$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Hilton Galveston Island Resort

4 stars
5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
132 reviews
Mardi Gra Galveston

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff was very friendly. See full review

  • Britt Marie
  • Feb 24, 2014
it was wonderful in every aspect.

First and foremost Thank you, Amanda on the evening shift she was awesome, extremely polite. Very... See full review

  • Squeaky1911
  • Dec 9, 2013
Luxury resort property with every amenity
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico and the famous Galveston Seawall, the Hilton Galveston Island Resort is the ultimate relaxation retreat. Located on 30 acres, the 240 guest rooms and suites give the hotel an upscale residential feel, while the palm trees in the lobby further the island feel. The hotel is a proud recipient of a prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating. Some Hilton Galveston Island Resort rooms offer private balconies with Gulf views.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas
  • Multiple restaurants on site
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar, hot tub
Rooms
In the island-inspired rooms at the Hilton Galveston Island Resort, Hilton signature Serenity Beds, featuring Serta Sweet Dreams mattresses, invite visitors to relax after a day spent enjoying the beach or Galveston attractions. Beds are made with 250-thread count sheets, luxury duvets and nonallergenic pillows. Guests can enjoy On-Demand video games and movies on a state-of-the-art flat-screen television. Pay-per-view movies are also available. Expected amenities include a hair-dryer and iron/ironing board, while evening room service is available. Wi-Fi available in guest rooms (fee applies).
Features
Multiple restaurants and lounges on the resort property offer a variety of culinary options, from seafood to pasta. A family-friendly Rainforest Care is on the 30-acre property. When an extra dose of relaxation is on the agenda, make an appointment at the adjacent Spa San Luis, featuring special Vitamin C and eye-contouring treatments (fees apply). Those aiming to keep up an exercise routine can visit the on-site fitness center or the pool, one that includes a hot tub.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (39 mi/62 km)
Attractions
  • Galveston Beaches (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Fort Crockett (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • City Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (3 mi/4 km)
  • 1877 Tall Ship Elisa (3 mi/5 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (3 mi/5 km)
  • Grand 1894 Opera House (3 mi/5 km)
  • Moody Gardens Tropical Rain Forest (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Offers 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
  • Business center with fax and photocopying services (fees apply)
  • Secretarial service available (fee applies)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Galveston Island Resort also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
branching out grandma
Business
San Antonio,TX
May 13, 2013

Birthday getaway

Overall this was great, however, our bathroom was not cleaned on one day. I'm sure this was an over site because the other days everything was cleaned. The coffee provided in the room was actually not drinkable. I dined in the restaurant and personnel and service was fantastic. The pool was beautiful with plenty of seating area and the pool was designed for all ages. I would stay there again. It was convenient to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shaina88
Business
Texas
Apr 28, 2013

Ruined Weekend

I reserved a Deluxe King Room with a Gulf View a month in advance. I live near Galveston, but reserved the room so that we could celebrate a birthday/anniversary weekend away from home. I got to the hotel right at check-in time 4pm. I was told that I had reserved a room with two doubles, not a king. I had already verified my reservations and the paper they had handed me to sign show 1K0D aka 1 King 0 Doubles. They then told me that there were no rooms available with a king size bed. I would not have wasted $200 for a room in Galveston, when I can just drive there if I wasn't getting a nice gulf view room. They then went from saying they had no king size beds available to offering a city view room. Once again, I reserved a month in advance for this special occasion and got a more expensive room because I wanted to be on the water side. I eventually just cancelled my reservation. The hotel did not offer to compensate me for the fact that they overbooked and gave my room away. I called Hilton Honors, who I booked the room through, and they told me that despite all the rooms being different priced and me reserving a more expensive one for the weekend, that what I reserve is ultimately just a preference and means nothing. Good Luck to anyone with reservations, just remember that in Hiltons eyes it's just a preference! I went to the hotel Galvez and told them what happened and they got me a gulf view room at a discounted price even though my bad experience wasn't through them. That's what I was expecting, lesson learned with Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Dlk
Business
Galveston
Apr 22, 2013

Mistake so disappointed

I paid extra for the delux room overlooking the gulf with a king size bed. I called ahead to make sure that the hotel knew that I needed a late check in. When I checked in, I was given a room without a view on the 2nd floor with double beds. I was also asked to pay when I had already paid. I had to accept the double bed the first night and had to ask several times to switch to the type of room I had paid for before it was granted. The hotel did attempt to make ammends with free breakfast and valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fernando from katy
Business
katy texas
Apr 3, 2013

great experience!!!! awesome

My stay at the hotel was spectacular. Very courteous staff. Very professional. Great clean room. Awesome awesome pool. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very very close to the piers. Good fishing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trottersclub
Business
michigan
Mar 28, 2013

One night stay

Had the room for one night. Staff was fine. One of us is 6'2 and found that the toilet in the room was so short (low to the ground) that he had trouble sitting down onto it to use it. Also we found when cleaning up after using this toilet you got your hand wet in the water it was such an odd toilet! Otherwise room was fine and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cristina C.
Business
Austin, Texas
Mar 11, 2013

Disappointed

Very disapointed to learn that even though we reserved a balcony a month or more prior to our trip we were not able to get a balcony. We were amazed that no apology was made for this error. We felt that The Hilton did not care that we had just driven 5 hours. Very unhappy with the customer service especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louisiana traveler
Business
Homer, LA 71040, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Louisiana

Friendly staff. Was put in a smoking room and they upgraded it. Nice pool. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cleo2
Business
Galveston, Texas
Mar 14, 2012

It was okay

I expected more but it was just okay. Anyway the location is fantastic! I would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelerabroad
Business
houston, TX
Feb 19, 2012

Appeals to Many?

It was a somewhat "loud" resort that attracts all sorts of people -- from the wealthier crowds to the drunk, beer can holding type of guy, from the group blaring hip hop from their rooms to children running around the hotel. I think if you're looking for an escape, this is not it as we didn't feel like it was a relaxing evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HD Goldie
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Great start to a vacation.

We stayed at the Hilton prior to boarding a cruise out of Galveston. Not only was it a pleasant stay, we found they provide free parking during your cruise - with a shuttle to and from the cruise terminal. We got a great deal on the room and saved another chunk on parking fees! The only reason I wouldn't rate this hotel five stars is Hilton's insistence on charging for internet. Don't order the breakfast buffet unless you are a really big eater - ordering off the menu is less expensive with large portions and very tasty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top