$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Hilton Galveston Island Resort

4 stars
View map of 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston TX
Aug 15, 2010

Great Weekend with my Girls

Stayed Aug. 13-15, 2010 with daughter and 18 yr. old granddaughter. Room overlooked pool and gulf and was roomy enough for all of us. Two double beds. The only thing about the room that we did not care for was the air-conditioner - very noisy and kept coming on constantly. We were on the third floor and we would definitely stay at the Hilton Galveston again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother with valet parking which is $10 per day. Drop your luggage off at front with someone and drive around to open parking. Short walk back and then you can check in. Saved us money and later when you go to your car, you can use the side entrance which makes the walk car very short.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 12, 2010

mid week getaway

great location, great pool, great view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rain Forest Cafe shares the Hilton parking lot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Good Wife
Business
Port Neches, Tx
Aug 11, 2010

Great Trip

I had stayed at this hotel before, for a business convention. I wanted to bring my husband here for our anniversary. We had a perfect stay. We swam in the pool, walked on the beach, swam again, walked to a really nice dinner, and had a great breakfast! The room was parallel to the beach so we turned the couch around (stirring up a lot of dust!) and watched the beach & people. The bedding, bath amenities and coffee pot made us so comfortable. We had a fantastic stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several great places to eat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
another mom
Business
Texas
Aug 6, 2010

Nice but overpriced

The hotel is pretty, clean. Front desk employees were not very helpful or even friendly...just doing their job. However, the rest of the staff was very nice, always smiling and ready to help. Restaurant food was very good. The price we paid per night was way too much for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stores on the Strand were great...most of them are finally open and running now.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerville,Texas
Jul 25, 2010

Enjoyable

Room was clean but 2nd level hallway floor needed cleaning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tecfireguy
Business
Beaumont ,Texas
Jul 23, 2010

Check in time too late?

The only complaint that I had was that the check-in time was 400p, that is too late. I believe the industry average is 200p. It made it difficult on the first day getting checked in and going to eat that evening. Other than that it was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Moody Gardens is worth the the short drive and cost. it was very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Spring, Tx
Jul 13, 2010

Great night away.

The rooms were very nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summer 2010
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 10, 2010

Summer 2010

We paid for a room with a balcony and called a week in advance to confirm and upon arrival, we were told that they didn't have any balcony rooms available. Judging by the other reviews that we had read prior to our trip, this seems to be a common problem with this hotel. The room was nice the first day we got there, but the second day our bathroom floor was not cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori-Vegas First Timer
Business
Harker Heights, TX
Jul 6, 2010

Good Choice

We stayed for a long weekend with our teenage daughter and her friend. The swimming pool was the best feature of the hotel. It wasn't too crowded or noisy and we were able to relax while the girls enjoyed the pool. It would have been great if the swim-up bar had later hours. It closes at 7:00pm. They had a guy that played guitar and sang...he can play & sing, but he was a little too "easy-listening" and you couldn't hear him on the other side of the bar/waterfall. The breakfast staff in the restaurant were horrible. They didn't have to do anything but bring drinks (it's a buffet at breakfast) and they constantly seemed put out. Two of them even argued with each other right in front of everyone....that was very unprofessional. They need more than one bar tender at their inside bar so that if one goes on break or needs to go get supplies from the kitchen, someone else will be there to fix drinks. We waited for about 20 minutes for her to come back so we could get our "drinky-poo". It's very clean and our room lived up to our expectations. I still think hotels like these should have a fridge/microwave in their rooms. We ate out everynight and it would have been nice to take some left overs back to the room to heat up for a late night snack. This hotel offered no snack vending...only room service which can get sort of expensive. Overall, this is one of the best hotel choices on Galveston Island. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Galveston. It does have a beach area outside the hotel (across the street). I do think it would be a great idea if all the business owners along Seawall Blvd. would get together and come up with a plan to keep the beach a little cleaner....lots of kelp washes up and it can get a little nasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jun 27, 2010

Not what I expected

The room was not clean. It looked like they hadn't dusted the lights and towel bars in months. The balcony could have been nice but the AC blew hot air on you. Don't pay extra for a balcony! The breakfast was the same every morning which was OK for a couple of days but not worth it even though it was included after that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top