$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

3 stars
5002 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
sister getaway

Great place to stay will stay again if in area. if taking a cruise not to far from dock. See full review

  • tracy travelerpa
  • Aug 18, 2014
Steal of a Deal!

We were so pleased with our Galveston getaway this week. My daughters (9 & 11) and I stayed ON THE... See full review

  • Spring Chicks
  • Mar 21, 2014
Galveston beach resort with pool and easy access to local attractions

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers guests a prime location in the Gulf Coast. The resort is minutes from local attractions, including Schillterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Lone Star Flight Museum and Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier. Business and leisure travelers find a range of onsite amenities and conveniences, including a large outdoor pool, tennis courts, a fitness center, and meeting rooms. Visitors with kids in tow enjoy an arcade and playground. The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers free parking, as well as onsite dining options.

Reasons to stay
  • Minutes from popular attractions Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens
  • Gulf Coast location, plus an outdoor pool, fitness center and tennis courts
  • Modern conveniences: Free Wi-Fi, meeting space and free parking
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach rooms

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach has 178 rooms. Standard amenities include cable television, wireless Internet access, tea- and coffee-making facilities, as well as in-room safes. Accessible facilities, room service and cribs are available.

Things to do nearby
  • Fort Crockett (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Moody Gardens Galveston Island (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Port of Galveston (2.8 mi/4.5km)
  • Scholes Field (3.4 mi/4.8 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (40.9 mi/65.8 km)
  • Houston, Texas (50.5 mi/81.2 km)
  • Bush International Airport (71.6 mi/115 km)

Hotel Map

29.2728 -94.8166
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 40.00, MI; Scholes Field, (GLS), 3.00, MI; Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 70.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.8 mi

Dining

The Jetty Restaurant
The Jetty Restaurant offers a tantalizing array of traditional and not so traditional cusine favorites. From breakfast, to sandwiches and seafood , you'll find something at The Jetty Restaurant you're sure to adore. Of course, for good times and great nig
Landry's Seafood House (at The San Luis)
Drop anchor at Landry's and enjoy irresistible appetizers, fresh assorted soups and salads, and delectable seafood specialties in a comfortable and casual setting overlooking the Gulf of Mexico.
International House of Pancakes
Just the name conjures up hot, freshly brewed coffee and huge stacks of buttermilk pancakes, topped with butter and syrup. For Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner there's a world famous restaurant just outside your door.
Rainforest Cafe
The Rainforest Cafe features great food for everyone including a variety of speciality items from seafood, beef and chicken to an assortment of pastas and pizzas. If you're interested in a lighter fare, try one of their unique salads or sandwiches. Also,
The Steakhouse (at The San Luis)
Galveston Island's premier steakhouse exclusively featuring USDA Prime Midwest Grain Fed Beef for Chicago IL., live Maine lobster and an extensive wine list. Voted "Best Steakhouse on the Gulf Coast" by Texas Monthly and Selected No. 2 of the "Texas' Top
The Cafe
From the start of your day to the end. The Cafe features casual dining with just a little different flair, and a menu that goes beyond your expectations. Meet up at The Cafe!
B'Jiggers Lounge
For a good time and great nightlife, B'Jigger's Lounge is the perfect palce. Enjoy a warm, social atmosphere featuring live entertainment on the weekends.
The Bar (at The San Luis Resort)
Enjoy an extensive selection of refreshments in a relaxing resort atmosphere. Offering, live entertainment Tuesday-Saturday nights by island favorite, pianist/vocalist Angelo Tolentino.
H2O Bar At The San Luis Resort
H2O offers a sleek modern outdoor ultralounge with contemporary seating areas, fire pit, High Def televsion and upbeat music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Texas
Jun 19, 2010

Great Family Getaway

The room was good and the swimming pool was really good size. The whole floor was not vacuumed while we were there, there was a beer bottle cap under the desk when we got there and still there when we left (wanted to see if they would pick it up). We did not drink so it was not ours. On Thursday we came back in after the day out and the room was still not cleaned. We finally called at 5pm and they came and cleaned. Noticed the lady who cleaned the room did not remove the used glasses and cups but just washed the ones we used in the bathroom and put new paper coaster on them and put them back on the trays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston Texas
Jun 13, 2010

Great Location

Great Hotel, we went to the beach,swam at the hotel pool, and dined. The cable reception was the only bad thing. Everything else was Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

great Breakfast Buffet!

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central Texas
Jun 7, 2010

Nice hotel, great location

Hotel was pretty nice. The location was desirable as it was right on Seawall and directly across from the beach. The pool was nice, however there were a ton of children-fairly noisy. The restaurant was very affordable and had a good breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant was delicious and the breakfast buffet was only $9.99

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
North Texan
Ft Worth, Tx
May 27, 2010

2nd timer at this hotel

If at all possible get the newly remodeled rooms. Holiday Inn has done a great job with these. Close to a couple restaurants, also one at the hotel. Cross the boulevard to get on the beach. Good value for the money. I will be back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy Dad
Houston, TX
May 24, 2010

The Friendliest Hotel

The staff was great and friendly. We had no problems while we stayed there. It is an older hotel but the staff makes it so comfortable. The pool was so toddler friendly too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
May 24, 2010

Great Spot

Good spot on the seawall. They played a kid's movie at pool on big screen Saturday night! It was fun to sit in the pool and watch the movie with the kids. Good pool. Only bummer was no free breakfast; buffet was $12 for adults - I went elsewhere. I'll go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Gaido's was disappointing; had a great lunch at Fisherman's Wharf.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
galveston
Feb 15, 2010

good view poor services

the service was poorly and the rooms were a mess when we got there to check in n if i recalled ive booked a king bed got two queen beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Feb 1, 2010

Winter Getaway

We checked in late but upon arrival I requested an upper room and they accommodated me. There was a bar/club next to the lobby area which was jamming pretty good. Once we got to the room we noticed it was very cold. The reason for it was there was a big gap at the bottom of the front door. We had to keep something there to keep the room warm. But the heater was excellent once it got to cranking. The view was great. I slept the whole time. My vehicle was visuable the whole time. No problem with security. The room was spotless and very homely. Well come back during the summer before hurricane season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was the Landry's Seafood and Rainforest Cafe just walking distance from the hotel. The beach was across the street from the hotel as well.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Superman's other half
North Oklahoma
Dec 6, 2009

Hotel great, Don't slip in tub

The hotel was nice, The rooms were clean and the view is wonderful. We were put in handi-caped room. Not a problem but my daughter fell in the tub and we had to call 911, which was not easy, The phone was messed up. To call the desk you dial one thing the phone says another, same for outside line. Needless to say my daughter is doing okay, She ended up with a concussion and pulled the muscles in her shoulder and neck. This happened Nov 8th. The hotel is having a problem with paying for her hospital bill. That is all I was after, The lady at the main office I talked to was rude,however the staff was great during this fall. The tub had had anti slip things built into it years ago but they had worn off and were not replaced. I would stay again but I will bring my own non-slip matt. The hotel is great for people going on cruises. The free parking and shuttle make it nice. Just be careful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rainforest Cafe is not far from Hotel, Neat place. I didn't have any kids with me (My daughter is grown)however, I you have kids I highly recomend the Rainforest.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Claremore,OK
Sep 14, 2009

Right across the street to the beach!

All rooms had a balcony which was great! Wonderful to just go outside and watch the ocean and people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search