$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Galveston Beach Hotel

3 stars
1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
74 reviews
GREAT BARGIN

GREAT VIEW, CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN ROOM , EVERYTHING EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTIONS, THE ONLY THING I CAN... See full review

  • JENNYJAN
  • Jul 3, 2014
Thank you!!!

We were one of many staying at this hotel prior to a cruise. The Port closed due to fog and an oil... See full review

  • Skinnykitty
  • Apr 1, 2014
Beachfront resort, close to Galveston Convention Center
Situated within a stone's throw to the beach, the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston boasts new island-inspired decor, plus a huge outdoor free form pool where families can splash and relax. The hotel is conveniently close to many "must see" attractions in Galveston, including the Strand Historic District and area museums. For indoor entertainment right at the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston, visit the arcade or try a game of billiards before heading to Kokomo's Grille for steaks and local seafood specialties.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas
  • Kids eat free with paying adult
  • Outdoor free form seasonal pool and patio
  • Near Galveston Island Convention Center
Rooms
Tropical style greets guests as they enter rooms at the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston. Furnished with flat-screen televisions with HBO and On-Demand movies and Nintendo, rooms also include a Wi-Fi access, mini-refrigerator, coffee-maker, personal safe, hair-dryer, air conditioning/heating, and iron/ironing board. Most rooms have private balcony with panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico and public beaches.Rooms are also furnished with either a king-size bed or two queens. Families with small children will want to ask about the Kids Suites at Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston, with a separate sleep area and bunk beds.
Features
The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston has Tiki bar and outdoor bar, and one restaurant serving full breakfast menu and American cuisines including fresh fish tacos, char grilled burgers and fresh cut fries. Kids eat free when accompanied by an adult (some restrictions apply). For indoor entertainment, visit the arcade and billiards table. Guests are welcome to use the fitness center, and have use of a coin-operated laundry. There is also a dry-cleaning and laundry service (fee applies). Free self-parking and shuttle service are available.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
Attractions
  • Galveston History Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Strand Theatre (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Port of Galveston (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Seawolf Park (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Galveston Convention Center (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Copying, fax and courier services (fees may apply)
  • Business center available

Hotel Map

29.2944 -94.7826
Area served
Galveston, Galveston Island, TX
Nearby airports
GLS HOU IAH SHOLES INTERNATIONAL AT GALVESTON, 6 MI, TAXI SERVICE, SHUTTLE FOR GROUPS WILLIAM P. HOBBY INTERNATIONAL, 31 MI GEORGE BUSH INTERCONTINENTAL, 54 MI
Area description
We are located directly on the seawall near East Beach and only a stones throw from the Gulf of Mexico. Nearby we have Saltgrass Steakhouse, Millers Landing, and within walking distance is the latest Galveston attraction, The Historic Pleasure Pier, a family amusement park built on a large pier jutting into the Gulf of Mexico. We are also one of the closest hotels to the cruise terminal and Strand shopping district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Galveston Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Galveston Beach Hotel Rooms

KING
Soft pillows top a King size bed in this oceanfront room. This room features a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This room will be
PREIMUM QUEEN
This room features two Queen beds with a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This is a top floor room with the best panoramic views of the ocean.
PREIMUM KING
This room features a King size bed with a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This is a top floor room with the best panoramic views of the ocean.
FAMILY JUINOR SUITE
This ground floor room features a Queen size bed and a set of bunk beds for children 12 and under. This room is located on our ground floor and offers a pool view.
DOUBLE QUEEN
Soft pillows top two Queen size beds in this oceanfront room. This room features a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This room will be located on our 2-4 floors.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting space is currently undergoing improvements. A detailed description will follow when complete.

Dining

Beach Bar
Only 200ft from the sandy beach, you are sure to enjoy our beach bar, this large palapa-style bar is famous in Galveston and a favorite of locals and tourists alike. From the bar great views of the Gulf of Mexico from 2 sun decks and a dozen ocean view tables. We also offer a full menu with island favorites such as, fresh fish tacos, char grilled burgers and fresh cut fries.
Kokomos Hawaiian Grill
Start your day off right with a great breakfast at Kokomos!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Galveston Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RamRod
PLano, TX
Aug 22, 2011

Annivesary

We had a great time. Balcony view overlooking the gulf and swim up bar at the pool below. walk across the street to the beach. We will be back to this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fishtales & The Spot. Fishtales had the best Mahi I had ever had. The spot is very "chill" spot and yu can get the best Margarita at Squeeze Rita & Tequila

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kinder, Louisiana
Nov 23, 2009

Great Trip @ Great Hotel

We had a Great Time! Saw the Fest. of Lights and enjoyed Moody Gardens and Beach. Wonderful Room and Great view of Gulf. Very Relaxing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I love visiting Galveston in the Fall, not crouded and not hot. Beached not crouded either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Katy, Tx.
Apr 2, 2010

Relaxing Getaway and Perfect Location

Watched the sunrise from my balcony while listening to the ocean waves and seagulls. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The only problem I had was the water in the bathroom sink had a bad smell. Luckily I had some bottle water. The shower was fine however. The bed was high up, but very comfy. The room and the rest of the hotel was extremely clean. Also had a safe area to park. I would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of beaches to choose from including right across the street. Drive on beaches just a short distance. Plenty of shopping and dining options. Close to available tours. Check out Harbor Cruise, the Elissa tall ship, Moody Gardens, the Strand, historical bldgs, and take a ferry ride over to Bolivar. Ask for maps at the Visitor Ctr on Broadway, including the carved oak trees which had been damaged by the salt water from Hurricane Ike. Awesome sculptures!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael Julie
Houston Texas
Mar 27, 2013

Great room

pefect and great weather to get away from home its best to bring suit and swim and great swim up bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nacogdoches, TX
Mar 16, 2009

Great place to stay

The hotel was a little pricey but the rooms were great, the location was great, and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. All of the rooms have balcony's that overlook the ocean. It is a great view. Overall I guess the only bad thing I have to say about the hotel is the beds were a little hard for our liking but other than that, it is a great hotel. Also the hotel has a little restaurant on the lobby floor and the waiter there was extremely nice and gave us a few tips on where to go and what to do around Galveston. We will defiantly be back this summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have kids with you, be sure to take them to the Rainforest Cafe. It has great food, a shopping area, and a water ride inside of it (you do not get wet though). My kids and wife loved it. It is just off the Seawall Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montgomery, TX
Jun 27, 2011

Great deal with Gulf View

We booked this hotel for a quick 3 day get-away and were pleasantly surprised. One big plus is that all the rooms face the Gulf with balconies. Excellent view from our room and looking down to the large lagoon style pool was an added benefit. Check in time was quick and staff attentive and helpful. Service at the swim up bar was a little slow but not bad. we did not eat in the restaurant but did order food from the bar for lunch and were not disappointed. Will definitely stay at this hotel again. Right on the Seawall and close to all attractions. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walk across the street and you are walking on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin TX
Mar 25, 2011

We loved it perfect get away

We went to a wedding. The only thing that puzzled us was that our message light came on in the middle of the night and when I called to see what it was it was a recording from the mgr saying that they hoed our stay was pleasant. we thought that was strange. I ts very quiet and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bartstar
Buffalo, TX
Aug 6, 2011

Great Hotel

Fantastic!! Had a great time. The beds and pillows are incredible......hated to get up. The swim up bar is great, awesome place to meet new people. Had a great view from the balcony as well. Gated parking lot makes you feel safe too. This place rocks!! I wish they had offered a free paper to read every morn though. But, that's minor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street from the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 20, 2007

Wonderful Weekend

This hotel was wonderful. The location was great. The staff in the restaurant was wonderful and everyonw was very friendly. There was always staff around to help us. Our room was wonderful. We loved the pool area- BUT the pool was freezing. This trip was for a child's birthday and she wanted a hotel trip with a pool. Noone could tolerate the pool long at all. We would definitely stay here again ,but if the pool is always this cold, we probably won't. The swim up or walk to bar was just wonderful. I felt like I was in a far off land- not in Texas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Moody Gardens are worth visiting. Even if you don't go into the attractions, the walk around them are beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pearland, TX
Apr 12, 2010

Great room

Great room for the price, friendly staff and clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search