$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Hilton Galveston Island Resort

4 stars
5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
132 reviews
Mardi Gra Galveston

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff was very friendly. See full review

  • Britt Marie
  • Feb 24, 2014
it was wonderful in every aspect.

First and foremost Thank you, Amanda on the evening shift she was awesome, extremely polite. Very... See full review

  • Squeaky1911
  • Dec 9, 2013
Luxury resort property with every amenity
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico and the famous Galveston Seawall, the Hilton Galveston Island Resort is the ultimate relaxation retreat. Located on 30 acres, the 240 guest rooms and suites give the hotel an upscale residential feel, while the palm trees in the lobby further the island feel. The hotel is a proud recipient of a prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating. Some Hilton Galveston Island Resort rooms offer private balconies with Gulf views.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas
  • Multiple restaurants on site
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar, hot tub
Rooms
In the island-inspired rooms at the Hilton Galveston Island Resort, Hilton signature Serenity Beds, featuring Serta Sweet Dreams mattresses, invite visitors to relax after a day spent enjoying the beach or Galveston attractions. Beds are made with 250-thread count sheets, luxury duvets and nonallergenic pillows. Guests can enjoy On-Demand video games and movies on a state-of-the-art flat-screen television. Pay-per-view movies are also available. Expected amenities include a hair-dryer and iron/ironing board, while evening room service is available. Wi-Fi available in guest rooms (fee applies).
Features
Multiple restaurants and lounges on the resort property offer a variety of culinary options, from seafood to pasta. A family-friendly Rainforest Care is on the 30-acre property. When an extra dose of relaxation is on the agenda, make an appointment at the adjacent Spa San Luis, featuring special Vitamin C and eye-contouring treatments (fees apply). Those aiming to keep up an exercise routine can visit the on-site fitness center or the pool, one that includes a hot tub.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (39 mi/62 km)
Attractions
  • Galveston Beaches (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Fort Crockett (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • City Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (3 mi/4 km)
  • 1877 Tall Ship Elisa (3 mi/5 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (3 mi/5 km)
  • Grand 1894 Opera House (3 mi/5 km)
  • Moody Gardens Tropical Rain Forest (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Offers 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
  • Business center with fax and photocopying services (fees apply)
  • Secretarial service available (fee applies)

Hotel Map

29.2706 -94.8213
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 50.00, MI, S; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 75.00, MI, S; Galveston Intl Scholes Field Airport, (GLS), 3.00, MI, E;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Galveston Island Resort also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Good Wife
Business
Port Neches, Tx
Aug 11, 2010

Great Trip

I had stayed at this hotel before, for a business convention. I wanted to bring my husband here for our anniversary. We had a perfect stay. We swam in the pool, walked on the beach, swam again, walked to a really nice dinner, and had a great breakfast! The room was parallel to the beach so we turned the couch around (stirring up a lot of dust!) and watched the beach & people. The bedding, bath amenities and coffee pot made us so comfortable. We had a fantastic stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several great places to eat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
another mom
Business
Texas
Aug 6, 2010

Nice but overpriced

The hotel is pretty, clean. Front desk employees were not very helpful or even friendly...just doing their job. However, the rest of the staff was very nice, always smiling and ready to help. Restaurant food was very good. The price we paid per night was way too much for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stores on the Strand were great...most of them are finally open and running now.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerville,Texas
Jul 25, 2010

Enjoyable

Room was clean but 2nd level hallway floor needed cleaning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tecfireguy
Business
Beaumont ,Texas
Jul 23, 2010

Check in time too late?

The only complaint that I had was that the check-in time was 400p, that is too late. I believe the industry average is 200p. It made it difficult on the first day getting checked in and going to eat that evening. Other than that it was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Moody Gardens is worth the the short drive and cost. it was very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Spring, Tx
Jul 13, 2010

Great night away.

The rooms were very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summer 2010
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 10, 2010

Summer 2010

We paid for a room with a balcony and called a week in advance to confirm and upon arrival, we were told that they didn't have any balcony rooms available. Judging by the other reviews that we had read prior to our trip, this seems to be a common problem with this hotel. The room was nice the first day we got there, but the second day our bathroom floor was not cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori-Vegas First Timer
Business
Harker Heights, TX
Jul 6, 2010

Good Choice

We stayed for a long weekend with our teenage daughter and her friend. The swimming pool was the best feature of the hotel. It wasn't too crowded or noisy and we were able to relax while the girls enjoyed the pool. It would have been great if the swim-up bar had later hours. It closes at 7:00pm. They had a guy that played guitar and sang...he can play & sing, but he was a little too "easy-listening" and you couldn't hear him on the other side of the bar/waterfall. The breakfast staff in the restaurant were horrible. They didn't have to do anything but bring drinks (it's a buffet at breakfast) and they constantly seemed put out. Two of them even argued with each other right in front of everyone....that was very unprofessional. They need more than one bar tender at their inside bar so that if one goes on break or needs to go get supplies from the kitchen, someone else will be there to fix drinks. We waited for about 20 minutes for her to come back so we could get our "drinky-poo". It's very clean and our room lived up to our expectations. I still think hotels like these should have a fridge/microwave in their rooms. We ate out everynight and it would have been nice to take some left overs back to the room to heat up for a late night snack. This hotel offered no snack vending...only room service which can get sort of expensive. Overall, this is one of the best hotel choices on Galveston Island. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Galveston. It does have a beach area outside the hotel (across the street). I do think it would be a great idea if all the business owners along Seawall Blvd. would get together and come up with a plan to keep the beach a little cleaner....lots of kelp washes up and it can get a little nasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jun 27, 2010

Not what I expected

The room was not clean. It looked like they hadn't dusted the lights and towel bars in months. The balcony could have been nice but the AC blew hot air on you. Don't pay extra for a balcony! The breakfast was the same every morning which was OK for a couple of days but not worth it even though it was included after that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RowansMom
Business
Austin,Tx
Jun 22, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price!

I booked this hotel 2 days before our arrival and for a great value at $99! Check-in was quick and easy and parking, although it was pretty full, was still available for free. The room was very spacious even with a king size bed and allowed us to setup our toddlers pack-n-play for his bedtime with plenty of room to move about. We had a balcony w/ some view of the ocean and could also see the pool. From the 3rd floor it was pretty quiet even though the parking lot was below. We slept SOUNDLY and enjoyed the nice amenities included in the room. If you are someone who wants to see "pretty decor" in a hotel room, you'll be pleased here. They definitely put money into it. Bathroom was nice as well with plenty of towels. This was a day beach trip for Father's Day weekend and totally worth it. We will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely visit The Spot for some great burgers. The price is right and its great after spending a day on the beach. Although "Salsas" restaurant was recommended in the daily paper, it wasn't all that great. Overpriced margaritas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K. G.
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jun 15, 2010

Great Hotel!

The location of this hotel is ideal. The beach is directly across the street and Landry's Seafood, Rainforest Cafe, and IHOP are right next door. The only time we left the area was to go to Moody Gardens. The room and pool were also extremely nice. My only issue is that we could not get in a room until 4 pm which was the check-in time. In most hotels you can get checked in a little early. Overall, I really liked the hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Galveston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Moody Gardens is not that great. The Aquairium was good, but the rest was disappointing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top