$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

3 stars
5002 SEAWALL BOULEVARD, GALVESTON, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
141 reviews
Steal of a Deal!

We were so pleased with our Galveston getaway this week. My daughters (9 & 11) and I stayed ON THE... See full review

  • Spring Chicks
  • Mar 21, 2014
Great place to stay in Galvaston for price!!

Everything was great, the only reason for not having a full 5 stars is because our bathtub wouldn't... See full review

  • MrJMcCoy205
  • May 31, 2013
Galveston beach resort with pool and easy access to local attractions

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers guests a prime location in the Gulf Coast. The resort is minutes from local attractions, including Schillterbahn Waterpark, Moody Gardens, Lone Star Flight Museum and Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier. Business and leisure travelers find a range of onsite amenities and conveniences, including a large outdoor pool, tennis courts, a fitness center, and meeting rooms. Visitors with kids in tow enjoy an arcade and playground. The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach offers free parking, as well as onsite dining options.

Reasons to stay
  • Minutes from popular attractions Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Moody Gardens
  • Gulf Coast location, plus an outdoor pool, fitness center and tennis courts
  • Modern conveniences: Free Wi-Fi, meeting space and free parking
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach rooms

The Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach has 178 rooms. Standard amenities include cable television, wireless Internet access, tea- and coffee-making facilities, as well as in-room safes. Accessible facilities, room service and cribs are available.

Things to do nearby
  • Fort Crockett (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Galveston Schlitterbahn Waterpark (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Moody Gardens Galveston Island (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Port of Galveston (2.8 mi/4.5km)
  • Scholes Field (3.4 mi/4.8 km)
  • William P. Hobby Airport (40.9 mi/65.8 km)
  • Houston, Texas (50.5 mi/81.2 km)
  • Bush International Airport (71.6 mi/115 km)

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

29.2728 -94.8166
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 40.00, MI, S; Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 70.00, MI, S; Scholes Field, (GLS), 3.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort, resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2.8 mi

Dining

The Jetty Restaurant
The Jetty Restaurant offers a tantalizing array of traditional and not so traditional cusine favorites. From breakfast, to sandwiches and seafood , you'll find something at The Jetty Restaurant you're sure to adore. Of course, for good times and great nig
Landry's Seafood House (at The San Luis)
Drop anchor at Landry's and enjoy irresistible appetizers, fresh assorted soups and salads, and delectable seafood specialties in a comfortable and casual setting overlooking the Gulf of Mexico.
International House of Pancakes
Just the name conjures up hot, freshly brewed coffee and huge stacks of buttermilk pancakes, topped with butter and syrup. For Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner there's a world famous restaurant just outside your door.
Rainforest Cafe
The Rainforest Cafe features great food for everyone including a variety of speciality items from seafood, beef and chicken to an assortment of pastas and pizzas. If you're interested in a lighter fare, try one of their unique salads or sandwiches. Also,
The Steakhouse (at The San Luis)
Galveston Island's premier steakhouse exclusively featuring USDA Prime Midwest Grain Fed Beef for Chicago IL., live Maine lobster and an extensive wine list. Voted "Best Steakhouse on the Gulf Coast" by Texas Monthly and Selected No. 2 of the "Texas' Top
The Cafe
From the start of your day to the end. The Cafe features casual dining with just a little different flair, and a menu that goes beyond your expectations. Meet up at The Cafe!
B'Jiggers Lounge
For a good time and great nightlife, B'Jigger's Lounge is the perfect palce. Enjoy a warm, social atmosphere featuring live entertainment on the weekends.
The Bar (at The San Luis Resort)
Enjoy an extensive selection of refreshments in a relaxing resort atmosphere. Offering, live entertainment Tuesday-Saturday nights by island favorite, pianist/vocalist Angelo Tolentino.
H2O Bar At The San Luis Resort
H2O offers a sleek modern outdoor ultralounge with contemporary seating areas, fire pit, High Def televsion and upbeat music.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawk13
Lindale, TX
Jun 21, 2013

just like the commercial - the good news is that i got a great night of sleep

The staff was wonderful, the swimming pool was a little crowded for my preference, but the room was great and the beds where wonderful. I usually don't sleep well unless I am in my own bed, but you could not hear any outside noises inside the room and the bed was very comfortable. Got a great night sleep. The only complaint I had was that I wanted to see a movie on TV, but $16 was just too much for me to spend for a movie. Up to $5 is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wlwsf
Galveston texas
Jul 29, 2014

fun

We enjoyed the extra activities like popcorn and snowcones

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CAdo
Texas
Jul 20, 2014

Getaway

The room was great and the best matress I have ever slept on. Also, perfect location. Would definitely stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Senseicorykun
Arlington, TX
Jul 11, 2014

Just a quick stay

Friendly staff and a clean room? Check. Tiny pool full of hyper kids? Beach is steps away. There's a patio, it's small, but a nice touch. It's a bit far to walk to anything of significance other than the beach. I would stay again after trying to find something more unique first, it was about 175 and worth about 100.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go see Baywatch Dolphin tours! It's only $10 an adult, $5 a kid, and we saw LOTS OF DOLPHINS!!!!

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vt77018
texas
Apr 29, 2014

could be a very good if staff did not treat us like cheap asian

I did called to the hotel a week before arriving date and request for a high floor because I do not like a loud music from cantina on of front almost all night, I know , I was there before, so they accept my requested but when I arrived to the hotel , they said not available so the staff putting us to the room right on second floor on of front of cantina , and as soon as I open the window to the ocean view all I can see is two big rusty ac unit right on front of window, not even be able to see street, that made me really mad , I went down to the loby and let staff know that I want to change my room , and finally they did, I thought to my self if they think we just a dummy Asian people want to spent some money , I will let them know how mad I am and we will get out of there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spring Chicks
Allen, TX
Mar 21, 2014

Steal of a Deal!

We were so pleased with our Galveston getaway this week. My daughters (9 & 11) and I stayed ON THE SEAWALL for a great price. The hotel's normal Spring Break rate was $250ish. We got a steal at $120/night. The room was nice. We noticed EVERY room has a great ocean view because of the hotel's design. Most rooms have balconies with chairs as well. It was very clean and the housekeeping staff was on top of their game. One slight drawback was not having access to Disney channels without paying $15 for the daily Disney package. We made it through the evenings with the free Kids channels. Also, our wall unit a/c was a little wonky. It kept the room cold, but made some peculiar noises -the blower/fan part I think. It's not fair to complain too much because we never told the hotel staff. Location is excellent-close to the Rainforest Cafe, IHOP, crosswalk to the beach, Subway, Pizza Hut, gift shop, Galveston Convention Center, etc. You could save a few dollars by stocking up at the Kroger close by and using the microwave and fridge to prepare food. Amenities-my daughters LOVED the arcade - had 10 games I think. The restaurant on site is nice and affordable. My only complaint is that the Kids Club happened to be closed the 2 days we were there during Spring Break (boo!) The on site gift shop was also closed so you couldn't get those last minute sundries without a hike to Krogers. Overall-it was a BLAST! We had fun on the beach and look forward to visiting again this summer-hopefully with more bargain basement rates!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawk13
Lindale, TX
Jun 21, 2013

just like the commercial - the good news is that i got a great night of sleep

The staff was wonderful, the swimming pool was a little crowded for my preference, but the room was great and the beds where wonderful. I usually don't sleep well unless I am in my own bed, but you could not hear any outside noises inside the room and the bed was very comfortable. Got a great night sleep. The only complaint I had was that I wanted to see a movie on TV, but $16 was just too much for me to spend for a movie. Up to $5 is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bb glo glo
Houston , California
Jun 18, 2013

weekend get away with Aunt

we had a very nice time the staff was professional very knowledgeable about many questions we had. The doorman Ed was great , so was Vanessa , Skylar was the best . Barbara & Gloria

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MrJMcCoy205
Katy, Texas
May 31, 2013

Great place to stay in Galvaston for price!!

Everything was great, the only reason for not having a full 5 stars is because our bathtub wouldn't drain the last night or day and we had to shower at the pool but that was at the end and we just dealt with, other than that everything was great especially the staff!! They were all very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's Warf was an amazing dining experience, with the pier view, the great food and excellent service we will be going back next time we are on the island.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sugar1981
Houston Tx
May 26, 2013

very nice

I loved it. great view near restuarts beach access

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort GALVESTON-ON THE BEACH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
texasgirl1
merkel tx
Nov 5, 2012

fantastic getaway

it was a great experience i love my stay fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

i loved my trip to galveston the hotel was great i would recommend the stay and i will be returning for future stays.

Back to menu Return to top