$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

3 stars
View map of 5002 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ab Badre
Couples
Dallas Texas
Aug 16, 2009

excellent

Great service, friendly treatment, wireless internet, close to all activity, excellent room, superb forieghn student program ( from Romania, Ukrain ) what a wonderful service. Thank you every one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
La Porte, TX
Aug 14, 2009

Was Okay

Our third-floor view of the ocean was over the roof, air conditioners, etc, of the one story lobby in front of us. The room was clean and nice enough but the locks were sticky and hard to manipulate, the TV remote had to be replaced, the soft drink machine was empty and there was minimal water pressure. Nothing major - just minor annoyances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We found a wonderful cafe/bakery off the beaten path. Sunflower Cafe and Bakery. Easily affordable and the food was top notch. The bakery was delightful.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2Mom
Family
Texas
Jul 31, 2009

Galveston Trip

The hotel was at a great location. Room was a little small but all and all it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Hughes Springs, Tx.
Jul 30, 2009

Unsure why they call it a resort

Room was just ok. Cleanliness was very adequate. Beds were extremely comfortable. Liked the size of the refrigerator. But wasn't pleased with location of room. Off parking lot in front and back. We were awakened multiple times by doors slamming, could hear loud music from the club on one night. Other room not available for change. Staff was very nice and gave good service. Food in restuarant was very good-breakfast buffet was only meal eaten there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElysePal
Family
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 19, 2009

Great Stay!

Every room in the hotel has a balcony with an ocean view which was beautiful! The location was great, right in the middle of wonderful restaurants and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of getting breakfast in the hotel restaurant (which was overpriced and not great) we walked 2 doors down to the IHOP which never fails to be good. We went about 8:30 and it was not crowded at all, but when we left at 9:30 there were tons of people waiting, so get in early! The historic Star Drug Store downtown is also the cutest, best diner to eat breakfast or lunch!

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Spring,Tx
Jul 12, 2009

Great Location

Very family friendly and great location. The food wasnt great and it was a little expensive but other than that it was a great overall experience for me and my family. We will definitely be going back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Kingwood, Texas
Jul 11, 2009

Good Stay at the Beach

We enjoyed being able to walk across the steet to the beach and enjoy the cool breeze blowing in from the Gulf on a warm summer evening. Glaveston is essentially back, with most repairs completed. The room was fine, window A/C worked good, pool was nice for the kids, with some shade even during the hot day. Small refrigerator worked fine, as did the TV with free HBO. View of ocean was good, even on 2nd Floor Restaurants close by - IHOP just one block west.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach had good sand and was right across the street. There are no hotels on the beach, so this is the closest location available. It would be nice to have a traffic light for crossing, but we got across the main street without injury.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
East Texas
Jul 9, 2009

Nice place

Very pleasant. Accross from public beach. My family loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Landry's 0.2 miles. 4 minute walk!

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lovelady, Texas
Jul 8, 2009

Hotel Stay

This was the first time we stayed at this hotel and the hotel was very nice. The only difficulties we had were the check-in took forever. We know check-in time says 4 pm, but we were there at 12:30, went to the hotel and they told us our room would be ready in 1-1/2 to 2 hours, we went back they said another hour, at 4 o'clock our room still wasn't ready so a manager put us in another room. The first day there the only ice machine that worked was on the 4th floor, we were on the 5th. They were all working the next day though. Other than the check-in and ice machine the first day everything was great. The room was just like the pictures showed and the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gyro&pat
Couples
Beaumont,TX
Jun 30, 2009

"Fantastic Getawaway with a Gulfview

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston on the beach proved to be a better than expected hotel stay for the wife and I.We spent (2) wonderful nights here at the holiday Inn-resort,the room we had was on the 6th floor with a beautiful view of the gulf.The room#603 was very quiet and the bed provided us with more comfort than we had expected.We would definetly recommend taking the duck tour of the Island,The rainforest cafe on the seawall,and the best steak to be found on the Island was at Di Bella's at 31st& ave p.There is a lot to do here,and we plan to make Holiday Inn-Resort our preferred place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top