$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

3 stars
View map of 5002 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
92 reviews
sister getaway

Great place to stay will stay again if in area. if taking a cruise not to far from dock. See full review

  • tracy travelerpa
  • Aug 18, 2014
great

Everybody was friendly, love it good location,,close to the beach, resturant in hotel was very... See full review

  • jazz23
  • Aug 9, 2014
Galveston beach resort with pool and easy access to local attractions

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers guests a prime location in the Gulf Coast. The resort is minutes from local attractions, including Schillterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Lone Star Flight Museum and Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier. Business and leisure travelers find a range of onsite amenities and conveniences, including a large outdoor pool, tennis courts, a fitness center, and meeting rooms. Visitors with kids in tow enjoy an arcade and playground. The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers free parking, as well as onsite dining options.

Reasons to stay
  • Minutes from popular attractions Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens
  • Gulf Coast location, plus an outdoor pool, fitness center and tennis courts
  • Modern conveniences: Free Wi-Fi, meeting space and free parking
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach rooms

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach has 178 rooms. Standard amenities include cable television, wireless Internet access, tea- and coffee-making facilities, as well as in-room safes. Accessible facilities, room service and cribs are available.

Things to do nearby
  • Fort Crockett (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Moody Gardens Galveston Island (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Port of Galveston (2.8 mi/4.5km)
  • Scholes Field (3.4 mi/4.8 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (40.9 mi/65.8 km)
  • Houston, Texas (50.5 mi/81.2 km)
  • Bush International Airport (71.6 mi/115 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.8 mi

Dining

The Jetty Restaurant
The Jetty Restaurant offers a tantalizing array of traditional and not so traditional cusine favorites. From breakfast, to sandwiches and seafood , you'll find something at The Jetty Restaurant you're sure to adore. Of course, for good times and great nig
Landry's Seafood
Just steps from the beach on historic Seawall Boulevard, Landry's Seafood in Galveston features mouthwatering seafood specialties, succulent steaks and panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico. From our comfy, covered outdoor lounge, enjoy an appetizer and
IHOP
Just the name conjures up hot, freshly brewed coffee and huge stacks of buttermilk pancakes, topped with butter and syrup. For Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner there's a world famous restaurant just outside your door.
Rainforest Cafe
Rainforest Cafe features great food for everyone including a variety of specialty items from seafood, beef and chicken to an assortment of pastas and pizzas. For a lighter fare, try one of their unique salads or sandwiches. Also, offering an award winning
The Steakhouse
Galveston Island's premier steakhouse exclusively featuring USDA Prime Midwest Grain Fed Beef, live Maine lobster and an extensive wine list. Voted "Best Steakhouse on the Gulf Coast" by Texas Monthly and selected No. 1 of the "Texas' Top Ten" by Tom Hor
Grotto Ristorante
Inspired by classic Southern Italian cooking, Grotto features delicious veal, chicken, seafood and house made pastas. Grotto's food and breathtaking decor are complemented by beachside views in Galveston Island's premiere resort and hotel, The San Luis Re
B'Jiggers Lounge
For a good time and great nightlife, B. Jigger's Lounge is the perfect place. Enjoy a warm, social atmosphere featuring live entertainment on the weekends and daily happy hour.
The Bar (at The San Luis Resort)
Enjoy an extensive selection of refreshments in a relaxing resort atmosphere. Offering, live entertainment Tuesday-Saturday nights by island favorite, pianist/vocalist Angelo Tolentino.
H2O Bar At The San Luis Resort
H2o offers a sleek modern outdoor ultralounge with contemporary seating areas, roaring firepit, televsions and upbeat music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 92
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
purple butterfly 2013
Business
texas
Aug 15, 2014

family short time getaway

It's a beach front hotel. Sitting on the balcony and watching sunrise is a really amazing experience. Walking distance to see the volcano on Rain Forest Cafe. My kids really enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jazz23
Business
houston
Aug 9, 2014

great

Everybody was friendly, love it good location,,close to the beach, resturant in hotel was very good,,love just waking up looking at.the view of the beach. From my hotel window,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sk0283
Business
Dallas, tx
Aug 7, 2014

Great location, horrendous service

Great location, right across from the beach and near restaurants. Room was clean and maid service was attentive. Front desk service....was the worst I've encountered at a hotel. The bellhop finally got us a room key after 3 hours of waiting though we had reservations booked months in advance. The day after we checked in we realized that we needed a parking pass that we were never told about. Luckily we weren't towed before we got one. There are too any hotels on the island to deal with this one. Oh and show up without reservations! They'll give you a room right away for $30 a night less than the early, online, no refund price. I saw people come in and get this deal while I was STILL waiting for the room I reserved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas Beach Enthusiast
Business
Arkansas
Aug 1, 2014

Overpriced, underwhelming

The hotel is located directly across from the beach, where there are plenty of lifeguards, rentals (chairs, umbrellas, jet skis, etc.), and concessions. The location is great, but the hotel itself isn't all that amazing. The rooms are outdoor entry (can't really tell from pictures), and the restaurant is overpriced for what it is. The staff isn't all that friendly either. In fact, the dining manager actually walked right into our room trying to ask about a room charge. Turns out they didn't see the card we left on file. There are plenty of other hotels that are as nice or nicer for the same price or even less! I don't think I'd go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wlwsf
Business
Galveston texas
Jul 29, 2014

fun

We enjoyed the extra activities like popcorn and snowcones

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Senseicorykun
Business
Arlington, TX
Jul 11, 2014

Just a quick stay

Friendly staff and a clean room? Check. Tiny pool full of hyper kids? Beach is steps away. There's a patio, it's small, but a nice touch. It's a bit far to walk to anything of significance other than the beach. I would stay again after trying to find something more unique first, it was about 175 and worth about 100.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go see Baywatch Dolphin tours! It's only $10 an adult, $5 a kid, and we saw LOTS OF DOLPHINS!!!!

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spring Chicks
Business
Allen, TX
Mar 21, 2014

Steal of a Deal!

We were so pleased with our Galveston getaway this week. My daughters (9 & 11) and I stayed ON THE SEAWALL for a great price. The hotel's normal Spring Break rate was $250ish. We got a steal at $120/night. The room was nice. We noticed EVERY room has a great ocean view because of the hotel's design. Most rooms have balconies with chairs as well. It was very clean and the housekeeping staff was on top of their game. One slight drawback was not having access to Disney channels without paying $15 for the daily Disney package. We made it through the evenings with the free Kids channels. Also, our wall unit a/c was a little wonky. It kept the room cold, but made some peculiar noises -the blower/fan part I think. It's not fair to complain too much because we never told the hotel staff. Location is excellent-close to the Rainforest Cafe, IHOP, crosswalk to the beach, Subway, Pizza Hut, gift shop, Galveston Convention Center, etc. You could save a few dollars by stocking up at the Kroger close by and using the microwave and fridge to prepare food. Amenities-my daughters LOVED the arcade - had 10 games I think. The restaurant on site is nice and affordable. My only complaint is that the Kids Club happened to be closed the 2 days we were there during Spring Break (boo!) The on site gift shop was also closed so you couldn't get those last minute sundries without a hike to Krogers. Overall-it was a BLAST! We had fun on the beach and look forward to visiting again this summer-hopefully with more bargain basement rates!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bb glo glo
Business
Houston , California
Jun 18, 2013

weekend get away with Aunt

we had a very nice time the staff was professional very knowledgeable about many questions we had. The doorman Ed was great , so was Vanessa , Skylar was the best . Barbara & Gloria

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
texasgirl1
Business
merkel tx
Nov 5, 2012

fantastic getaway

it was a great experience i love my stay fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

i loved my trip to galveston the hotel was great i would recommend the stay and i will be returning for future stays.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Worn out Mom
Business
Texas
May 24, 2012

Not for small children

My stay at this hotel was so bad that I had to checkout a day early. My room was dirty (hair and gunk in the bathroom, a bottle of bleach left by housekeeping). The location was terrible for us, I had a 3 year old and 6 year old with me. This hotel is in a very busy part of the Seawall, there is no crossing the street to get to the beach (TONS of traffic). You have to walk down the Seawall about 1/4 a mile, cross at a crosswalk, and go down to the beach. Same for getting back to the hotel. Just hard with little kids. Also, this is basically a motel. The rooms have exterior doors in a concrete breezeway. Very Very hot getting in the elevator and to your room and vice versa. I do not normally stay in motels with my kids for safety reasons. Everything is very hard to get to since it's not really a hotel. You have to walk outside around the back parking lot to get anywhere, again not good with little kids. Finally, I had an emergency, my cell phone was stolen and I needed to call home to let them know we were okay. The hotel refused to let me use the phone because I had booked with a travel site and they did not have my credit card on file. They would not help me, would not let me pay for a phone call, even when I said it was an emergency. I headed home that night, but my husband called the hotel looking for us and the front desk refused to help him. He ended up havig to call Galveston police. Nightmare trip for us!! That said it would not be too bad for an adult couple if only the rooms were clean and staff helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top