$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

3 stars
5002 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
sister getaway

Great place to stay will stay again if in area. if taking a cruise not to far from dock. See full review

  • tracy travelerpa
  • Aug 18, 2014
Steal of a Deal!

We were so pleased with our Galveston getaway this week. My daughters (9 & 11) and I stayed ON THE... See full review

  • Spring Chicks
  • Mar 21, 2014
Galveston beach resort with pool and easy access to local attractions

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers guests a prime location in the Gulf Coast. The resort is minutes from local attractions, including Schillterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Lone Star Flight Museum and Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier. Business and leisure travelers find a range of onsite amenities and conveniences, including a large outdoor pool, tennis courts, a fitness center, and meeting rooms. Visitors with kids in tow enjoy an arcade and playground. The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers free parking, as well as onsite dining options.

Reasons to stay
  • Minutes from popular attractions Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens
  • Gulf Coast location, plus an outdoor pool, fitness center and tennis courts
  • Modern conveniences: Free Wi-Fi, meeting space and free parking
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach rooms

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach has 178 rooms. Standard amenities include cable television, wireless Internet access, tea- and coffee-making facilities, as well as in-room safes. Accessible facilities, room service and cribs are available.

Things to do nearby
  • Fort Crockett (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Moody Gardens Galveston Island (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Port of Galveston (2.8 mi/4.5km)
  • Scholes Field (3.4 mi/4.8 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (40.9 mi/65.8 km)
  • Houston, Texas (50.5 mi/81.2 km)
  • Bush International Airport (71.6 mi/115 km)

Hotel Map

29.2728 -94.8166
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 40.00, MI; Scholes Field, (GLS), 3.00, MI; Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 70.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.8 mi

Dining

The Jetty Restaurant
The Jetty Restaurant offers a tantalizing array of traditional and not so traditional cusine favorites. From breakfast, to sandwiches and seafood , you'll find something at The Jetty Restaurant you're sure to adore. Of course, for good times and great nig
Landry's Seafood
Just steps from the beach on historic Seawall Boulevard, Landry's Seafood in Galveston features mouthwatering seafood specialties, succulent steaks and panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico. From our comfy, covered outdoor lounge, enjoy an appetizer and
IHOP
Just the name conjures up hot, freshly brewed coffee and huge stacks of buttermilk pancakes, topped with butter and syrup. For Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner there's a world famous restaurant just outside your door.
Rainforest Cafe
The Rainforest Cafe features great food for everyone including a variety of speciality items from seafood, beef and chicken to an assortment of pastas and pizzas. If you're interested in a lighter fare, try one of their unique salads or sandwiches. Also,
The Steakhouse
Galveston Island's premier steakhouse exclusively featuring USDA Prime Midwest Grain Fed Beef, live Maine lobster and an extensive wine list. Voted "Best Steakhouse on the Gulf Coast" by Texas Monthly and selected No. 1 of the "Texas' Top Ten" by Tom Hor
Grotto Ristorante
Inspired by classic Southern Italian cooking, Grotto features delicious veal, chicken, seafood and house made pastas. Grotto's food and breathtaking decor are complemented by beachside views in Galveston Island's premiere resort and hotel, The San Luis Re
B'Jiggers Lounge
For a good time and great nightlife, B. Jigger's Lounge is the perfect place. Enjoy a warm, social atmosphere featuring live entertainment on the weekends and daily happy hour.
The Bar (at The San Luis Resort)
Enjoy an extensive selection of refreshments in a relaxing resort atmosphere. Offering, live entertainment Tuesday-Saturday nights by island favorite, pianist/vocalist Angelo Tolentino.
H2O Bar At The San Luis Resort
H2o offers a sleek modern outdoor ultralounge with contemporary seating areas, roaring firepit, televsions and upbeat music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
janeo number two
deer park, tx.
Aug 12, 2012

escape

Absolutely wonderful!!! The food was better than ever!!! And very well priced... We've stayed next door a few times, and The Holiday Inn is by far better!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MrJMcCoy205
Business
Katy, Texas
May 31, 2013

Great place to stay in Galvaston for price!!

Everything was great, the only reason for not having a full 5 stars is because our bathtub wouldn't drain the last night or day and we had to shower at the pool but that was at the end and we just dealt with, other than that everything was great especially the staff!! They were all very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's Warf was an amazing dining experience, with the pier view, the great food and excellent service we will be going back next time we are on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sugar1981
Business
Houston Tx
May 26, 2013

very nice

I loved it. great view near restuarts beach access

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
texasgirl1
Business
merkel tx
Nov 5, 2012

fantastic getaway

it was a great experience i love my stay fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

i loved my trip to galveston the hotel was great i would recommend the stay and i will be returning for future stays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gay K
Business
Houston TX
Oct 15, 2012

Not Gay Friendly

The hotel is beautiful but, while swimming in the bar pool after dark. I was told that I was not allowed to be close to my Wife. but yet they had minors in a hot tub all over each other. Why was that ok but I was yelled at by the staff for kissing my Wife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Granny.55
Business
Dallas, Texas
Sep 28, 2012

Needs that Special Something.....

The room was nice, however, our room overlooked the electrical/control room/pool functionality equipment. While we could see the gulf, it wasn't a pretty site. Also, there was only sweet and low in the coffee bar in the room. After 7am or so, coffee was put out near the lobby, however, IT REALLY WASN'T COFFEE; BUT COFFEE FLAVORED WATER IF YOU ASK ME. I had to purchase a real cup of coffee from Starbucks. It wasn't close to the hotel at all. We were in Galveston before taking a cruise. I will not stay there again. I'll try the San Luis next time; or go back to Hilton

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk over to the Hilton or the San Luis.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super traveler babe
Business
Texas
Aug 13, 2012

Nice

Enjoyed the stay. Great location and easy access to the beach. Definetly recommend,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

several restuarants and bars located within a block away from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
janeo number two
Business
deer park, tx.
Aug 12, 2012

escape

Absolutely wonderful!!! The food was better than ever!!! And very well priced... We've stayed next door a few times, and The Holiday Inn is by far better!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Worn out Mom
Business
Texas
May 24, 2012

Not for small children

My stay at this hotel was so bad that I had to checkout a day early. My room was dirty (hair and gunk in the bathroom, a bottle of bleach left by housekeeping). The location was terrible for us, I had a 3 year old and 6 year old with me. This hotel is in a very busy part of the Seawall, there is no crossing the street to get to the beach (TONS of traffic). You have to walk down the Seawall about 1/4 a mile, cross at a crosswalk, and go down to the beach. Same for getting back to the hotel. Just hard with little kids. Also, this is basically a motel. The rooms have exterior doors in a concrete breezeway. Very Very hot getting in the elevator and to your room and vice versa. I do not normally stay in motels with my kids for safety reasons. Everything is very hard to get to since it's not really a hotel. You have to walk outside around the back parking lot to get anywhere, again not good with little kids. Finally, I had an emergency, my cell phone was stolen and I needed to call home to let them know we were okay. The hotel refused to let me use the phone because I had booked with a travel site and they did not have my credit card on file. They would not help me, would not let me pay for a phone call, even when I said it was an emergency. I headed home that night, but my husband called the hotel looking for us and the front desk refused to help him. He ended up havig to call Galveston police. Nightmare trip for us!! That said it would not be too bad for an adult couple if only the rooms were clean and staff helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa on the beach
Business
Alba, TX
May 23, 2012

Wonderful Wonderful

When you book something online site unseen, you often wonder if the rooms are going to look anything like the web site...We were so happy and pleased with the outcome of the room, hotel, staff. All were above any expectations we had. Location is right across from the beach and a jetty if you want to fish. Food at the hotel was very good. Pool was very clean and they even had a movie screen set up by the pool for families who wanted to watch a movie. They have a bus or the green machine to take you places if you don't want to drive your car. Overall, this was the best trip we have ever had while staying in our home state of Texas. Pack the family up and go....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
veroruiz
Business
houston tx
May 15, 2012

my mothers day stay

when we checked in for our mothers day getaway the staff was very helpful and greeted us as we all walked to the lobby and the front desk clerk mike upgraded my room to the excectivite suite with a ocean view it was free of charged i loved it and gave me a package of treats and informed me about what places to checked out while we were in galveston and then one of the staff zack help us with our bags to my room my mom and my little girl loved it as we both were relaxing i rate this place top choice #1

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we loved the resturant in the lobby food was good and we did our shoppin by the seawall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top