$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Hilton Galveston Island Resort

4 stars
View map of 5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
141 reviews
Family Getaway

We actually booked this hotel 30 minutes before checking in, after cancelling a reservation at a... See full review

  • VERONICA H.
  • Jun 25, 2015
Cool Place

Great place and the staff were awesome. I'll ding it on paying for wifi though. See full review

  • Scott K.
  • Apr 14, 2015
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico and the famous Galveston Seawall, the Hilton Galveston Island Resort is the ultimate relaxation retreat. Located on 30 acres, the 240 guest rooms and suites give the hotel an upscale residential feel, while the palm trees in the lobby further the island feel. The hotel is a proud recipient of a prestigious AAA Four Diamond Rating. Some Hilton Galveston Island Resort rooms offer private balconies with Gulf views.
Rooms
In the island-inspired rooms at the Hilton Galveston Island Resort, Hilton signature Serenity Beds, featuring Serta Sweet Dreams mattresses, invite visitors to relax after a day spent enjoying the beach or Galveston attractions. Beds are made with 250-thread count sheets, luxury duvets and nonallergenic pillows. Guests can enjoy On-Demand video games and movies on a state-of-the-art flat-screen television. Pay-per-view movies are also available. Expected amenities include a hair-dryer and iron/ironing board, while evening room service is available. Wi-Fi available in guest rooms (fee applies).
Property features
Multiple restaurants and lounges on the resort property offer a variety of culinary options, from seafood to pasta. A family-friendly Rainforest Care is on the 30-acre property. When an extra dose of relaxation is on the agenda, make an appointment at the adjacent Spa San Luis, featuring special Vitamin C and eye-contouring treatments (fees apply). Those aiming to keep up an exercise routine can visit the on-site fitness center or the pool, one that includes a hot tub.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas
  • Multiple restaurants on site
  • Outdoor pool with swim-up bar, hot tub
Nearby attractions
  • Galveston Beaches (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Fort Crockett (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • City Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (3 mi/4 km)
  • 1877 Tall Ship Elisa (3 mi/5 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (3 mi/5 km)
  • Grand 1894 Opera House (3 mi/5 km)
  • Moody Gardens Tropical Rain Forest (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Offers 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Audiovisual equipment rental
  • Business center with fax and photocopying services (fees apply)
  • Secretarial service available (fee applies)
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (39 mi/62 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Galveston Island Resort also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Livingthelife
Galveston, TX, USA
Nov 19, 2011

Great Stay

Staff - knowledgable, courteous, helpful and attentive. Service - prompt Room very comfortable, loved toiletries; however robe was ripped at belt so there was no way to keep it attached to the robe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tiffany t.
Business
HOUSTON
Jun 25, 2015

Family trip

Dirty bathroom. No racks for hand towels and bath towels. Told front desk bathroom floor was filthy after check-in but no action taken. No place to hang swim suite. Very poor arrangement in bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VERONICA H.
Business
N/A
Jun 25, 2015

Family Getaway

We actually booked this hotel 30 minutes before checking in, after cancelling a reservation at a filthy hotel down the road. We tried to save money by booking the first hotel but no amount of savings would make us compromise our safety and comfort ever again. Lesson learned. I digress, that's a whole other post. For our middle class family, it was not cheap to book, but our stay was worth every penny. Pool was spectacular for both adults and kids. There is a beautiful pool bar and waterfall. Plenty of self parking available. There are several great restaurants within walking distance. We dined at the Rainforest Café one night. The beach is right across the street. Our room was clean, AC fully working, housekeeping/staff was polite, presentable, and always manning their station. (I feel I have to point that out now after seeing the staff at the other hotel. It was nightmarish.) Chose not to use Wi-Fi since there was a cost. We didn't really need it anyway. The only thing that was tough for us to get past was the fact that the elevators were on the fritz. We had to take the stairs for the most part (6th/top floor). Other than check out day with all our luggage, we really didn't mind. However, we are a family of 4, two kids ages 9 and 3 and we are blessed with our health and fitness. Others might not have been so lucky. It was just inconvenient. I would have liked to have been offered a small discount or a comp of some sort. Even a small apology would have been appreciated. Overall, we will definitely be booking again for our Galveston Getaways. Hopefully the elevators are fixed by then.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scott K.
Business
Houston
Apr 14, 2015

Cool Place

Great place and the staff were awesome. I'll ding it on paying for wifi though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boda de Prima
Business
Houston
Jan 6, 2015

Romantic Get Away

Great room, and very comfy beds!! Definitley going back during the summer... Also loved the heated pool, although i didnt get in.. Too cold outside for going in the pool//

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CAwilson1959
Business
Laguna Beach
Oct 4, 2014

nice location

Came here for business and forgot how beautiful Galveston is. Great location, adequate rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAlv15
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 10, 2014

Great Bday Getaway

Hotel nicely located close to the seawall. There was some construction but it did not impact our nice stay. Mostly stayed around the pool area which had a great atmosphere with live music. Drink prices a bit pricy but not outrages. Overall enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AJParker
Business
Houston
Aug 31, 2014

Not worth the money

Booked this room because of the ocean view balcony. The balcony was tiny...barely large enough for two people to sit in chairs. The room was humid and damp even with the A/C running the entire time. The staff was nice. Overall, was not worth what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
1975 tommy
Business
Texas
Jul 6, 2014

horrible for the price

Went there for the 4th of July and the room wasn't that nice and the bathroom was dirty. Told the front desk that I wanted to change rooms and they said they were booked so I asked if they could send someone to reclean and they said there Was no way to get to it. It was a mistake to stay there. I would have gave their staff a 5 if the guy on the golf cart wasn't so rude when I first parked he pulled up to me and told me he was going to car a wrecker and have my truck towed I asked why and he said if I dont eat at Landrys he would have it towed I told him I was going to the hotel and check in then go to the rainforest and eat and he said it dont matter but its one big parking lot for the whole resort didnt make any sense to me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elizabeth9765
Business
houston, tx
Jun 19, 2014

will never be back

Was extremely excited for a little getaway until we actually arrived at the hotel. We checked in late, but when we got to our room it reeked of smoke (nonsmoking room). Called the front desk immediately and they told me thank you for letting them know no apologies and no offer to be put in a different room. I was way to tired to try argue with them. The shower also had black stains all over it like they hadn't cleaned it. As far as everything else, the pool and staff there were amazing and the bed was comfortable. If I'm going to pay that much for a room, I expect a lot more from the staff and a clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Galveston Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kmc1423
Business
Louisiana
May 5, 2014

Loved it!

Great hotel. Had some A/C issues but staff was awesome with getting it taken care of. Some of the nicest hotel staff I've dealt with. Will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top