$83 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Harbor House

3 stars
Pier 21 number 28, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
25 reviews
Great place

The staff were more than friendly and even allowed me to check in early. The rooms were very clean... See full review

  • Tirefryin89
  • Aug 9, 2014
harbour house

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Many attractions within walking distance of hotel. Room... See full review

  • peggisu
  • Aug 1, 2014
Nestled on scenic Pier 21 in Galveston, Texas, the Harbor House Hotel and Marina offers an ideal place to lodge near many historic landmarks, restaurants and local attractions. Boasting an industrial, modern loft look and featuring breathtaking views of the Galveston harbor, guests enjoy easy access to sailing on the Gulf. Guest rooms feature complimentary wireless Internet access, plush bedding, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and premium movie channels. This property serves complimentary continental breakfast daily. Call hotel directly to reserve one of nine boat slips with hookups.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Harbor House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 0.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Harbor House

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
'Dru'
Business
Arizona
Mar 27, 2013

Discovering America

This a really great boutique hotel. If you like a historical area then this the one to go to. If you to watch a true working port, stay here.Everything is just a block away. The only problem was the "automated" lighting system in the room. The wi-fi signal was a little weak, but workable.We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the historical aspects of he area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No Name Available
Business
Spring, TX
Mar 25, 2013

Good Value for the Price and Location

Hotel was located on the water near the Historic Strand. Plenty of restaurant choices within walking distance. Room was very comfortable and clean. Continental breakfast could have used some fresh fruit and cereals. Overall great value for the price at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent choices of restaurants (Seafood, Greek and Italian) within walking distance of hotel. Starbucks directly across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Waldo3
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 6, 2013

Harbor House

We enjoyed our stay at Harbor House. The staff was extremely friendly and made us always fee welcome as we came/left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nana jill
Business
Baytown,Texas
Dec 30, 2012

Fantastic getaway

Great location and walking distance to restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to dining and Grand Opera House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Counselor Educator
Business
Kent, Ohio
Nov 19, 2012

Conference Trip

I recently booked this hotel for a conference I was attending in Galveston. I enjoyed my stay here very much. The room was quite spacious and comfortable, including a small couch, chair, coffee table, desk, a giant bed, and a nice TV. The room was very clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The only downer was having to pay for parking, which seems to be standard in Galveston. The hotel was located near downtown, several restaurants, and was an easy drive to and from the convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
threescompany
Business
Dallas
Jul 5, 2012

Overrated

I booked the Harbor House for one night because of the great reviews I read. I have to say I believe the reviews were misleading. The only thing that makes this hotel a "boutique" hotel is the size. I feel as though the room was outdated, and didn't provide anything special. When we first entered the room there was a very strong and strange odor. It didn't smell clean and it was very muggy. There was a long hair on the nightstand and a comb left on the bed. I wasn't sure if the comb was something meant to be part of the toiletries in the bathroom, but it certainly doesn't belong on the bed. The bathtub/shower tile and fixtures were very old. The caulking was in terrible shape and the bottom of the tub was stained. There was a bug on the floor and in the shower. Overall, the room didn't feel especially crisp and clean. The TV is not a flat panel and you have to flip through each individual channel. This wouldn't normally be a complaint of mine, but our young child was with us on this trip and cartoons come in handy. I was also very disgusted with the fact that we had to pay to park our vehicle overnight in the hotel parking lot. That's a first for me. I loved the location as it is near the strand and away from the busy Seawall. The two staff we spoke with were friendly. The room was huge, and we never heard noise coming from the hall or nearby elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mosquito Cafe is nearby on 14th. It's a great little cafe!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan from Dallas
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 18, 2012

Quiet Location

Staff was very friendly and took care of a problem immediately. Very quiet room and good view. Continental breakfast was skimpy- coffee, sweet roll/bagel. Still, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wowed
Business
Willis, TX, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great Place!

My husband and I visited Galveston just before Christmas to attend the play Tuna Christmas and decided to stay at Harbor House. What a great place! When we arrived we were greeted by Linda, who was absolutely lovely to deal with. We were delighted to be offered an upgrade on our room and it was great. Nice two room suite, comfortable bed, convenient to The Strand and great restaurants and fabulous views. What more could you ask for? We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BEACH_CPL
Business
AUSTIN, TX
Aug 8, 2011

Harbor House - August, 2011

Pros: 1. Nice small hotel. It is quiet, clean and well maintained. 2. Excellent nightly rates compared to other hotels in Galveston. However, felt nickele-and-dimed by additional charges. 3. Great location if you want to avoid the noise and traffic along Seawall Blvd. Cons: 1. This hotel charges $10.00 per night for off-street parking. 2. Hotel charges for newspaper, and you must opt out at check-in to avoid this charge. 3. No pool. 4. Free, but flaky, WiFi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located on Pier 21 and is right on Galveston harbor. Best view is from rooms on the west side. Located in the Strand District, there are too many great shopping and dining venues to list in this review.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Harbor House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichtia Falls TX
Jul 20, 2011

The rooms were really nice.

The rooms were really nice. There was no noise from the hustle and bustle outside. Even though it looks like a big hotel from the outside, the first floor is mostly a resturant. There was no hotel lobby, just a small room to check in with a stairway and one elevator to the rooms above. Nice location with plenty of things to do and eat within walking distance. Bad side, we got hit with a $10 a day parking fee for each vehicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If your in a hurry to get somewhere, don't take Seawall Blvd. Take some of the back streets. You will see the real Galveston and probably get where you are going faster.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top