$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Hilton Galveston Island Resort

4 stars
5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
132 reviews
Mardi Gra Galveston

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff was very friendly. See full review

  • Britt Marie
  • Feb 24, 2014
it was wonderful in every aspect.

First and foremost Thank you, Amanda on the evening shift she was awesome, extremely polite. Very... See full review

  • Squeaky1911
  • Dec 9, 2013
Luxury resort property with every amenity
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico and the famous Galveston Seawall, the Hilton Galveston Island Resort is the ultimate relaxation retreat. Located on 30 acres, the 240 guest rooms and suites give the hotel an upscale residential feel, while the palm trees in the lobby further the island feel. The hotel is a proud recipient of a prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating. Some Hilton Galveston Island Resort rooms offer private balconies with Gulf views.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas
  • Multiple restaurants on site
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar, hot tub
Rooms
In the island-inspired rooms at the Hilton Galveston Island Resort, Hilton signature Serenity Beds, featuring Serta Sweet Dreams mattresses, invite visitors to relax after a day spent enjoying the beach or Galveston attractions. Beds are made with 250-thread count sheets, luxury duvets and nonallergenic pillows. Guests can enjoy On-Demand video games and movies on a state-of-the-art flat-screen television. Pay-per-view movies are also available. Expected amenities include a hair-dryer and iron/ironing board, while evening room service is available. Wi-Fi available in guest rooms (fee applies).
Features
Multiple restaurants and lounges on the resort property offer a variety of culinary options, from seafood to pasta. A family-friendly Rainforest Care is on the 30-acre property. When an extra dose of relaxation is on the agenda, make an appointment at the adjacent Spa San Luis, featuring special Vitamin C and eye-contouring treatments (fees apply). Those aiming to keep up an exercise routine can visit the on-site fitness center or the pool, one that includes a hot tub.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (39 mi/62 km)
Attractions
  • Galveston Beaches (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Fort Crockett (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • City Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (3 mi/4 km)
  • 1877 Tall Ship Elisa (3 mi/5 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (3 mi/5 km)
  • Grand 1894 Opera House (3 mi/5 km)
  • Moody Gardens Tropical Rain Forest (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Offers 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
  • Business center with fax and photocopying services (fees apply)
  • Secretarial service available (fee applies)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Galveston Island Resort also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 132
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AJParker
Business
Houston
Aug 31, 2014

Not worth the money

Booked this room because of the ocean view balcony. The balcony was tiny...barely large enough for two people to sit in chairs. The room was humid and damp even with the A/C running the entire time. The staff was nice. Overall, was not worth what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elizabeth9765
Business
houston, tx
Jun 19, 2014

will never be back

Was extremely excited for a little getaway until we actually arrived at the hotel. We checked in late, but when we got to our room it reeked of smoke (nonsmoking room). Called the front desk immediately and they told me thank you for letting them know no apologies and no offer to be put in a different room. I was way to tired to try argue with them. The shower also had black stains all over it like they hadn't cleaned it. As far as everything else, the pool and staff there were amazing and the bed was comfortable. If I'm going to pay that much for a room, I expect a lot more from the staff and a clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Minpinmama
Business
18252
Oct 11, 2013

Terrible stay

From Hilton, we expected better. They want you to spend all your money there: no fridge or microwave in the rooms + Everywhere else we have ever stayed, the hotel has brochures for attractions and eateries...not here. They expect you to eat in their restaurant and stay in their pool the whole trip. If you dont want to leave your room, perfect! Many people on my floor ordered room service and their dirty dishes layed in the hall all day long. Our oceanview balcony overlooked parking lots and was very loud, seats dont even face the ocean! Housekeeping was unpredictable: the one day they didnt even get to our room til after 4:00! Cleaning supplies left in our bathroom. Sometimes they left you fresh cups, tea, glasses, etc. other days not. Pool is not locked in. Anyone can just come in off the street to use it(& they did). Police were called to the pool for rowdy people. After all that, I GOT CHARGED TWICE! I will NEVER stay at another Hilton again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kitkat1974
Business
Magnolia
Aug 12, 2013

Vacation

The room was hot. A/c did work well at all. All they could say was sorry we will have to have an engineer come look at it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weekend Traveler July 13
Business
Danbury, TX
Jul 18, 2013

Great weekend getaway!

My husband & I spend 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. We were very impressed with the hotel cleanliness and the friendly and helpful staff, The room was very comfortable & clean, it was a gulf view room. Only con, was the many children in the pool, wouldn't have been too bad if the parents would of kept them under control, it got a little noisy, kinda ruined the atmosphere of swim up bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many places, some within walking distance, to eat, or to sit and have a drink, great beach view

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ddsca
Business
Beaumont tx
Jun 3, 2013

Expensive

It was expensive, but the pool was open late,the parking was fairly convenient, and it was easy to get in and out of the building. Also they let us check in early and actually gave us a room with a view instead, to facilitate early check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Moody gardens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DUSTY7
Business
Allen, Texas
May 14, 2013

Great Anniversary Celebration

We could not have asked or hoped for a more comfortable situation. We wee celebrating our 62nd wedding anniversary so speak from the point of view of SENIORS HA The room was comfortable. The view of the Gulf over the swimming pool was pleasant. The geographical location is superb. Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel dining room was as tasty as at any of the other eateries we visited on THE ISLAND. And the SERVICE was better

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pao2011
Business
Austin, TX, USA
May 13, 2013

weekend getaway

Nice clean hotel room, perfect for Galveston location, next to good restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Landry's has good sea food, a little pricey but nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shaina88
Business
Texas
Apr 28, 2013

Ruined Weekend

I reserved a Deluxe King Room with a Gulf View a month in advance. I live near Galveston, but reserved the room so that we could celebrate a birthday/anniversary weekend away from home. I got to the hotel right at check-in time 4pm. I was told that I had reserved a room with two doubles, not a king. I had already verified my reservations and the paper they had handed me to sign show 1K0D aka 1 King 0 Doubles. They then told me that there were no rooms available with a king size bed. I would not have wasted $200 for a room in Galveston, when I can just drive there if I wasn't getting a nice gulf view room. They then went from saying they had no king size beds available to offering a city view room. Once again, I reserved a month in advance for this special occasion and got a more expensive room because I wanted to be on the water side. I eventually just cancelled my reservation. The hotel did not offer to compensate me for the fact that they overbooked and gave my room away. I called Hilton Honors, who I booked the room through, and they told me that despite all the rooms being different priced and me reserving a more expensive one for the weekend, that what I reserve is ultimately just a preference and means nothing. Good Luck to anyone with reservations, just remember that in Hiltons eyes it's just a preference! I went to the hotel Galvez and told them what happened and they got me a gulf view room at a discounted price even though my bad experience wasn't through them. That's what I was expecting, lesson learned with Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trottersclub
Business
michigan
Mar 28, 2013

One night stay

Had the room for one night. Staff was fine. One of us is 6'2 and found that the toilet in the room was so short (low to the ground) that he had trouble sitting down onto it to use it. Also we found when cleaning up after using this toilet you got your hand wet in the water it was such an odd toilet! Otherwise room was fine and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top