$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Hilton Galveston Island Resort

4 stars
View map of 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
141 reviews
Family Getaway

We actually booked this hotel 30 minutes before checking in, after cancelling a reservation at a... See full review

  • VERONICA H.
  • Jun 25, 2015
Cool Place

Great place and the staff were awesome. I'll ding it on paying for wifi though. See full review

  • Scott K.
  • Apr 14, 2015
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico and the famous Galveston Seawall, the Hilton Galveston Island Resort is the ultimate relaxation retreat. Located on 30 acres, the 240 guest rooms and suites give the hotel an upscale residential feel, while the palm trees in the lobby further the island feel. The hotel is a proud recipient of a prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating. Some Hilton Galveston Island Resort rooms offer private balconies with Gulf views.
Rooms
In the island-inspired rooms at the Hilton Galveston Island Resort, Hilton signature Serenity Beds, featuring Serta Sweet Dreams mattresses, invite visitors to relax after a day spent enjoying the beach or Galveston attractions. Beds are made with 250-thread count sheets, luxury duvets and nonallergenic pillows. Guests can enjoy On-Demand video games and movies on a state-of-the-art flat-screen television. Pay-per-view movies are also available. Expected amenities include a hair-dryer and iron/ironing board, while evening room service is available. Wi-Fi available in guest rooms (fee applies).
Property features
Multiple restaurants and lounges on the resort property offer a variety of culinary options, from seafood to pasta. A family-friendly Rainforest Care is on the 30-acre property. When an extra dose of relaxation is on the agenda, make an appointment at the adjacent Spa San Luis, featuring special Vitamin C and eye-contouring treatments (fees apply). Those aiming to keep up an exercise routine can visit the on-site fitness center or the pool, one that includes a hot tub.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas
  • Multiple restaurants on site
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar, hot tub
Nearby attractions
  • Galveston Beaches (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Fort Crockett (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • City Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (3 mi/4 km)
  • 1877 Tall Ship Elisa (3 mi/5 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (3 mi/5 km)
  • Grand 1894 Opera House (3 mi/5 km)
  • Moody Gardens Tropical Rain Forest (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Offers 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
  • Business center with fax and photocopying services (fees apply)
  • Secretarial service available (fee applies)
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (39 mi/62 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Galveston Island Resort also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shaina88
Business
Texas
Apr 28, 2013

Ruined Weekend

I reserved a Deluxe King Room with a Gulf View a month in advance. I live near Galveston, but reserved the room so that we could celebrate a birthday/anniversary weekend away from home. I got to the hotel right at check-in time 4pm. I was told that I had reserved a room with two doubles, not a king. I had already verified my reservations and the paper they had handed me to sign show 1K0D aka 1 King 0 Doubles. They then told me that there were no rooms available with a king size bed. I would not have wasted $200 for a room in Galveston, when I can just drive there if I wasn't getting a nice gulf view room. They then went from saying they had no king size beds available to offering a city view room. Once again, I reserved a month in advance for this special occasion and got a more expensive room because I wanted to be on the water side. I eventually just cancelled my reservation. The hotel did not offer to compensate me for the fact that they overbooked and gave my room away. I called Hilton Honors, who I booked the room through, and they told me that despite all the rooms being different priced and me reserving a more expensive one for the weekend, that what I reserve is ultimately just a preference and means nothing. Good Luck to anyone with reservations, just remember that in Hiltons eyes it's just a preference! I went to the hotel Galvez and told them what happened and they got me a gulf view room at a discounted price even though my bad experience wasn't through them. That's what I was expecting, lesson learned with Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
X-Mastraveller
Business
Germany
Jan 2, 2010

No Hilton Standard

.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jun 27, 2010

Not what I expected

The room was not clean. It looked like they hadn't dusted the lights and towel bars in months. The balcony could have been nice but the AC blew hot air on you. Don't pay extra for a balcony! The breakfast was the same every morning which was OK for a couple of days but not worth it even though it was included after that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
1975 tommy
Business
Texas
Jul 6, 2014

horrible for the price

Went there for the 4th of July and the room wasn't that nice and the bathroom was dirty. Told the front desk that I wanted to change rooms and they said they were booked so I asked if they could send someone to reclean and they said there Was no way to get to it. It was a mistake to stay there. I would have gave their staff a 5 if the guy on the golf cart wasn't so rude when I first parked he pulled up to me and told me he was going to car a wrecker and have my truck towed I asked why and he said if I dont eat at Landrys he would have it towed I told him I was going to the hotel and check in then go to the rainforest and eat and he said it dont matter but its one big parking lot for the whole resort didnt make any sense to me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GA
Business
College Station, TX
Mar 19, 2011

Trip to Galveston, TX

The hotel was quite a surprise for the price. We arrived after 4:00 PM as indicated and were given the keys to our room, we were surprised when we got to our room that it was not ready and waited for more than 30 minutes to be assigned another room. The manager apologized for the inconvenience. The pool was not that clean; however, Galveston has very dirty beaches and it was quite understandable that the pool will be that way. The number of staff was insufficient to attend all guests, we observed the mess at the bar and restaurant. The staff was stretched to the limit and many guests were very upset. Spring break is a very busy time and the managers of the hotel need to increase their staff. The room was very small, the TV was not as expected (no batteries on the remote). Overall the hotel was below average. Parking was quite difficult but we understand it is spring break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

It was close to the beach, which was great.

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cristina C.
Business
Austin, Texas
Mar 11, 2013

Disappointed

Very disapointed to learn that even though we reserved a balcony a month or more prior to our trip we were not able to get a balcony. We were amazed that no apology was made for this error. We felt that The Hilton did not care that we had just driven 5 hours. Very unhappy with the customer service especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Dlk
Business
Galveston
Apr 22, 2013

Mistake so disappointed

I paid extra for the delux room overlooking the gulf with a king size bed. I called ahead to make sure that the hotel knew that I needed a late check in. When I checked in, I was given a room without a view on the 2nd floor with double beds. I was also asked to pay when I had already paid. I had to accept the double bed the first night and had to ask several times to switch to the type of room I had paid for before it was granted. The hotel did attempt to make ammends with free breakfast and valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Minpinmama
Business
18252
Oct 11, 2013

Terrible stay

From Hilton, we expected better. They want you to spend all your money there: no fridge or microwave in the rooms + Everywhere else we have ever stayed, the hotel has brochures for attractions and eateries...not here. They expect you to eat in their restaurant and stay in their pool the whole trip. If you dont want to leave your room, perfect! Many people on my floor ordered room service and their dirty dishes layed in the hall all day long. Our oceanview balcony overlooked parking lots and was very loud, seats dont even face the ocean! Housekeeping was unpredictable: the one day they didnt even get to our room til after 4:00! Cleaning supplies left in our bathroom. Sometimes they left you fresh cups, tea, glasses, etc. other days not. Pool is not locked in. Anyone can just come in off the street to use it(& they did). Police were called to the pool for rowdy people. After all that, I GOT CHARGED TWICE! I will NEVER stay at another Hilton again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RJ
Business
Plano, TX
May 15, 2011

Disappointed

We arrived at the hotel's check-in time of 4:00 PM and asked for a room 3rd floor or higher in hopes of getting an ocean view. The clerk gave me a 2nd floor room with no apologies, as if she didn't listen to me. We were then informed it would be ten minutes until the room was ready, then another then minutes, eventually that became an hour and half. I asked them to comp me free internet service in the room, due to wait, when we could have done something else, if they hadn't kept stringing us along ten minutes at a time. They refused, and offered nothing else. The hotel was busy and they seemed understaffed for the load, but I really expected better from a Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gaido's was delicious. I really enjoyed the pecan crusted redfish.

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 14, 2009

Hotel was not that good and service poor

Hotel room was dirty and room service and maid service was very poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We do not recommend this hote.

Back to menu Return to top