$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

3 stars
5002 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
sister getaway

Great place to stay will stay again if in area. if taking a cruise not to far from dock. See full review

  • tracy travelerpa
  • Aug 18, 2014
Steal of a Deal!

We were so pleased with our Galveston getaway this week. My daughters (9 & 11) and I stayed ON THE... See full review

  • Spring Chicks
  • Mar 21, 2014
Galveston beach resort with pool and easy access to local attractions

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers guests a prime location in the Gulf Coast. The resort is minutes from local attractions, including Schillterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Lone Star Flight Museum and Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier. Business and leisure travelers find a range of onsite amenities and conveniences, including a large outdoor pool, tennis courts, a fitness center, and meeting rooms. Visitors with kids in tow enjoy an arcade and playground. The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers free parking, as well as onsite dining options.

Reasons to stay
  • Minutes from popular attractions Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens
  • Gulf Coast location, plus an outdoor pool, fitness center and tennis courts
  • Modern conveniences: Free Wi-Fi, meeting space and free parking
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach rooms

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach has 178 rooms. Standard amenities include cable television, wireless Internet access, tea- and coffee-making facilities, as well as in-room safes. Accessible facilities, room service and cribs are available.

Things to do nearby
  • Fort Crockett (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Moody Gardens Galveston Island (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Port of Galveston (2.8 mi/4.5km)
  • Scholes Field (3.4 mi/4.8 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (40.9 mi/65.8 km)
  • Houston, Texas (50.5 mi/81.2 km)
  • Bush International Airport (71.6 mi/115 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.8 mi

Dining

The Jetty Restaurant
The Jetty Restaurant offers a tantalizing array of traditional and not so traditional cusine favorites. From breakfast, to sandwiches and seafood , you'll find something at The Jetty Restaurant you're sure to adore. Of course, for good times and great nig
Landry's Seafood
Just steps from the beach on historic Seawall Boulevard, Landry's Seafood in Galveston features mouthwatering seafood specialties, succulent steaks and panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico. From our comfy, covered outdoor lounge, enjoy an appetizer and
IHOP
Just the name conjures up hot, freshly brewed coffee and huge stacks of buttermilk pancakes, topped with butter and syrup. For Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner there's a world famous restaurant just outside your door.
Rainforest Cafe
The Rainforest Cafe features great food for everyone including a variety of speciality items from seafood, beef and chicken to an assortment of pastas and pizzas. If you're interested in a lighter fare, try one of their unique salads or sandwiches. Also,
The Steakhouse
Galveston Island's premier steakhouse exclusively featuring USDA Prime Midwest Grain Fed Beef, live Maine lobster and an extensive wine list. Voted "Best Steakhouse on the Gulf Coast" by Texas Monthly and selected No. 1 of the "Texas' Top Ten" by Tom Hor
Grotto Ristorante
Inspired by classic Southern Italian cooking, Grotto features delicious veal, chicken, seafood and house made pastas. Grotto's food and breathtaking decor are complemented by beachside views in Galveston Island's premiere resort and hotel, The San Luis Re
B'Jiggers Lounge
For a good time and great nightlife, B. Jigger's Lounge is the perfect place. Enjoy a warm, social atmosphere featuring live entertainment on the weekends and daily happy hour.
The Bar (at The San Luis Resort)
Enjoy an extensive selection of refreshments in a relaxing resort atmosphere. Offering, live entertainment Tuesday-Saturday nights by island favorite, pianist/vocalist Angelo Tolentino.
H2O Bar At The San Luis Resort
H2o offers a sleek modern outdoor ultralounge with contemporary seating areas, roaring firepit, televsions and upbeat music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TBCT
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Scary

I was traveling alone for a business conference and they put me in a room where the door was outside and had to walk around a lot of corners. I was scared every time coming back and forth. I had to take a cold shower which did not get fixed until hours later. The wifi kept going out and I had to call several times for them to fix but I got tired of calling so I could not get any work done. I had to use my cellphone to call to the desk because the room phone did not work. The room was very musty. At checkout I told them my experience was horrible but the manager had excuses and offered me breakfast at noon on the day I was checking out. Why didn't they offer it when I had to keep calling to get everything fixed? She offered a coupon but I still haven't seen it a month later which she said would come in the mail. Poorly run hotel and worst hotel ever. Never coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Worn out Mom
Business
Texas
May 24, 2012

Not for small children

My stay at this hotel was so bad that I had to checkout a day early. My room was dirty (hair and gunk in the bathroom, a bottle of bleach left by housekeeping). The location was terrible for us, I had a 3 year old and 6 year old with me. This hotel is in a very busy part of the Seawall, there is no crossing the street to get to the beach (TONS of traffic). You have to walk down the Seawall about 1/4 a mile, cross at a crosswalk, and go down to the beach. Same for getting back to the hotel. Just hard with little kids. Also, this is basically a motel. The rooms have exterior doors in a concrete breezeway. Very Very hot getting in the elevator and to your room and vice versa. I do not normally stay in motels with my kids for safety reasons. Everything is very hard to get to since it's not really a hotel. You have to walk outside around the back parking lot to get anywhere, again not good with little kids. Finally, I had an emergency, my cell phone was stolen and I needed to call home to let them know we were okay. The hotel refused to let me use the phone because I had booked with a travel site and they did not have my credit card on file. They would not help me, would not let me pay for a phone call, even when I said it was an emergency. I headed home that night, but my husband called the hotel looking for us and the front desk refused to help him. He ended up havig to call Galveston police. Nightmare trip for us!! That said it would not be too bad for an adult couple if only the rooms were clean and staff helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gay K
Business
Houston TX
Oct 15, 2012

Not Gay Friendly

The hotel is beautiful but, while swimming in the bar pool after dark. I was told that I was not allowed to be close to my Wife. but yet they had minors in a hot tub all over each other. Why was that ok but I was yelled at by the staff for kissing my Wife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buda TX
Aug 23, 2010

Disappointing Accommodations

[...] We were told that our room would not be ready till later due to high numbers of people leaving and coming in. When we came back my wife informed them that we were to get a room with a good view and the clerk said well I put you up as high as I could because we have 100 teachers coming in. He then told my wife all rooms had good views. Our good view was on 4th floor right above air condition units on main building. The teacher's money must be better then ours. We generally travel with much less expensive rooms but since we were going on a cruise, we decided to the pay the extra. We basically got a Motel 6 room for three times the amount. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 9, 2007

If you like trash then this is the place for you

I would never stay here agian. The rooms were old and had a dirty feel to them. The pool is a joke if you are unable to bring drinks to the pool then you need to offer drink and food the whole time the pool is open. The pool towel boy acts like he is in the fbi.. For the money you can truly find many places to stay that are much nicer if you like white trash this is the place for you....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evansville, IN
Jun 15, 2009

Holiday Inn Galveston, TX

This property is old and very dated. In fact I stayed there 25yrs ago when it was a nice place. Evidently they have a few terrible rooms that they still try and get top dollar for when business is booming. The only real plus for this hotel anymore is it's proximity to the beach. I definitly WOULD NOT stay here again. There are better and certainly friendlier properties in Galveston, that is where I will spend my money if I ever wind up there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Granny.55
Business
Dallas, Texas
Sep 28, 2012

Needs that Special Something.....

The room was nice, however, our room overlooked the electrical/control room/pool functionality equipment. While we could see the gulf, it wasn't a pretty site. Also, there was only sweet and low in the coffee bar in the room. After 7am or so, coffee was put out near the lobby, however, IT REALLY WASN'T COFFEE; BUT COFFEE FLAVORED WATER IF YOU ASK ME. I had to purchase a real cup of coffee from Starbucks. It wasn't close to the hotel at all. We were in Galveston before taking a cruise. I will not stay there again. I'll try the San Luis next time; or go back to Hilton

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk over to the Hilton or the San Luis.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Porte, TX
Aug 14, 2009

Was Okay

Our third-floor view of the ocean was over the roof, air conditioners, etc, of the one story lobby in front of us. The room was clean and nice enough but the locks were sticky and hard to manipulate, the TV remote had to be replaced, the soft drink machine was empty and there was minimal water pressure. Nothing major - just minor annoyances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We found a wonderful cafe/bakery off the beaten path. Sunflower Cafe and Bakery. Easily affordable and the food was top notch. The bakery was delightful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 8, 2010

Will not go back

Well, our immediate first impression was the hotel is very old and looked a little rundown. Good items: hotel staff was great, very nice; room was clean and looked great; great view of the beachfront; good location to Rainforest Cafe & Ihop. Bad items: beach view was ruined by the a/c units on the roof between the hotel and the beach; you have to cross a very busy Seawall Dr to get to the beach (not good to cross a busy steet with young children); hotel restaurant was in need of repair, service was slow, food was bland. Overall, we will not return if other options are available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Ihop for breakfast, but try to go early (before 9 AM).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
James79
Business
Beaumont, TX, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Not for the money!

Let me start off by saying that I was not impressed. For the price of the room and no continental breakfast, it was too expensive. The room itself was nice, clean, and somewhat quiet. We had some unfortunate things happen during our stay. We requested a crib when making the reservation, even called ahead, still never got a crib...thank goodness we came prepared. The bathroom sink did not drain water, we called down to the front desk to let them know and no one showed up to fix it during our stay. The air conditioning unit in the room above our room leaked water from the ceiling during the night and got all of our clean clothes wet and our luggage. I would recommend walking down the road to the local IHOP for breakfast, we tried the breakfast in the restaurant there in the hotel and it was horrible, the food was extremely expensive and not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top