$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 22, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

3 stars
5002 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
sister getaway

Great place to stay will stay again if in area. if taking a cruise not to far from dock. See full review

  • tracy travelerpa
  • Aug 18, 2014
Steal of a Deal!

We were so pleased with our Galveston getaway this week. My daughters (9 & 11) and I stayed ON THE... See full review

  • Spring Chicks
  • Mar 21, 2014
Galveston beach resort with pool and easy access to local attractions

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers guests a prime location in the Gulf Coast. The resort is minutes from local attractions, including Schillterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Lone Star Flight Museum and Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier. Business and leisure travelers find a range of onsite amenities and conveniences, including a large outdoor pool, tennis courts, a fitness center, and meeting rooms. Visitors with kids in tow enjoy an arcade and playground. The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers free parking, as well as onsite dining options.

Reasons to stay
  • Minutes from popular attractions Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens
  • Gulf Coast location, plus an outdoor pool, fitness center and tennis courts
  • Modern conveniences: Free Wi-Fi, meeting space and free parking
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach rooms

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach has 178 rooms. Standard amenities include cable television, wireless Internet access, tea- and coffee-making facilities, as well as in-room safes. Accessible facilities, room service and cribs are available.

Things to do nearby
  • Fort Crockett (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Moody Gardens Galveston Island (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Port of Galveston (2.8 mi/4.5km)
  • Scholes Field (3.4 mi/4.8 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (40.9 mi/65.8 km)
  • Houston, Texas (50.5 mi/81.2 km)
  • Bush International Airport (71.6 mi/115 km)

Hotel Map

29.2728 -94.8166
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 40.00, MI; Scholes Field, (GLS), 3.00, MI; Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 70.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.8 mi

Dining

The Jetty Restaurant
The Jetty Restaurant offers a tantalizing array of traditional and not so traditional cusine favorites. From breakfast, to sandwiches and seafood , you'll find something at The Jetty Restaurant you're sure to adore. Of course, for good times and great nig
Landry's Seafood House (at The San Luis)
Drop anchor at Landry's and enjoy irresistible appetizers, fresh assorted soups and salads, and delectable seafood specialties in a comfortable and casual setting overlooking the Gulf of Mexico.
International House of Pancakes
Just the name conjures up hot, freshly brewed coffee and huge stacks of buttermilk pancakes, topped with butter and syrup. For Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner there's a world famous restaurant just outside your door.
Rainforest Cafe
The Rainforest Cafe features great food for everyone including a variety of speciality items from seafood, beef and chicken to an assortment of pastas and pizzas. If you're interested in a lighter fare, try one of their unique salads or sandwiches. Also,
The Steakhouse (at The San Luis)
Galveston Island's premier steakhouse exclusively featuring USDA Prime Midwest Grain Fed Beef for Chicago IL., live Maine lobster and an extensive wine list. Voted "Best Steakhouse on the Gulf Coast" by Texas Monthly and Selected No. 2 of the "Texas' Top
The Cafe
From the start of your day to the end. The Cafe features casual dining with just a little different flair, and a menu that goes beyond your expectations. Meet up at The Cafe!
B'Jiggers Lounge
For a good time and great nightlife, B. Jigger's Lounge is the perfect place. Enjoy a warm, social atmosphere featuring live entertainment on the weekends and daily happy hour.
The Bar (at The San Luis Resort)
Enjoy an extensive selection of refreshments in a relaxing resort atmosphere. Offering, live entertainment Tuesday-Saturday nights by island favorite, pianist/vocalist Angelo Tolentino.
H2O Bar At The San Luis Resort
H2o offers a sleek modern outdoor ultralounge with contemporary seating areas, roaring firepit, televsions and upbeat music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Advance missouri
Jun 19, 2011

Awesome family vacation!!

It was a great hotel and the view was great from our room! Would love to come back and stay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Feb 1, 2010

Winter Getaway

We checked in late but upon arrival I requested an upper room and they accommodated me. There was a bar/club next to the lobby area which was jamming pretty good. Once we got to the room we noticed it was very cold. The reason for it was there was a big gap at the bottom of the front door. We had to keep something there to keep the room warm. But the heater was excellent once it got to cranking. The view was great. I slept the whole time. My vehicle was visuable the whole time. No problem with security. The room was spotless and very homely. Well come back during the summer before hurricane season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was the Landry's Seafood and Rainforest Cafe just walking distance from the hotel. The beach was across the street from the hotel as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ab Badre
Dallas Texas
Aug 16, 2009

excellent

Great service, friendly treatment, wireless internet, close to all activity, excellent room, superb forieghn student program ( from Romania, Ukrain ) what a wonderful service. Thank you every one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 16, 2008

family friendly

Holiday inn resort was very comfortable,the room was clean and the staff very accodimating. The balcony was the icing on the cake..great view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The rain tree restaurant was a short walk away.Great atmosophere for the kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spring Chicks
Allen, TX
Mar 21, 2014

Steal of a Deal!

We were so pleased with our Galveston getaway this week. My daughters (9 & 11) and I stayed ON THE SEAWALL for a great price. The hotel's normal Spring Break rate was $250ish. We got a steal at $120/night. The room was nice. We noticed EVERY room has a great ocean view because of the hotel's design. Most rooms have balconies with chairs as well. It was very clean and the housekeeping staff was on top of their game. One slight drawback was not having access to Disney channels without paying $15 for the daily Disney package. We made it through the evenings with the free Kids channels. Also, our wall unit a/c was a little wonky. It kept the room cold, but made some peculiar noises -the blower/fan part I think. It's not fair to complain too much because we never told the hotel staff. Location is excellent-close to the Rainforest Cafe, IHOP, crosswalk to the beach, Subway, Pizza Hut, gift shop, Galveston Convention Center, etc. You could save a few dollars by stocking up at the Kroger close by and using the microwave and fridge to prepare food. Amenities-my daughters LOVED the arcade - had 10 games I think. The restaurant on site is nice and affordable. My only complaint is that the Kids Club happened to be closed the 2 days we were there during Spring Break (boo!) The on site gift shop was also closed so you couldn't get those last minute sundries without a hike to Krogers. Overall-it was a BLAST! We had fun on the beach and look forward to visiting again this summer-hopefully with more bargain basement rates!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stafford, TX
Jul 17, 2008

very family friendly.

The Holiday Inn resort was very clean and comfortable. what i enjoyed the most was the view of the gulf and the proximity to dinning areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the rain forest restaurant was just a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tomball, TX
Jul 29, 2008

Kids Stay and Eat Free

We were very pleased with this hotel. The location could not have been better and what a nice view from the 5th floor. It was also very nicely decorated and clean. Cleanliness is very important to me and for my kids. We were also thrilled to find out that the kids stay was free and that they ate free in the restaurant. That was a huge plus. The weekend breakfast buffet was very good...we all enjoyed it. It was also very convenient to have a fridge and a microwave in the room. We never really heard any noise either from the pool, road or the walkway once we were in our room...another plus for a good nights sleep. We will definitely consider this hotel when visiting Galveston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a short drive or walk from great beaches and restaurants and other things that we wanted to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BIG WHITE
NORTH RICHLAND HILLS TX
Nov 23, 2010

HOILDAY INN RESORT ON HE BEACH

ITS WAS THE BEST STAY EVER IN GALVESTON EVERYBODY WAS SO NICE THEY MADE OUR STAY A PLEASURE WILL STAY THERE EVERY TIME WE GO TO GALVESTON THE HOLIDAY INN RESORT ON THE BEACH WAS THE BOMB ,AWESOME PLEASE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

GO AND CHECK IT OUT IT WAS THE BOMB

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2BDBQB
Cincinnati, OH
May 7, 2012

Very Pleased

Great stay. We are definitely glad we picked this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, La
Jun 20, 2011

great place!

This is a great hotel for family as it really caters toward families and children with lots of children activities and since it right across a the street from the beach it was easy for us to go to the beach for a little bit and then head back to the pool. We differently will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rainforest Cafe and Landry's is a short walk up the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top