$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2024 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
93 reviews
Great Family Get Away

You Must I Repeat You Must Take The Tour of The Hotel With BOBBY He is 84 years old and full of... See full review

  • Pierre G.
  • Aug 2, 2015
Relaxing

Superior amenities...awesome service...friendly, smiling faces See full review

  • Cathy P
  • Jul 10, 2015
Nicknamed the "Queen of the Gulf," the historic Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa dates back to 1911 and offer gracious accommodations unlike any other in the area. The property was renovated in anticipation of the 100th birthday of the property but maintains the period details that make it special. Of course there are plenty of modern additions to the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa, including an enormous full-service spa, a beautiful outdoor pool with a swim-up bar, and shuttles to local attractions (fee may apply).
Rooms
Luxury awaits Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa guests in rooms furnished with pillowtop Simmons Health Smart mattresses and pure cotton linens. Rooms have every expected amenity from a hair-dryer and an iron/ironing board to WebTV to an iPod docking station. In-room safes are large enough to accommodate a laptop computer. In the bathroom, find Carrara marble countertops and scalloped sinks along with full-length mirrors and spa-style bathrobes for guest use.
Property features
The beautifully restored Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa offer a glimpse of the Victorian heritage of Galveston, but with every modern amenity. A spectacular full-service spa offers guests a beautiful place to indulge. Guests of the Wyndham Hotel Galvez and Spa are also invited to relax on the beach and enjoy chair and umbrella service. At Bernardo's, the renowned on-site restaurant, the menu features traditional and nouvelle cuisine.
Highlights
  • A 10,000-square-foot full-service spa
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar
  • Beach chair and umbrella service
  • Every room offers an island or Gulf view
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • St. Mary Cathedral Basilica (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Strand District (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Port of Galveston (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig and Museum (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • University of Texas Medical Branch (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • State-of-the-art audiovisual equipment available (fee applies) with support staff
  • All rooms wired with high-speed Internet access
  • Full catering available
  • Accommodates groups of up to 500 people
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (45 mi/72.4 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (71 mi/114.2 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$98
3.9 / 5 133 reviews
★★★★
$98
4.2 / 5 43 reviews
★★★
$57
3.7 / 5 165 reviews
★★★
$79
4.0 / 5 26 reviews
★★★
$76
3.8 / 5 92 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boswell
Couples
Morgantown, WV
Oct 16, 2012

Beautiful Resort Hotel

It was a beautiful, old hotel that is totally modern. Rooms are a little smaller as in old hotels, but definitely large enough, and the high ceilings were so elegant. Beautiful view of the bay. Wonderful staff, great pool area, nice fitness room, and the staff was nice and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several really good seafood places.

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pierre G.
Family
N/A
Aug 2, 2015

Great Family Get Away

You Must I Repeat You Must Take The Tour of The Hotel With BOBBY He is 84 years old and full of information not only about the Hotel but about Galveston. The only a complaint that my wife and I had was the bed was a little hard for us a minor thing overall. Staff was fantastic my problem is that I am in my 60's and it was hard for me sometimes to hear and understand what they were saying. i.e. one of my pool waitresses asked me how I would like to pay for it and I thought she was asking me what dressing I wanted on my salad I said ranch lol. We worked it out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cathy P
Business
N/A
Jul 10, 2015

Relaxing

Superior amenities...awesome service...friendly, smiling faces

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
angela r.
Couples
arlington
Jun 8, 2015

work

Lovely. I stay here every time i come. My husband and i love the history of the hotel. I cant wait to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennifer Massat
Couples
N/A
Feb 26, 2015

Wedding Day Hotel

My husband and I are from Chicago and got married in Galveston on September 4, 2014. The Hotel Galvez was super accommodating to us on our wedding day and night ( we stayed with friends the remainder of our trip). The lady who did my hair and makeup at the salon was AMAZING and I couldn't have asked for a better wedding look for my big day. We had a photographer and needed a place to take pictures of us cutting our cake and the Hotel Galvez was awesome at finding us an empty room and setting us up with plates, forks and knives to cut the cake with. Needless to say, the pictures turned out flawless. We will definitely be coming back and staying at this hotel again in the future!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BOB
Business
League City
Feb 18, 2015

nice

nice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice locationnice would stay again, nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Rooster
Family
ATX
Oct 10, 2014

Can't wait to go back!

Loved this place! Great stay, staff & comfort. The hot tub is a must!!! Can't wait for my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Murdoch's

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yorkieboy
Couples
UK
Oct 9, 2014

Charming Period Getaway

Great time at this historic hotel. Lovely staff & super spa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Millers Seawall Grill ... A short step for a great breakfast overlooking the gulf.

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Plain Phil
Couples
San Antonio, TX
Oct 6, 2014

Galveston, TX - stayed 10/03 - 10/05

Staff was exemplary and the facility as a whole was great. Upon our return noticed a billing discrepancy wherein we were charged $379.22 which we did not owe. Had provided our on-line confirmation and receipt at check-in and verified the zero balance on the nights indicated on the reservation. At check-out on 10/05/14, was told had balance for 1 day valet parking (which we did not use). Was told the charge was deleted from bill and now had zero balance. Contacted hotel this date (10/06/14) to discuss. Was told they would check with reservation agent and call back with results. Hotel did call back in a reasonable amount of time and stated had worked things out with on-line reservation agent and credit would be issued. Other than the billing issue, all was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrG928
Couples
Houston, Texas
Oct 1, 2014

Great Anniversary weekend

If you want excellent food with great location and staff Hotel Galvez is for you! The hotel is beautiful esp the lobby and adjoining rooms. We were in 525 (the 5th floor is haunted!) And it was a basic room. The food was excellent...from the swim up pool bar snacks to dinner at their restaurant we didn't have a bad meal! We did the world famous brunch on Sunday... Go hungry as they have Everything! It was a great experience but would rather do their other options. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zack San
Family
Texas
Sep 15, 2014

Perfect For Cruisers

Had a awsome time at the Galvaz! Very Friendlt staff and a very nice pool area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top