$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Hilton Galveston Island Resort

4 stars
View map of 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mo's Mutt
Business
Dayton, Texas
Jul 1, 2009

fun trip for me and my daughter

The hotel was GREAT!!! very very nice, safe ,cozy, it was so COZY!! my 21 year old daughter and i went there for a get away and felt very safe... the staff was geat, the cleaning people were very friendly..we had reservations at the commadore but cancelled at last min and SO GLAD WE DID!!! only problem i saw is that they let charges go to room from pool bar without really checking id...or even asking names first, that could be a problem. We went to the Moody Mansion and rode bikes and were going to go to Moody Gardens but the pool was so nice that we stayed there all day instead. All in all i was very happy with the trip. I did run into a friend of mine there who got the same 99.00 a night rate and he just went right to the front desk instead of going through a service like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The food i got at Joes Crab shack ant Tortugas was not good.... as matter of fact really didnt have a good meal there.

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 21, 2009

Great swim up bar

Very nice rooms with comfortable bed. Pool with towel/drink/food service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 14, 2009

Hotel was not that good and service poor

Hotel room was dirty and room service and maid service was very poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We do not recommend this hote.

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington state
Jun 8, 2009

Where's My Balcony?

We were there with our children and grandchildren. It was fun having the beach right across the street since some members of our family had never been. The only thing my husband & I really missed was having a balcony with our room to relax on and watch the sunset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rainforest Cafe is great if you're travelling with kids.

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jake super man
Business
austin, texas
May 26, 2009

weekend getaway

the hotel was very nice, it just smelled in the halls. we didn't have any problems with the staff and there was a guitarist at the hotel when we stayed there. lots of kids but it was fine. overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

ihop next door is a plus. in hotel dining not that great.

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston tx
May 17, 2009

Beautiful & convenient

Relaxing getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Max Muscle
Business
Aubrey, TX
May 11, 2009

Beach Bicycle trip

The location of the property, the location of the room in the hotel was exactly as expected. The Hilton does not allow Bicycles or coolers(no fridge in the room) to the room. The bike policy was explained (2) days after we were there. The very fine bell man [...] helped us get our bicycles to the room when we first arrived. He helped pretty much everyday we were there answering any questions, anything we needed. After one of our rides we returned to the hotel, as we were catching the elevator upstairs, a lady decided to hassle us about our bikes. It was explained at this time the hotel has a strict no bike policy. Kim and I are standing there, after riding 30 miles with $4000 worth of bicycles, saying to myself how secure is your parking lot and can we talk about this after a shower. It all turned out okay, she let us up. Kim felt bad because she gave up [...], I'm pretty sure he'll be okay, Him and the other gentlemen at the door were the best. I would have to compliment all the staff with exception to the lady that hassled us at the elevator. I think I would recommend the place but the price seems steep for the overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mario's Italian, Benno's Seafood.

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 8, 2008

Good location. That's it

This hotel's location was great because is at the seawall and the beach and next to the convention center in Galveston where I had a meeting. Good restaurants are at walking distance. As per the Hotel itself, don't expect anything better than your regular cheap motel because you won't find it. I give 3 stars out of five

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rainforest Cafe, Landry's

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anclatinqueen
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 7, 2008

Wonderful accommodations

The staff was friendly and helpful, always courteous. The only exception was the IT help who were less than helpful. They turned me over to an off-site IT help line that never picked up the phone, so we gave up. Our room was clean, well maintained, beautiful view, right across the road from the beach and within walking distance of several places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the Galveston beach.

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 27, 2008

madri gras!!!!!

My husband and myself were both very pleased with our stay. We will definately go back the next time we decide to stay in Galveston.The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a wide variety of choices to eat at , all short walking distance. It was Madri Gras weekend and we had an awesome!! time.

Back to menu Return to top