$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

3 stars
5002 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
sister getaway

Great place to stay will stay again if in area. if taking a cruise not to far from dock. See full review

  • tracy travelerpa
  • Aug 18, 2014
Steal of a Deal!

We were so pleased with our Galveston getaway this week. My daughters (9 & 11) and I stayed ON THE... See full review

  • Spring Chicks
  • Mar 21, 2014
Galveston beach resort with pool and easy access to local attractions

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers guests a prime location in the Gulf Coast. The resort is minutes from local attractions, including Schillterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Lone Star Flight Museum and Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier. Business and leisure travelers find a range of onsite amenities and conveniences, including a large outdoor pool, tennis courts, a fitness center, and meeting rooms. Visitors with kids in tow enjoy an arcade and playground. The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers free parking, as well as onsite dining options.

Reasons to stay
  • Minutes from popular attractions Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens
  • Gulf Coast location, plus an outdoor pool, fitness center and tennis courts
  • Modern conveniences: Free Wi-Fi, meeting space and free parking
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach rooms

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach has 178 rooms. Standard amenities include cable television, wireless Internet access, tea- and coffee-making facilities, as well as in-room safes. Accessible facilities, room service and cribs are available.

Things to do nearby
  • Fort Crockett (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Moody Gardens Galveston Island (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Port of Galveston (2.8 mi/4.5km)
  • Scholes Field (3.4 mi/4.8 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (40.9 mi/65.8 km)
  • Houston, Texas (50.5 mi/81.2 km)
  • Bush International Airport (71.6 mi/115 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.8 mi

Dining

The Jetty Restaurant
The Jetty Restaurant offers a tantalizing array of traditional and not so traditional cusine favorites. From breakfast, to sandwiches and seafood , you'll find something at The Jetty Restaurant you're sure to adore. Of course, for good times and great nig
Landry's Seafood
Just steps from the beach on historic Seawall Boulevard, Landry's Seafood in Galveston features mouthwatering seafood specialties, succulent steaks and panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico. From our comfy, covered outdoor lounge, enjoy an appetizer and
IHOP
Just the name conjures up hot, freshly brewed coffee and huge stacks of buttermilk pancakes, topped with butter and syrup. For Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner there's a world famous restaurant just outside your door.
Rainforest Cafe
The Rainforest Cafe features great food for everyone including a variety of speciality items from seafood, beef and chicken to an assortment of pastas and pizzas. If you're interested in a lighter fare, try one of their unique salads or sandwiches. Also,
The Steakhouse
Galveston Island's premier steakhouse exclusively featuring USDA Prime Midwest Grain Fed Beef, live Maine lobster and an extensive wine list. Voted "Best Steakhouse on the Gulf Coast" by Texas Monthly and selected No. 1 of the "Texas' Top Ten" by Tom Hor
Grotto Ristorante
Inspired by classic Southern Italian cooking, Grotto features delicious veal, chicken, seafood and house made pastas. Grotto's food and breathtaking decor are complemented by beachside views in Galveston Island's premiere resort and hotel, The San Luis Re
B'Jiggers Lounge
For a good time and great nightlife, B. Jigger's Lounge is the perfect place. Enjoy a warm, social atmosphere featuring live entertainment on the weekends and daily happy hour.
The Bar (at The San Luis Resort)
Enjoy an extensive selection of refreshments in a relaxing resort atmosphere. Offering, live entertainment Tuesday-Saturday nights by island favorite, pianist/vocalist Angelo Tolentino.
H2O Bar At The San Luis Resort
H2o offers a sleek modern outdoor ultralounge with contemporary seating areas, roaring firepit, televsions and upbeat music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2BDBQB
Business
Cincinnati, OH
May 7, 2012

Very Pleased

Great stay. We are definitely glad we picked this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joynthemorning
Business
Spring, TX
Apr 2, 2012

Killer location for a vacation in Galveston!

How I love a Holiday Inn bed. I'm particular about my sleeping because I get so tired on a strange bed. Holiday Inn has the most comfortable beds.... with a variety of pillow choices. It always guarantees a great night's sleep. But this Holiday Inn was right across the street (Seawall Blvd) from the beach. We sat on our balcony and watched the surf crash in the morning while we drank fresh coffee from our coffee maker in the room. What a way to wake up!! The staff were considerate, kind, helpful in every way. We really loved this hotel and our stay there. The day of checkout we had a problem with one of our party who caused some damage in the room. We were mortified. After approaching the management to pay for any damage, the manager was utterly gracious, made the settlement so easy for us, and warmly invited us back. It was a vacation from h!eaven. We'll be back soon and can't wait

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best crab legs on the seawall is Joe's Crab Shack. but they have a huge patio for watching the surf while you eat. For higher quality dining of seafood, go to Harborside...Fisherman's Wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TBCT
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Scary

I was traveling alone for a business conference and they put me in a room where the door was outside and had to walk around a lot of corners. I was scared every time coming back and forth. I had to take a cold shower which did not get fixed until hours later. The wifi kept going out and I had to call several times for them to fix but I got tired of calling so I could not get any work done. I had to use my cellphone to call to the desk because the room phone did not work. The room was very musty. At checkout I told them my experience was horrible but the manager had excuses and offered me breakfast at noon on the day I was checking out. Why didn't they offer it when I had to keep calling to get everything fixed? She offered a coupon but I still haven't seen it a month later which she said would come in the mail. Poorly run hotel and worst hotel ever. Never coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gammabev
Business
Texas
Feb 23, 2012

GREAT ANNIVERSARY WEEKEND

We were given an upgrade, top floor and ocean view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Our anniversary dinner at Hotel Galvez was 5 star, other fun places The Spot, Casey's are near hotel, along with Ben and jerry ice cream. We just had a grand time everywhere we went. Down on the Strand has great shops and places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tradeshow travel
Business
Texas
Feb 6, 2012

Fabulous business escape

Our expectations were very much exceeded by this hotel. Our one "quirk" was that the rooms open out doors and the hallways were slippery due to rain. Once the door to our room opened and we were inside, the cares of the world slipped away. Wonderful beds, great room, very quiet, beautiful view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happyn1234
Business
Springfield, MO, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Good value

The hotel staff was very nice and friendly. The hotel room was clean. And we were aloud to leave our car there while we was on our cruise ship for free. Witch saved me $70.00 bucks. And made the cost of the hotel room much more bearable. But don't eat at the hotel restaurant it's to expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are going on a cruise it is complimentary to leave your car at the hotel for free. And they will shuttle you to and from the cruise ship terminal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
James79
Business
Beaumont, TX, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Not for the money!

Let me start off by saying that I was not impressed. For the price of the room and no continental breakfast, it was too expensive. The room itself was nice, clean, and somewhat quiet. We had some unfortunate things happen during our stay. We requested a crib when making the reservation, even called ahead, still never got a crib...thank goodness we came prepared. The bathroom sink did not drain water, we called down to the front desk to let them know and no one showed up to fix it during our stay. The air conditioning unit in the room above our room leaked water from the ceiling during the night and got all of our clean clothes wet and our luggage. I would recommend walking down the road to the local IHOP for breakfast, we tried the breakfast in the restaurant there in the hotel and it was horrible, the food was extremely expensive and not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MIMI Jackie
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 19, 2011

Great Vacation

Everything was perfect, had a wonderful time, and the folks were so friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigmoe
Business
houstontx
Sep 8, 2011

romantic getaway

very pleasant will be back, nice and helpful staff, bed was very comfortable, great dinning inside hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas mom
Business
Longview, TX, USA
Sep 4, 2011

birthday road trip

The room was clean and comfortable. Having a microwave and fridge in the room was very nice. We went to the grocery store and got something for breakfast so we could eat when we wanted and not have to go out for breakfast. The beach is right across the street which was great for a morning walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top