$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
2024 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
117 reviews
Great!

We loved this hotel - Please remember when booking that it is historical so the rooms and bathrooms... See full review

  • BR Mom
  • Jul 24, 2014
Fantastic historic hotel

Rooms are great and staff is very nice!! Very good experience and if ever comin back to galveston... See full review

  • Sulev
  • Feb 2, 2014
Discover a sophisticated retreat with historic charm at the Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel. These stunning accommodations are just minutes from sparkling Gulf beaches, great restaurants, family friendly amusements and the best of historic downtown Galveston. This hotel is also convenient to both the William P. Hobby Airport and the George Bush Intercontinental Airport. Pets are welcome at this hotel, which offers world-class amenities including complimentary wireless Internet, full-service spa, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated outdoor pool with swim-up bar, high-tech business center and beachfront umbrella and chair services. Dine under the gracious colonnades and chandeliers of the onsite restaurant, which serves all meals and room service. Entertain in the Music Hall, the oleander garden or other spectacular event space; the expert staff make it effortless. Spacious guest rooms feature MP3 dock, bathrobe, 43-inch flat-screen TV and beach or island views.

Hotel Map

29.2925 -94.7858
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sue Mac
Houston, Texas
Dec 25, 2012

Great service; beautiful hotel

Rooms were clean and updated. Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. I would definitely return for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pleasure Pier is within walking distance, and great restaurants are within a short drive.

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BR Mom
Midland, Texas
Jul 24, 2014

Great!

We loved this hotel - Please remember when booking that it is historical so the rooms and bathrooms may be smaller than modern day hotels, but the downstairs lobby, patio, pool, Adirondack chairs on the lawn, provide ample opportunity to visit and relax. The charm and atmosphere are well worth a slightly smaller room/bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BallouTX
Fort Worth, Texas
Jul 1, 2014

Un-washed Towels

My husband and I stayed here for a good friends wedding over the weekend. This hotel is right on the Seawall and the exterior is a real beauty. The lobby is grand with a large antique bar front nearby the check in. That's where my positive notes regarding this hotel end. We checked in early and received a tiny room. The room contained a wet washcloth hanging over the shower head- should have been our first sign that something was amiss. The following morning as we were preparing for the celebrations, my husband gets out of the shower only to realize that his towel has butt juice on it. Obviously, we did not have fresh towels. Now tell me, does that mean the rest of the room is not clean? Absolutely. We demanded a new hotel and an immediately clean up. They offered to let us stay at their sister property, BUT there is one common laundry service for the two hotels. We definitely passed on that offer and were not given a different hotel to stay. The room clean up happened 12 hours after the discovery of the stained towel. That was disappointing. We had already had to shower AGAIN with dirty towels in order to be clean for the wedding that evening. I guess, the last upshot is we did not have our Ipad stolen, like our friends did. We just have an image, smell and memory of this hotel burned into our memory. Avoid this hotel. Over priced and poorly run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iveyusmc
Austin
May 8, 2014

2 day stay

Hotel is beautiful and at a good location. Rooms where small but it was built around 1911. Rooms need to be re painted but everything else was great. I would stay there again next time I visit Galveston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish tails is good. The black perl was amazing !!

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melanie the traveler
Fort Worth, tx
Mar 23, 2014

Just lacking a little

It's been a long time since I have stayed at a hotel that doesn't at least have a continental breakfast. Our shower ceiling also leaking when the people upstairs would take a shower. However, those are the only two complaints I have. The location was perfect. The ground were beautiful. Staff was very nice. Overall we had a wonderful stay. I would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel offers bikes- but the walks are ahort and beautiful. Lots if food and shopping right along the beach. Pleasure pier is an amusement park with rides and games maybe a seven minute walk away.

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sulev
Houston
Feb 2, 2014

Fantastic historic hotel

Rooms are great and staff is very nice!! Very good experience and if ever comin back to galveston i will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
klln
Lake jackson, tx
Jan 25, 2014

Vacation

Overall a very nice place. Clean room, received an upgrade for our anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at bubba gump's.

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HTXRN
Houston
Jan 2, 2014

Is a celebration, but...

I took my family to the Hotel Galvez for New Year's Eve this year because I wanted to experience what it would be like to stay there. I grew up on Galveston and drove past the hotel all the time, but I knew it was an expensive place, so I never got to stay there. Now that I'm older and travel frequently, we like to try out new spots and spend that extra cash for the experience and the luxury. While Hotel Galvez delivers on the luxury, our experience was terrible. Out check in was at 4pm, which is fine. When we arrived we were given a room on the 2nd floor with a partial ocean view. No problem. We could see lots of action in the lobby. There was a private party that evening.. The party happened to be in the ballroom that was directly under our second floor room. I'm assuming that they kicked off sometime earlier in the evening, because they were going at about 10pm when we returned to the hotel due to the weather being bad. We decided to go to our room and relax. Then w tried to sleep. Not happening. This party had a dj with an amazing sound system that rattled the windows all night. I called the desk and was told that the party would go on until about 0130. It was terrible. I have a four year old that couldn't sleep. I couldn't sleep. My wife couldn't sleep. I feel like for the money I spent, the hotel could have put us in a room that was not directory above an all night party. I've never had this problem when I stay at the Driskill. There's always a party there and it's right on 6th street in Austin. I don't think I would ever go back to this hotel again. The service did not match the dollar amount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Planner II
Business
Beaumont, Texas
Oct 5, 2013

Great room, great view

The bed was comfy, the room was beautiful and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CharlieTuna007
Houston
Sep 29, 2013

Historic and Fun, but a little pricy

The staff was friendly and the drinks were strong. The location of this historic hotel is perfect for seawall activities. Considering it was built in 1911, the rooms are on the small-side of what you typically find in a modern Texas hotel, but still very livable. They've clearly upgraded the rooms with fancy programable lighting. The bath was nice and clean with both hand sprayer and rainfall shower head. Free AT&T wifi was nice, but no free HBO. Window and dresser top had greasy fingerprints on them. Some stains on the carpet, but nothing too gross. Probably not worth the $300/night I paid, but not too far off the mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out "The Spot" for great burgers.

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenjenk
Williamston, Michigan
Sep 16, 2013

Spectacular location!

The hotel is in a perfect spot! Once you get there, you never need get in your car for the rest of your stay. Food, ocean, entertainment, amusement park, etc., all within walking distance. I do however, have 2 complaints: the hotel bar NEVER has change when you order something, almost forcing you to leave them a bigger tip than you normally would, and I found the staff a bit snippy. I had a problem at check out and the man behind the counter, manager or not I don't know, seemed very put out that he had to help the girl who was waiting on me. Overall, a very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great restaurants well within walking distance and reasonably priced.

Back to menu Return to top