$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

3 stars
View map of 5002 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
janeo number two
Business
deer park, tx.
Aug 12, 2012

escape

Absolutely wonderful!!! The food was better than ever!!! And very well priced... We've stayed next door a few times, and The Holiday Inn is by far better!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

fantastic!

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Worn out Mom
Business
Texas
May 24, 2012

Not for small children

My stay at this hotel was so bad that I had to checkout a day early. My room was dirty (hair and gunk in the bathroom, a bottle of bleach left by housekeeping). The location was terrible for us, I had a 3 year old and 6 year old with me. This hotel is in a very busy part of the Seawall, there is no crossing the street to get to the beach (TONS of traffic). You have to walk down the Seawall about 1/4 a mile, cross at a crosswalk, and go down to the beach. Same for getting back to the hotel. Just hard with little kids. Also, this is basically a motel. The rooms have exterior doors in a concrete breezeway. Very Very hot getting in the elevator and to your room and vice versa. I do not normally stay in motels with my kids for safety reasons. Everything is very hard to get to since it's not really a hotel. You have to walk outside around the back parking lot to get anywhere, again not good with little kids. Finally, I had an emergency, my cell phone was stolen and I needed to call home to let them know we were okay. The hotel refused to let me use the phone because I had booked with a travel site and they did not have my credit card on file. They would not help me, would not let me pay for a phone call, even when I said it was an emergency. I headed home that night, but my husband called the hotel looking for us and the front desk refused to help him. He ended up havig to call Galveston police. Nightmare trip for us!! That said it would not be too bad for an adult couple if only the rooms were clean and staff helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa on the beach
Business
Alba, TX
May 23, 2012

Wonderful Wonderful

When you book something online site unseen, you often wonder if the rooms are going to look anything like the web site...We were so happy and pleased with the outcome of the room, hotel, staff. All were above any expectations we had. Location is right across from the beach and a jetty if you want to fish. Food at the hotel was very good. Pool was very clean and they even had a movie screen set up by the pool for families who wanted to watch a movie. They have a bus or the green machine to take you places if you don't want to drive your car. Overall, this was the best trip we have ever had while staying in our home state of Texas. Pack the family up and go....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
veroruiz
Business
houston tx
May 15, 2012

my mothers day stay

when we checked in for our mothers day getaway the staff was very helpful and greeted us as we all walked to the lobby and the front desk clerk mike upgraded my room to the excectivite suite with a ocean view it was free of charged i loved it and gave me a package of treats and informed me about what places to checked out while we were in galveston and then one of the staff zack help us with our bags to my room my mom and my little girl loved it as we both were relaxing i rate this place top choice #1

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we loved the resturant in the lobby food was good and we did our shoppin by the seawall

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2BDBQB
Business
Cincinnati, OH
May 7, 2012

Very Pleased

Great stay. We are definitely glad we picked this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joynthemorning
Business
Spring, TX
Apr 2, 2012

Killer location for a vacation in Galveston!

How I love a Holiday Inn bed. I'm particular about my sleeping because I get so tired on a strange bed. Holiday Inn has the most comfortable beds.... with a variety of pillow choices. It always guarantees a great night's sleep. But this Holiday Inn was right across the street (Seawall Blvd) from the beach. We sat on our balcony and watched the surf crash in the morning while we drank fresh coffee from our coffee maker in the room. What a way to wake up!! The staff were considerate, kind, helpful in every way. We really loved this hotel and our stay there. The day of checkout we had a problem with one of our party who caused some damage in the room. We were mortified. After approaching the management to pay for any damage, the manager was utterly gracious, made the settlement so easy for us, and warmly invited us back. It was a vacation from h!eaven. We'll be back soon and can't wait

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best crab legs on the seawall is Joe's Crab Shack. but they have a huge patio for watching the surf while you eat. For higher quality dining of seafood, go to Harborside...Fisherman's Wharf.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TBCT
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Scary

I was traveling alone for a business conference and they put me in a room where the door was outside and had to walk around a lot of corners. I was scared every time coming back and forth. I had to take a cold shower which did not get fixed until hours later. The wifi kept going out and I had to call several times for them to fix but I got tired of calling so I could not get any work done. I had to use my cellphone to call to the desk because the room phone did not work. The room was very musty. At checkout I told them my experience was horrible but the manager had excuses and offered me breakfast at noon on the day I was checking out. Why didn't they offer it when I had to keep calling to get everything fixed? She offered a coupon but I still haven't seen it a month later which she said would come in the mail. Poorly run hotel and worst hotel ever. Never coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gammabev
Business
Texas
Feb 23, 2012

GREAT ANNIVERSARY WEEKEND

We were given an upgrade, top floor and ocean view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Our anniversary dinner at Hotel Galvez was 5 star, other fun places The Spot, Casey's are near hotel, along with Ben and jerry ice cream. We just had a grand time everywhere we went. Down on the Strand has great shops and places to eat.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tradeshow travel
Business
Texas
Feb 6, 2012

Fabulous business escape

Our expectations were very much exceeded by this hotel. Our one "quirk" was that the rooms open out doors and the hallways were slippery due to rain. Once the door to our room opened and we were inside, the cares of the world slipped away. Wonderful beds, great room, very quiet, beautiful view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happyn1234
Business
Springfield, MO, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Good value

The hotel staff was very nice and friendly. The hotel room was clean. And we were aloud to leave our car there while we was on our cruise ship for free. Witch saved me $70.00 bucks. And made the cost of the hotel room much more bearable. But don't eat at the hotel restaurant it's to expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are going on a cruise it is complimentary to leave your car at the hotel for free. And they will shuttle you to and from the cruise ship terminal.

Back to menu Return to top