$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Hilton Galveston Island Resort

4 stars
5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
132 reviews
Mardi Gra Galveston

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff was very friendly. See full review

  • Britt Marie
  • Feb 24, 2014
it was wonderful in every aspect.

First and foremost Thank you, Amanda on the evening shift she was awesome, extremely polite. Very... See full review

  • Squeaky1911
  • Dec 9, 2013
Luxury resort property with every amenity
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico and the famous Galveston Seawall, the Hilton Galveston Island Resort is the ultimate relaxation retreat. Located on 30 acres, the 240 guest rooms and suites give the hotel an upscale residential feel, while the palm trees in the lobby further the island feel. The hotel is a proud recipient of a prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating. Some Hilton Galveston Island Resort rooms offer private balconies with Gulf views.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas
  • Multiple restaurants on site
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar, hot tub
Rooms
In the island-inspired rooms at the Hilton Galveston Island Resort, Hilton signature Serenity Beds, featuring Serta Sweet Dreams mattresses, invite visitors to relax after a day spent enjoying the beach or Galveston attractions. Beds are made with 250-thread count sheets, luxury duvets and nonallergenic pillows. Guests can enjoy On-Demand video games and movies on a state-of-the-art flat-screen television. Pay-per-view movies are also available. Expected amenities include a hair-dryer and iron/ironing board, while evening room service is available. Wi-Fi available in guest rooms (fee applies).
Features
Multiple restaurants and lounges on the resort property offer a variety of culinary options, from seafood to pasta. A family-friendly Rainforest Care is on the 30-acre property. When an extra dose of relaxation is on the agenda, make an appointment at the adjacent Spa San Luis, featuring special Vitamin C and eye-contouring treatments (fees apply). Those aiming to keep up an exercise routine can visit the on-site fitness center or the pool, one that includes a hot tub.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (39 mi/62 km)
Attractions
  • Galveston Beaches (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Fort Crockett (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • City Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (3 mi/4 km)
  • 1877 Tall Ship Elisa (3 mi/5 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (3 mi/5 km)
  • Grand 1894 Opera House (3 mi/5 km)
  • Moody Gardens Tropical Rain Forest (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Offers 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
  • Business center with fax and photocopying services (fees apply)
  • Secretarial service available (fee applies)

Hotel Map

29.2706 -94.8213
Nearby airports
William P. Hobby Airport, (HOU), 50.00, MI, S; George Bush Intercontinental Airport, (IAH), 75.00, MI, S; Galveston Intl Scholes Field Airport, (GLS), 3.00, MI, E;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Galveston Island Resort also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crazymom
Business
new caney, tx
Jul 8, 2009

Hilton Galvston Island Resort Stay revie

The check in staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Stand is neat expierence

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mo's Mutt
Business
Dayton, Texas
Jul 1, 2009

fun trip for me and my daughter

The hotel was GREAT!!! very very nice, safe ,cozy, it was so COZY!! my 21 year old daughter and i went there for a get away and felt very safe... the staff was geat, the cleaning people were very friendly..we had reservations at the commadore but cancelled at last min and SO GLAD WE DID!!! only problem i saw is that they let charges go to room from pool bar without really checking id...or even asking names first, that could be a problem. We went to the Moody Mansion and rode bikes and were going to go to Moody Gardens but the pool was so nice that we stayed there all day instead. All in all i was very happy with the trip. I did run into a friend of mine there who got the same 99.00 a night rate and he just went right to the front desk instead of going through a service like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The food i got at Joes Crab shack ant Tortugas was not good.... as matter of fact really didnt have a good meal there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 21, 2009

Great swim up bar

Very nice rooms with comfortable bed. Pool with towel/drink/food service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 14, 2009

Hotel was not that good and service poor

Hotel room was dirty and room service and maid service was very poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We do not recommend this hote.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington state
Jun 8, 2009

Where's My Balcony?

We were there with our children and grandchildren. It was fun having the beach right across the street since some members of our family had never been. The only thing my husband & I really missed was having a balcony with our room to relax on and watch the sunset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rainforest Cafe is great if you're travelling with kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jake super man
Business
austin, texas
May 26, 2009

weekend getaway

the hotel was very nice, it just smelled in the halls. we didn't have any problems with the staff and there was a guitarist at the hotel when we stayed there. lots of kids but it was fine. overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

ihop next door is a plus. in hotel dining not that great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston tx
May 17, 2009

Beautiful & convenient

Relaxing getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Max Muscle
Business
Aubrey, TX
May 11, 2009

Beach Bicycle trip

The location of the property, the location of the room in the hotel was exactly as expected. The Hilton does not allow Bicycles or coolers(no fridge in the room) to the room. The bike policy was explained (2) days after we were there. The very fine bell man [...] helped us get our bicycles to the room when we first arrived. He helped pretty much everyday we were there answering any questions, anything we needed. After one of our rides we returned to the hotel, as we were catching the elevator upstairs, a lady decided to hassle us about our bikes. It was explained at this time the hotel has a strict no bike policy. Kim and I are standing there, after riding 30 miles with $4000 worth of bicycles, saying to myself how secure is your parking lot and can we talk about this after a shower. It all turned out okay, she let us up. Kim felt bad because she gave up [...], I'm pretty sure he'll be okay, Him and the other gentlemen at the door were the best. I would have to compliment all the staff with exception to the lady that hassled us at the elevator. I think I would recommend the place but the price seems steep for the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mario's Italian, Benno's Seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 8, 2008

Good location. That's it

This hotel's location was great because is at the seawall and the beach and next to the convention center in Galveston where I had a meeting. Good restaurants are at walking distance. As per the Hotel itself, don't expect anything better than your regular cheap motel because you won't find it. I give 3 stars out of five

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rainforest Cafe, Landry's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anclatinqueen
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 7, 2008

Wonderful accommodations

The staff was friendly and helpful, always courteous. The only exception was the IT help who were less than helpful. They turned me over to an off-site IT help line that never picked up the phone, so we gave up. Our room was clean, well maintained, beautiful view, right across the road from the beach and within walking distance of several places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the Galveston beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top