$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

3 stars
View map of 5002 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2BDBQB
Business
Cincinnati, OH
May 7, 2012

Very Pleased

Great stay. We are definitely glad we picked this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joynthemorning
Business
Spring, TX
Apr 2, 2012

Killer location for a vacation in Galveston!

How I love a Holiday Inn bed. I'm particular about my sleeping because I get so tired on a strange bed. Holiday Inn has the most comfortable beds.... with a variety of pillow choices. It always guarantees a great night's sleep. But this Holiday Inn was right across the street (Seawall Blvd) from the beach. We sat on our balcony and watched the surf crash in the morning while we drank fresh coffee from our coffee maker in the room. What a way to wake up!! The staff were considerate, kind, helpful in every way. We really loved this hotel and our stay there. The day of checkout we had a problem with one of our party who caused some damage in the room. We were mortified. After approaching the management to pay for any damage, the manager was utterly gracious, made the settlement so easy for us, and warmly invited us back. It was a vacation from h!eaven. We'll be back soon and can't wait

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best crab legs on the seawall is Joe's Crab Shack. but they have a huge patio for watching the surf while you eat. For higher quality dining of seafood, go to Harborside...Fisherman's Wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TBCT
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Scary

I was traveling alone for a business conference and they put me in a room where the door was outside and had to walk around a lot of corners. I was scared every time coming back and forth. I had to take a cold shower which did not get fixed until hours later. The wifi kept going out and I had to call several times for them to fix but I got tired of calling so I could not get any work done. I had to use my cellphone to call to the desk because the room phone did not work. The room was very musty. At checkout I told them my experience was horrible but the manager had excuses and offered me breakfast at noon on the day I was checking out. Why didn't they offer it when I had to keep calling to get everything fixed? She offered a coupon but I still haven't seen it a month later which she said would come in the mail. Poorly run hotel and worst hotel ever. Never coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gammabev
Business
Texas
Feb 23, 2012

GREAT ANNIVERSARY WEEKEND

We were given an upgrade, top floor and ocean view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Our anniversary dinner at Hotel Galvez was 5 star, other fun places The Spot, Casey's are near hotel, along with Ben and jerry ice cream. We just had a grand time everywhere we went. Down on the Strand has great shops and places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tradeshow travel
Business
Texas
Feb 6, 2012

Fabulous business escape

Our expectations were very much exceeded by this hotel. Our one "quirk" was that the rooms open out doors and the hallways were slippery due to rain. Once the door to our room opened and we were inside, the cares of the world slipped away. Wonderful beds, great room, very quiet, beautiful view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happyn1234
Business
Springfield, MO, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Good value

The hotel staff was very nice and friendly. The hotel room was clean. And we were aloud to leave our car there while we was on our cruise ship for free. Witch saved me $70.00 bucks. And made the cost of the hotel room much more bearable. But don't eat at the hotel restaurant it's to expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are going on a cruise it is complimentary to leave your car at the hotel for free. And they will shuttle you to and from the cruise ship terminal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
James79
Business
Beaumont, TX, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Not for the money!

Let me start off by saying that I was not impressed. For the price of the room and no continental breakfast, it was too expensive. The room itself was nice, clean, and somewhat quiet. We had some unfortunate things happen during our stay. We requested a crib when making the reservation, even called ahead, still never got a crib...thank goodness we came prepared. The bathroom sink did not drain water, we called down to the front desk to let them know and no one showed up to fix it during our stay. The air conditioning unit in the room above our room leaked water from the ceiling during the night and got all of our clean clothes wet and our luggage. I would recommend walking down the road to the local IHOP for breakfast, we tried the breakfast in the restaurant there in the hotel and it was horrible, the food was extremely expensive and not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MIMI Jackie
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 19, 2011

Great Vacation

Everything was perfect, had a wonderful time, and the folks were so friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigmoe
Business
houstontx
Sep 8, 2011

romantic getaway

very pleasant will be back, nice and helpful staff, bed was very comfortable, great dinning inside hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas mom
Business
Longview, TX, USA
Sep 4, 2011

birthday road trip

The room was clean and comfortable. Having a microwave and fridge in the room was very nice. We went to the grocery store and got something for breakfast so we could eat when we wanted and not have to go out for breakfast. The beach is right across the street which was great for a morning walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top