$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Holiday Inn Club Vacations GALVESTON BEACH RESORT

3 stars
View map of 11743 Termini-San Luis Pass Road, Galveston, TX 77554

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Club Vacations GALVESTON BEACH RESORT

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations GALVESTON BEACH RESORT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Dallas, Tx
Aug 23, 2009

Enjoyable Getaway

Escapes was better than I had expected. Stayed in the smallest 1 bedroom, 4 people. We were a little crowded but it was ok. Next time I will book an elite 1 bedroom. The elite is much larger with a full kitchen, and huge bathroom with a jet tub. Escapes is on the West side of Galveston and is much quiter than the East side. Great value for the money. The room had a strange ordor. None of us could figure out what it was. It did not smell of mold or mildew. We decided to get a pulg-in room fresherner and that took care of the ordor. Escapes is very clean and has a new feel. Not dated. The beach is right out back of the condo and was very clean. Something else I liked is that the condo is next to a pocket park which was damaged by Ike the building has not been reopened,but they rent umbrellas and chairs so you don't have to worry about taking your own. There were not many people on the beach, I was there Wed. - Fri. The Shower used to rinse your feet at the condo was not working while I was there. This caused a problem...... what to do b-4 you get into the pool. Due to foot shower problem the pool had a lot of sand in it. The pool did not seem to be as clean as it should have been. I have stayed at quite a few beach resorts and I have never seen so much sand in a pool. The pool was cloudy much of my stay. I think the personel should have taken better care of the pool maintenance. I'm really a beach person so this didn't bother me too much. I really enjoyed our stay at Escapes and I plan on going back next year. I am a really picking person, believe me this is a nice place for the money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The following were great places to eat. They are all on the Seawall: Benno's Seafood, Salsas Mexican, Millers Seafood, Enjoyed the food very much!!!

Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations GALVESTON BEACH RESORT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
COLLEGE VACATIONER
Couples
QUINLAN, TX
Aug 22, 2009

Hotel was good.

THE VIEW OF THE OCEAN WAS REALLY GREAT BUT AS FOR SOME OF THE STAFF, THEY WEREN'T VERY HELPFUL. THE FRONT DESK AND ALMOST VERYONE ELSE LEAVES THE HOTEL AT 8PM AND ONE NIGHT OUR ROOM KEY GOT DEACTIVATED AND NO ONE WAS THERE TO HELP US. WE TRIED CALLING THE MANAGER AND EVERYTHING, BUT NO ONE WOULD ANSWER. WE FINALLY FOUND A NIGHT MAID WHO OPENED THE DOOR AT AROUND 9PM. THE MANAGER EVENTUALLY CALLED US BACK AT 1 IN THE MORNING WAKING UP EVERYONE ASKING IF WE WERE STILL LOCKED OUT. I WOULD PROBABLY STAY THERE AGAIN B/C IT WAS ONLY $50 BUCKS A NIGHT AND IT WAS RIGHT ON THE BEACH BUT THE STAFF TOTALLY RUINED IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

THE RAINFOREST CAFE IS GREAT FOR ADULTS AND CHILDREN. IT IS RIGHT ON SEAWALL BLVD AND THE VOLCANO IS AWESOME. ICE CREAM AND GIANT BROWNIES, WHATS NOT TO LOVE!!!!!!

Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations GALVESTON BEACH RESORT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hot Momma! (84 degrees)
Family
Lufkin,Texas
Aug 21, 2009

Awesome location/84 degrees in room

We visit Galveston several times a year.We stay at least a week then a few weekends.We love Galveston!We have stayed at all of the nicest hotels there.The last few years have taken R.V.Love to stay on beach,but not without Air conditioning!!!!!! The A.C.was acting up when we arived also water problem (city problem)Called maintainence after they came the A.C. stopped working completely!After repeted calls to Manager & maintiance & several different stories we gave up! The 4 of us sleept in wet towels with the doors open.Would have slept in the halls (they had A.C.But that's just not bright.) The location is aweaome! Beautiful rooms!Friendly & helpful staff during day,just don't have any problems at night.Prices would have been good if it had ended up being more than a great tent! I have waited for a responce after repeated calls to manager.I thought maybe they would offer something for our extreem discomfort,but no.Hey I manage my own rental property & things do happen.I have been out alot of money to make sure repairs of this nature and handled promptly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Landrey's is great can always count on it ,Strand is fun!Love the river ride @ Rainforest Cafe!Beach was clean in front of Hotel.Great place,plenty to do.

Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations GALVESTON BEACH RESORT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ann Arbor, MI
Aug 20, 2009

Fantastic value!

The location was right on the beach, which was not very crowded _ especially compared to the more commercial strip of beaches down the road. Away from all the loud tourist madness, but still a few minutes away from restaurants, shopping, and Moody Gardens, the location was perfect. My only complaint is the lack of afterhours help - the front desk staff leaves around 8pm, and then u r pretty much on your own, save for the security guards, who are sometimes hard to locate. There is an emergency after hours #, but that is answered by a recording.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get food at Kroger for lunch and breakfast, as the room has a kitchen. The Kroger is the nicest I have ever seen, with a great selection

Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations GALVESTON BEACH RESORT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Bossier City, LA
Aug 20, 2009

relaxing stay

This hotel/condo was great. It is only a few miles from everything on the seawall, and we enjoyed not being crowded at the beach. The boardwalk and beach were clean. The pool and hot tub were great, plenty of chairs and tables. The room was spotless. We stayed in the one bedroom-standard. The balcony and living area were smaller than we thought, but we also had several people staying. Great for the price! Kitchen had everything we needed and washer/dryer was a great asset, especially since you wash your own towels. We never had a reason to go to the front desk, except when one of the keys didn't work. The girl at the front desk wasn't as friendly as the lady that checked us in/out. The key had stopped working because it was put by a cell phone and the magnets inside messed it up, so be careful with that. Overall, the trip and hotel were fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations GALVESTON BEACH RESORT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Spring,Texas
Aug 20, 2009

Nice getaway!

My daughter and I wanted a quick beach getaway before school started. I booked my trip on Orbitz, but also researched the Escapes property online. There were several conflicting details. For example, not all units have washer/dryers inside them as stated. You may have to share with adjoining units in a small hallway. Also, not all of the larger one bedroom units have king size beds and 2 TV's as described. The units that share washer/dryers are called lockoffs, so that larger groups can rent both sides. If you only rent one, then you could have lots of contact with your neighbor in the laundry hallway entry! Fortunately they allowed me to see 2 units at check-in and I was able to choose one with a larger, more private balcony and washer/dryer inside it. The more I travel the more I learn to research, call ahead to actual rental place to ask questions, therefore reducing disappointments. If you are picky like me, you should reserve your condo through Orbitz to get the best price and then call the Escapes directly in Galveston. Let them know what you prefer in advance of your arrival because they pre-assign units the night before, not in order of check-in. All in all, it was a nice stay because the units are clean, updated, well-equipped and you walk right onto the beach. It also was nice that they had a fitness center,although it could be more modern. With all that being said, I would go back because there are not a lot to choose from directly on the beach in Galveston. Escapes beats anything on the Seawall Blvd. because there you have to cross a busy 4 lane highway to get to the beach and it's noisy. In closing, since my daughter learned to surf during our stay, our Escapes getaway was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take surfing lessons from C-Sick Surfin Lessons. They can schedule one-on-one 2 hour lessons for a reasonable cost. Great fun for older kids!

Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations GALVESTON BEACH RESORT

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
soonshin
Couples
Louisville, KY
Aug 17, 2009

Quiet and relaxing

The only thing that we did while we were there was the beach and the pool, and both were top notch. The area still needed some reconstruction, but the resort itself was first class. We had an ocean front condo and the unit came with everything. A full kitchen, washer/dryer combo, and a full tub and separate shower. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone that's looking for a quiet getaway. On the other hand if you're looking for a hopping night life, look somewhere else. Not much to do after the beach and the pool, but that was all I was looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Any restaurant that you go to will have some kind of shrimp dish, try them all. If you like shrimp, you will love Galveston!

Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations GALVESTON BEACH RESORT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Detroit, MI
Aug 14, 2009

Good for families

Room was nice. Had a kitchen in it, and was next to washer/dryer, which was a pleasant surprise. The beach is on the property, which as everyone else mentioned, you don't have to cross any streets to get to it. Biggest downside was the free internet that didn't ever work. You might be able to connect, but the connection was so poor, it would only last a minute or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations GALVESTON BEACH RESORT

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
TX
Aug 11, 2009

good location for the price

Other places we have stayed have had ample kitchen pots, pans, an oven, table and chairs, comfortable sleeping accommodations, a later check-out time, enough carts available for guests to get out by the early hour. The threat of additional charges was a great motivator. I am 77, and carrying stuff is kinda hard. It would have also been good if the hotel had notified us of the water situation before we left home. Not enough lighting-a very dark place at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations GALVESTON BEACH RESORT

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plastic guy
Couples
East Texas
Aug 10, 2009

A good Vacation

Room was small but great for two people. Located on the beach but away from the crowds. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and well stocked. Bring a couple folding chairs and spend your time on the beach Will go back for next vacation to Galveston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top