galvez is for you! The hotel is beautiful esp the lobby and adjoining rooms. We were in 525 (the 5th floor is haunted!) And it was a basic room. The food was excellent...from the swim up pool bar snacks to dinner at their restaurant we didn't have a bad meal! We did the world famous brunch on Sunday... Go hungry as they have Everything! It was a great experience but would rather do their other options. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zack San
Business
Texas
Sep 15, 2014

Perfect For Cruisers

Had a awsome time at the Galvaz! Very Friendlt staff and a very nice pool area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
galves
Business
Dallas texas
Sep 1, 2014

loved the hotel

The hotel experience was great. My only concern was Tom the bartender who was very down on galveston which made for a negative experience at the bar. He shouldn't be working in galveston if he doesn't like the city...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free Internet, bikes, and paarking...

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scasares
Business
Spring, TX
Aug 14, 2014

Galvez stay

The check in was not good. The rooms were not ready, and they lost some of our bags when they were sent to the room. They did find them after about 3 hours. That was the only bad thing that happened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BR Mom
Business
Midland, Texas
Jul 24, 2014

Great!

We loved this hotel - Please remember when booking that it is historical so the rooms and bathrooms may be smaller than modern day hotels, but the downstairs lobby, patio, pool, Adirondack chairs on the lawn, provide ample opportunity to visit and relax. The charm and atmosphere are well worth a slightly smaller room/bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top