$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

3 stars
View map of 5002 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
sister getaway

Great place to stay will stay again if in area. if taking a cruise not to far from dock. See full review

  • tracy travelerpa
  • Aug 18, 2014
Steal of a Deal!

We were so pleased with our Galveston getaway this week. My daughters (9 & 11) and I stayed ON THE... See full review

  • Spring Chicks
  • Mar 21, 2014
Galveston beach resort with pool and easy access to local attractions

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers guests a prime location in the Gulf Coast. The resort is minutes from local attractions, including Schillterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Lone Star Flight Museum and Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier. Business and leisure travelers find a range of onsite amenities and conveniences, including a large outdoor pool, tennis courts, a fitness center, and meeting rooms. Visitors with kids in tow enjoy an arcade and playground. The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers free parking, as well as onsite dining options.

Reasons to stay
  • Minutes from popular attractions Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens
  • Gulf Coast location, plus an outdoor pool, fitness center and tennis courts
  • Modern conveniences: Free Wi-Fi, meeting space and free parking
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach rooms

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach has 178 rooms. Standard amenities include cable television, wireless Internet access, tea- and coffee-making facilities, as well as in-room safes. Accessible facilities, room service and cribs are available.

Things to do nearby
  • Fort Crockett (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Moody Gardens Galveston Island (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Port of Galveston (2.8 mi/4.5km)
  • Scholes Field (3.4 mi/4.8 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (40.9 mi/65.8 km)
  • Houston, Texas (50.5 mi/81.2 km)
  • Bush International Airport (71.6 mi/115 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.8 mi

Dining

The Jetty Restaurant
The Jetty Restaurant offers a tantalizing array of traditional and not so traditional cusine favorites. From breakfast, to sandwiches and seafood , you'll find something at The Jetty Restaurant you're sure to adore. Of course, for good times and great nig
Landry's Seafood
Just steps from the beach on historic Seawall Boulevard, Landry's Seafood in Galveston features mouthwatering seafood specialties, succulent steaks and panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico. From our comfy, covered outdoor lounge, enjoy an appetizer and
IHOP
Just the name conjures up hot, freshly brewed coffee and huge stacks of buttermilk pancakes, topped with butter and syrup. For Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner there's a world famous restaurant just outside your door.
Rainforest Cafe
Rainforest Cafe features great food for everyone including a variety of specialty items from seafood, beef and chicken to an assortment of pastas and pizzas. For a lighter fare, try one of their unique salads or sandwiches. Also, offering an award winning
The Steakhouse
Galveston Island's premier steakhouse exclusively featuring USDA Prime Midwest Grain Fed Beef, live Maine lobster and an extensive wine list. Voted "Best Steakhouse on the Gulf Coast" by Texas Monthly and selected No. 1 of the "Texas' Top Ten" by Tom Hor
Grotto Ristorante
Inspired by classic Southern Italian cooking, Grotto features delicious veal, chicken, seafood and house made pastas. Grotto's food and breathtaking decor are complemented by beachside views in Galveston Island's premiere resort and hotel, The San Luis Re
B'Jiggers Lounge
For a good time and great nightlife, B. Jigger's Lounge is the perfect place. Enjoy a warm, social atmosphere featuring live entertainment on the weekends and daily happy hour.
The Bar (at The San Luis Resort)
Enjoy an extensive selection of refreshments in a relaxing resort atmosphere. Offering, live entertainment Tuesday-Saturday nights by island favorite, pianist/vocalist Angelo Tolentino.
H2O Bar At The San Luis Resort
H2o offers a sleek modern outdoor ultralounge with contemporary seating areas, roaring firepit, televsions and upbeat music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SUJag
Business
LA
Aug 27, 2011

Honeymoon

Hotel employees were vey nice. A complimentary fruit tray and water was sent to the room because it was our honeymoon. The ocean view we paid extra for wasn't that great, simply because the view was mainly a view of the top of the restauarant air conditioning units with some ocean. Overall staff was great, good dining kids ate free, average hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, La
Jun 20, 2011

great place!

This is a great hotel for family as it really caters toward families and children with lots of children activities and since it right across a the street from the beach it was easy for us to go to the beach for a little bit and then head back to the pool. We differently will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rainforest Cafe and Landry's is a short walk up the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Advance missouri
Jun 19, 2011

Awesome family vacation!!

It was a great hotel and the view was great from our room! Would love to come back and stay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mandeville, LA
Jun 15, 2011

Nice rooms

We spent one night prior to a cruise out of Galveston. The room was nice, beds were great. Breakfast was nice. Pool was dirty from the day's use and no one tended to it. On the morning of our departure, the pool was clean. Probably would stay there again if need be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Woodlands, tx
Apr 18, 2011

Nice Rooms, Great Location. but...

Hotel staff was the only negative. There was some confussion at check in [...] It took 3 people to figure out what ever issue they thought they had. Some one else's credit card was attached to my account. I had to get them to change that. They were friendlly, but not real knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Including breakfast with the room was a great timesaver and money saver. The buffett was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toffy575
Business
Austin, TX
Apr 16, 2011

Galveston Hotel on the beach

The hotel is nice in front of the beach, a great location. We have got some noise the last night (friday to saturday) coming from the swimming pool, no big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
krbob
Business
Fruendswood
Nov 23, 2010

Good

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BIG WHITE
Business
NORTH RICHLAND HILLS TX
Nov 23, 2010

HOILDAY INN RESORT ON HE BEACH

ITS WAS THE BEST STAY EVER IN GALVESTON EVERYBODY WAS SO NICE THEY MADE OUR STAY A PLEASURE WILL STAY THERE EVERY TIME WE GO TO GALVESTON THE HOLIDAY INN RESORT ON THE BEACH WAS THE BOMB ,AWESOME PLEASE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

GO AND CHECK IT OUT IT WAS THE BOMB

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Longview, Texas
Oct 13, 2010

Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ONtheBEACH

Balcony with excellent view of gulf!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best seafood resturants close at 9:00 p.m. on off-season week-nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buda TX
Aug 23, 2010

Disappointing Accommodations

[...] We were told that our room would not be ready till later due to high numbers of people leaving and coming in. When we came back my wife informed them that we were to get a room with a good view and the clerk said well I put you up as high as I could because we have 100 teachers coming in. He then told my wife all rooms had good views. Our good view was on 4th floor right above air condition units on main building. The teacher's money must be better then ours. We generally travel with much less expensive rooms but since we were going on a cruise, we decided to the pay the extra. We basically got a Motel 6 room for three times the amount. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top