$148 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

3 stars
5002 SEAWALL BOULEVARD, GALVESTON, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
138 reviews
Steal of a Deal!

We were so pleased with our Galveston getaway this week. My daughters (9 & 11) and I stayed ON THE... See full review

  • Spring Chicks
  • Mar 21, 2014
Great place to stay in Galvaston for price!!

Everything was great, the only reason for not having a full 5 stars is because our bathtub wouldn't... See full review

  • MrJMcCoy205
  • May 31, 2013
Galveston beach resort with pool and easy access to local attractions

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers guests a prime location in the Gulf Coast. The resort is minutes from local attractions, including Schillterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Lone Star Flight Museum and Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier. Business and leisure travelers find a range of onsite amenities and conveniences, including a large outdoor pool, tennis courts, a fitness center, and meeting rooms. Visitors with kids in tow enjoy an arcade and playground. The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers free parking, as well as onsite dining options.

Reasons to stay
  • Minutes from popular attractions Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens
  • Gulf Coast location, plus an outdoor pool, fitness center and tennis courts
  • Modern conveniences: Free Wi-Fi, meeting space and free parking
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach rooms

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach has 178 rooms. Standard amenities include cable television, wireless Internet access, tea- and coffee-making facilities, as well as in-room safes. Accessible facilities, room service and cribs are available.

Things to do nearby
  • Fort Crockett (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Moody Gardens Galveston Island (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Port of Galveston (2.8 mi/4.5km)
  • Scholes Field (3.4 mi/4.8 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (40.9 mi/65.8 km)
  • Houston, Texas (50.5 mi/81.2 km)
  • Bush International Airport (71.6 mi/115 km)

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

29.2728 -94.8166
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 40.00, MI; Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 70.00, MI; Scholes Field, (GLS), 3.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.8 mi

Dining

The Jetty Restaurant
The Jetty Restaurant offers a tantalizing array of traditional and not so traditional cusine favorites. From breakfast, to sandwiches and seafood , you'll find something at The Jetty Restaurant you're sure to adore. Of course, for good times and great nig
Landry's Seafood House (at The San Luis)
Drop anchor at Landry's and enjoy irresistible appetizers, fresh assorted soups and salads, and delectable seafood specialties in a comfortable and casual setting overlooking the Gulf of Mexico.
International House of Pancakes
Just the name conjures up hot, freshly brewed coffee and huge stacks of buttermilk pancakes, topped with butter and syrup. For Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner there's a world famous restaurant just outside your door.
Rainforest Cafe
The Rainforest Cafe features great food for everyone including a variety of speciality items from seafood, beef and chicken to an assortment of pastas and pizzas. If you're interested in a lighter fare, try one of their unique salads or sandwiches. Also,
The Steakhouse (at The San Luis)
Galveston Island's premier steakhouse exclusively featuring USDA Prime Midwest Grain Fed Beef for Chicago IL., live Maine lobster and an extensive wine list. Voted "Best Steakhouse on the Gulf Coast" by Texas Monthly and Selected No. 2 of the "Texas' Top
The Cafe
From the start of your day to the end. The Cafe features casual dining with just a little different flair, and a menu that goes beyond your expectations. Meet up at The Cafe!
B'Jiggers Lounge
For a good time and great nightlife, B'Jigger's Lounge is the perfect palce. Enjoy a warm, social atmosphere featuring live entertainment on the weekends.
The Bar (at The San Luis Resort)
Enjoy an extensive selection of refreshments in a relaxing resort atmosphere. Offering, live entertainment Tuesday-Saturday nights by island favorite, pianist/vocalist Angelo Tolentino.
H2O Bar At The San Luis Resort
H2O offers a sleek modern outdoor ultralounge with contemporary seating areas, fire pit, High Def televsion and upbeat music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
janeo number two
deer park, tx.
Aug 12, 2012

escape

Absolutely wonderful!!! The food was better than ever!!! And very well priced... We've stayed next door a few times, and The Holiday Inn is by far better!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

fantastic!

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
janeo number two
deer park, tx.
Aug 12, 2012

escape

Absolutely wonderful!!! The food was better than ever!!! And very well priced... We've stayed next door a few times, and The Holiday Inn is by far better!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

fantastic!

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Worn out Mom
Texas
May 24, 2012

Not for small children

My stay at this hotel was so bad that I had to checkout a day early. My room was dirty (hair and gunk in the bathroom, a bottle of bleach left by housekeeping). The location was terrible for us, I had a 3 year old and 6 year old with me. This hotel is in a very busy part of the Seawall, there is no crossing the street to get to the beach (TONS of traffic). You have to walk down the Seawall about 1/4 a mile, cross at a crosswalk, and go down to the beach. Same for getting back to the hotel. Just hard with little kids. Also, this is basically a motel. The rooms have exterior doors in a concrete breezeway. Very Very hot getting in the elevator and to your room and vice versa. I do not normally stay in motels with my kids for safety reasons. Everything is very hard to get to since it's not really a hotel. You have to walk outside around the back parking lot to get anywhere, again not good with little kids. Finally, I had an emergency, my cell phone was stolen and I needed to call home to let them know we were okay. The hotel refused to let me use the phone because I had booked with a travel site and they did not have my credit card on file. They would not help me, would not let me pay for a phone call, even when I said it was an emergency. I headed home that night, but my husband called the hotel looking for us and the front desk refused to help him. He ended up havig to call Galveston police. Nightmare trip for us!! That said it would not be too bad for an adult couple if only the rooms were clean and staff helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa on the beach
Alba, TX
May 23, 2012

Wonderful Wonderful

When you book something online site unseen, you often wonder if the rooms are going to look anything like the web site...We were so happy and pleased with the outcome of the room, hotel, staff. All were above any expectations we had. Location is right across from the beach and a jetty if you want to fish. Food at the hotel was very good. Pool was very clean and they even had a movie screen set up by the pool for families who wanted to watch a movie. They have a bus or the green machine to take you places if you don't want to drive your car. Overall, this was the best trip we have ever had while staying in our home state of Texas. Pack the family up and go....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
veroruiz
houston tx
May 15, 2012

my mothers day stay

when we checked in for our mothers day getaway the staff was very helpful and greeted us as we all walked to the lobby and the front desk clerk mike upgraded my room to the excectivite suite with a ocean view it was free of charged i loved it and gave me a package of treats and informed me about what places to checked out while we were in galveston and then one of the staff zack help us with our bags to my room my mom and my little girl loved it as we both were relaxing i rate this place top choice #1

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we loved the resturant in the lobby food was good and we did our shoppin by the seawall

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2BDBQB
Cincinnati, OH
May 7, 2012

Very Pleased

Great stay. We are definitely glad we picked this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joynthemorning
Spring, TX
Apr 2, 2012

Killer location for a vacation in Galveston!

How I love a Holiday Inn bed. I'm particular about my sleeping because I get so tired on a strange bed. Holiday Inn has the most comfortable beds.... with a variety of pillow choices. It always guarantees a great night's sleep. But this Holiday Inn was right across the street (Seawall Blvd) from the beach. We sat on our balcony and watched the surf crash in the morning while we drank fresh coffee from our coffee maker in the room. What a way to wake up!! The staff were considerate, kind, helpful in every way. We really loved this hotel and our stay there. The day of checkout we had a problem with one of our party who caused some damage in the room. We were mortified. After approaching the management to pay for any damage, the manager was utterly gracious, made the settlement so easy for us, and warmly invited us back. It was a vacation from h!eaven. We'll be back soon and can't wait

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best crab legs on the seawall is Joe's Crab Shack. but they have a huge patio for watching the surf while you eat. For higher quality dining of seafood, go to Harborside...Fisherman's Wharf.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TBCT
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Scary

I was traveling alone for a business conference and they put me in a room where the door was outside and had to walk around a lot of corners. I was scared every time coming back and forth. I had to take a cold shower which did not get fixed until hours later. The wifi kept going out and I had to call several times for them to fix but I got tired of calling so I could not get any work done. I had to use my cellphone to call to the desk because the room phone did not work. The room was very musty. At checkout I told them my experience was horrible but the manager had excuses and offered me breakfast at noon on the day I was checking out. Why didn't they offer it when I had to keep calling to get everything fixed? She offered a coupon but I still haven't seen it a month later which she said would come in the mail. Poorly run hotel and worst hotel ever. Never coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gammabev
Texas
Feb 23, 2012

GREAT ANNIVERSARY WEEKEND

We were given an upgrade, top floor and ocean view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Our anniversary dinner at Hotel Galvez was 5 star, other fun places The Spot, Casey's are near hotel, along with Ben and jerry ice cream. We just had a grand time everywhere we went. Down on the Strand has great shops and places to eat.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tradeshow travel
Business
Texas
Feb 6, 2012

Fabulous business escape

Our expectations were very much exceeded by this hotel. Our one "quirk" was that the rooms open out doors and the hallways were slippery due to rain. Once the door to our room opened and we were inside, the cares of the world slipped away. Wonderful beds, great room, very quiet, beautiful view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happyn1234
Springfield, MO, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Good value

The hotel staff was very nice and friendly. The hotel room was clean. And we were aloud to leave our car there while we was on our cruise ship for free. Witch saved me $70.00 bucks. And made the cost of the hotel room much more bearable. But don't eat at the hotel restaurant it's to expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are going on a cruise it is complimentary to leave your car at the hotel for free. And they will shuttle you to and from the cruise ship terminal.

Back to menu Return to top