$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Holiday Inn Express & Suites GALVESTON WEST-SEAWALL

3 stars
View map of 8628 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, TX 77554

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
82 reviews
Trip to a family wedding

The hotel is across West Seawall Boulevard from the Gulf of Mexico. We had a wonderful suite with... See full review

  • Bill
  • Dec 30, 2014
great getaway

very good experience at this hotel ,no problems, good people. See full review

  • Frank and Rafis
  • Oct 1, 2013
Enjoy Truly Great Value at Our Galveston Seawall Hotel Galveston, Texas is a small, romantic island tucked deep in the heart of south Texas, offering 32 miles of beautiful beaches, exciting entertainment and quality restaurants and shopping, and the new Holiday Inn Express® hotel on Galveston's Seawall Boulevard gives you easy access to it all at a price that won't break the budget. Business travelers appreciate our convenient location and quality amenities keep them productive. Businesses and universities near the hotel include Galveston College, Texas A&M at Galveston, University of Texas Medical Branch, American National Insurance, U.S. Army Corp of Engineers and the U.S. Coast Guard. A 24-hour Business Center and a 1,500 sq ft meeting room with space for 150 are also available on-site. Whether you're enjoying a refreshing vacation or embarking from the Port of Galveston, our hotel offers you a great stay at a great price. Our prime location allows you to relax on your balcony and watch the ocean waves crash, and we are close to numerous attractions the whole family can enjoy, including Schlitterbahn Waterpark, Stewart Beach, Galveston Island Ferry and much more. Our hotel provides great amenities, including free high-speed Internet access, a free hot breakfast bar, 24-hour gift shop, Fitness Center and outdoor pool and whirlpool, so make your reservations today to enjoy the best stay Galveston, TX hotels have to offer!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express & Suites GALVESTON WEST-SEAWALL also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 5.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites GALVESTON WEST-SEAWALL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites GALVESTON WEST-SEAWALL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paramom
Business
texas
Jul 24, 2012

Grandkids loved it

THe hotel was quiet and we enjoyed a restful night. Breakfast was not my favorite, but I'm not a fan of rare scrambled eggs. But the guy working the breaksfast room was friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Pleasure after dark, preferably on weekend. Grandkids loved it and I didn't burn up in sun. Breeze kept mosquitoes at by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites GALVESTON WEST-SEAWALL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lancerules2
Business
galveston
May 8, 2012

great get away

the rooms were clean and nice the bed not the best but ok some eletronics did not work their its in a great location to see the sea i would reccommend going their again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites GALVESTON WEST-SEAWALL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cruisin mama
Business
Illinois, USA
Feb 19, 2012

Disappointing

This hotel appears to be on the beach but is not. The closest beach has to be driven to and costs more $. The balcony doors did not shut properly as they were very badly rusted. The breakfast was average at best; cereal that was stale and milk that was warm. I would definitely not book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a short walk from the hotel was a great little burger joint in a strip mall and across the street (above the bait/souvenir shop) was an amazing restaurant with great food, delicious drinks, and super friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites GALVESTON WEST-SEAWALL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
just flying through
Business
Columbia, MO, USA
Dec 5, 2011

solid stay

The rooms are nice and clean, and the free breakfast was convenient but bland. The staff is the only problem I had, the front desk gal offered us a choice of rooms. We just took one on the first floor. When we entered the room the window looked out right into a concrete wall. Went back to the front desk to change rooms and asked for one with a view. The lady said there weren't any, and we asked to be moved to a higher floor hoping that it would be better. We were able to see the ocean and everything from our room on the 4th floor, the lady didn't know what she was talking about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites GALVESTON WEST-SEAWALL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suaavve
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 22, 2011

Was good....

I arrived in Galveston much earlier than expected and had about three hours to kill before I could check in. I ended up calling the hotel and Yvonne said I could check in early without penalty, which was very cool. The hotel is right on the seawall, but way on the other end from all the popular restaurants, bars and shops, which was good and bad in a way. I asked Yvonne if I could have a room on the top floor and facing the water. She said she didn't have any rooms on the fourth floor but could do the third floor. She also said my room was on the side of the hotel but that I would still have a view of the ocean. This was fine, until I later noticed that the hotel parking lot (partly covered! Nice!) was mostly empty for most of my stay. That left me wondering why I couldn't get a room facing the water. But no big deal. The room itself was nice and clean and housekeeping was very good at their job. The only downside was that the room was right by the elevator and I could hear people coming and going and making a lot of noise. Also, being on the third floor, I could hear what sounded like someone either walking really hard or jumping up and down at times above me on the fourth floor. Also I don't know if you are allowed to do this or not in other hotels, but I couldn't adjust the picture on the TV and it needed to be adjusted...badly. Minor thing. I will say this: the breakfast was REALLY good! Plenty of food. All in all, enjoyed my stay and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast was very good. Lots of food: eggs with cheese, bacon, sausage, toast, bagels, muffins, cereal, fruit, biscuits with gravy.... I was stuff every morning I ate there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites GALVESTON WEST-SEAWALL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MeganB
Business
Westlake, LA 70669, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Perfect!

My fiance and I took a trip to Galveston for his birthday and chose the Holiday Inn Express to stay at and we were both very pleased! The staff was VERY friendly and the hotel was VERY nice! We were thinking of maybe staying somewhere like Galvez next time but by the end of our trip we decided we wouldn't stay anywhere else our experience was amazings!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Landry's Seafood was excellent! Ask for Sam as your waiter and you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites GALVESTON WEST-SEAWALL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pbjcb
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Quick getaway

nice room, comfortable bed, nice view, staff ok, room ready on time. Too bad it decided to rain after months of a drought!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites GALVESTON WEST-SEAWALL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Humble Weekend Traveler
Business
Humble, TX
Sep 12, 2011

Holiday Inn Express on the Seawall

Clean, spacious rooms. Comfortable beds. Sufficient (free) parking. Didn't try out the pool but it looked very nice. The view of the beach was excellent. At night on the balcony, you can hear the waves crashing to shore. Love it! Just stayed 1 night but I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites GALVESTON WEST-SEAWALL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdtx
Business
tx
Aug 29, 2011

weekend escape

Other then the beds were hard...Trip very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites GALVESTON WEST-SEAWALL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jsap
Business
college station, texas
Aug 20, 2011

Nice beach front hotel

I highly recommend this hotel as a nice stay by the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top