$83 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Harbor House

3 stars
Pier 21 #28, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
20 reviews
Harbor House

We enjoyed our stay at Harbor House. The staff was extremely friendly and made us always fee... See full review

  • Waldo3
  • Jan 6, 2013
Fantastic getaway

Great location and walking distance to restaurants and shops. See full review

  • nana jill
  • Dec 30, 2012
THE HARBOR HOUSE IS A 42 ROOM INN LOCATED ON THE PORT OF GALVESTON. THE HOTEL FEATURES NAUTICAL INSPIRED GUEST ROOMS WITH VIEWS OF THE HARBOR. A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST IS SERVED DAILY. THE HOTEL ALSO RUNS A SLIP MARINA LOCATED ON PROPERTY.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Outdoor parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Harbor House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.3097 -94.7927
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 0.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Harbor House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

3
threescompany
Dallas
Jul 5, 2012

Overrated

I booked the Harbor House for one night because of the great reviews I read. I have to say I believe the reviews were misleading. The only thing that makes this hotel a "boutique" hotel is the size. I feel as though the room was outdated, and didn't provide anything special. When we first entered the room there was a very strong and strange odor. It didn't smell clean and it was very muggy. There was a long hair on the nightstand and a comb left on the bed. I wasn't sure if the comb was something meant to be part of the toiletries in the bathroom, but it certainly doesn't belong on the bed. The bathtub/shower tile and fixtures were very old. The caulking was in terrible shape and the bottom of the tub was stained. There was a bug on the floor and in the shower. Overall, the room didn't feel especially crisp and clean. The TV is not a flat panel and you have to flip through each individual channel. This wouldn't normally be a complaint of mine, but our young child was with us on this trip and cartoons come in handy. I was also very disgusted with the fact that we had to pay to park our vehicle overnight in the hotel parking lot. That's a first for me. I loved the location as it is near the strand and away from the busy Seawall. The two staff we spoke with were friendly. The room was huge, and we never heard noise coming from the hall or nearby elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mosquito Cafe is nearby on 14th. It's a great little cafe!

Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

4
Dan from Dallas
Dallas, Texas
Jun 18, 2012

Quiet Location

Staff was very friendly and took care of a problem immediately. Very quiet room and good view. Continental breakfast was skimpy- coffee, sweet roll/bagel. Still, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

5
Wowed
Willis, TX, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great Place!

My husband and I visited Galveston just before Christmas to attend the play Tuna Christmas and decided to stay at Harbor House. What a great place! When we arrived we were greeted by Linda, who was absolutely lovely to deal with. We were delighted to be offered an upgrade on our room and it was great. Nice two room suite, comfortable bed, convenient to The Strand and great restaurants and fabulous views. What more could you ask for? We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

4
BEACH_CPL
AUSTIN, TX
Aug 8, 2011

Harbor House - August, 2011

Pros: 1. Nice small hotel. It is quiet, clean and well maintained. 2. Excellent nightly rates compared to other hotels in Galveston. However, felt nickele-and-dimed by additional charges. 3. Great location if you want to avoid the noise and traffic along Seawall Blvd. Cons: 1. This hotel charges $10.00 per night for off-street parking. 2. Hotel charges for newspaper, and you must opt out at check-in to avoid this charge. 3. No pool. 4. Free, but flaky, WiFi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located on Pier 21 and is right on Galveston harbor. Best view is from rooms on the west side. Located in the Strand District, there are too many great shopping and dining venues to list in this review.

Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Wichtia Falls TX
Jul 20, 2011

The rooms were really nice.

The rooms were really nice. There was no noise from the hustle and bustle outside. Even though it looks like a big hotel from the outside, the first floor is mostly a resturant. There was no hotel lobby, just a small room to check in with a stairway and one elevator to the rooms above. Nice location with plenty of things to do and eat within walking distance. Bad side, we got hit with a $10 a day parking fee for each vehicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If your in a hurry to get somewhere, don't take Seawall Blvd. Take some of the back streets. You will see the real Galveston and probably get where you are going faster.

Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Oklahoma
Jun 9, 2011

Great hotel

This hotel was very nice and clean. We stayed the night before leaving on a cruise and was walking distance to cruise terminal. We were able to park our car there for the duration of our cruise for $20 which made it very easy when we got back. No need to wait for a shuttle to take us the the terminal parking areas. Will stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

4
MOTG
Austin, Texas
Apr 12, 2011

Unbeatable for the price and location!!

We met family and friends here to spend the night before our cruise. Due to the reasonable price my expectations were not high. I was pleasantly surprised to find a very clean, attractive, spacious room with a living area right down the hall. Continental breakfast was sufficient to get us navigating 2 blocks to our cruise ship. Behind the hotel was a restaurant with a very nice deck on the water. Happy Hour featured $3 drinks and appetizers. Perfect. Also, the Strand Historic District is a short walk away. Another plus for cruise passengers is you can leave your car in their lot for $20, about half of the cruise lots. Only complaint, the lady at the desk was rude and short to me when I called to verify our reservation and also to some family who just wanted to enter the parking lot to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

4
;akdfkj;
conroe,tx
Mar 24, 2011

Good

it was nice and private.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

moody gardens aqurium

Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

3
Hmmmmm
TX
Mar 13, 2011

Good Getaway

Nice hotel, online pics does not do the hotel any justice and the location off The Strand is also very nice as well. It is not off the Seawall first and foremost so that must be understood right away. Overall the hotel was nice, there was however loud club like music downstairs in a bldg. across from the hotel from 10pm-12am, we didn't really mind however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

4
Okie Bob
Oklahoma City, OK
Nov 1, 2010

Harbor House

offshore fishing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top