$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Galveston Beach Hotel

3 stars
1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
112 reviews
GREAT BARGIN

GREAT VIEW, CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN ROOM , EVERYTHING EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTIONS, THE ONLY THING I CAN... See full review

  • JENNYJAN
  • Jul 3, 2014
Thank you!!!

We were one of many staying at this hotel prior to a cruise. The Port closed due to fog and an oil... See full review

  • Skinnykitty
  • Apr 1, 2014
Beachfront resort, close to Galveston Convention Center
Renovated in 2009, the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston boasts new island-inspired decor, plus a huge outdoor pool where families can splash and relax. The beach, visible from the pool patio, is just steps away. The hotel is also conveniently close to many "must see" attractions in Galveston, including the Strand Historic District and area museums. For indoor entertainment right at the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston, visit the arcade or try a game of billiards before heading to Kokomo's Grille for steaks and local seafood specialties.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas
  • Kids eat free with paying adult
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and patio
  • Near Galveston Island Convention Center
Rooms
Tropical style greets guests as they enter rooms at the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston. Furnished with flat-screen televisions with HBO and On-Demand movies and Nintendo, rooms also include a mini-refrigerator, coffee-maker, personal safe, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board. Many rooms have balconies that overlook the Gulf. Rooms are furnished with either a king-size bed or two queens. Families with small children will want to ask about the Kids Suites at Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston, with a separate sleep area and bunk beds.
Features
The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston features two bars and one restaurant serving a variety of beverages and American cuisine. Kids eat free when accompanied by an adult (some restrictions apply). For indoor entertainment, visit the arcade and billiards table. Guests are welcome to use the fitness center, and have use of a coin-operated laundry. There is also a dry-cleaning and laundry service (fee applies). Plenty of free self-parking is available in a gated lot.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
Attractions
  • Galveston History Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Strand Theatre (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Port of Galveston (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Seawolf Park (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Galveston Convention Center (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Copying, fax and courier services (fees may apply)
  • Business center available

Hotel Map

29.2944 -94.7826
Area served
Galveston, Galveston Island, TX
Nearby airports
GLS HOU IAH SHOLES INTERNATIONAL AT GALVESTON, 6 MI, TAXI SERVICE, SHUTTLE FOR GROUPS WILLIAM P. HOBBY INTERNATIONAL, 31 MI GEORGE BUSH INTERCONTINENTAL, 54 MI
Area description
We are located directly on the seawall near East Beach and only a stones throw from the Gulf of Mexico. Nearby we have Saltgrass Steakhouse, Millers Landing, and within walking distance is the latest Galveston attraction, The Historic Pleasure Pier, a family amusement park built on a large pier jutting into the Gulf of Mexico. We are also one of the closest hotels to the cruise terminal and Strand shopping district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Galveston Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Galveston Beach Hotel Rooms

KING
Soft pillows top a King size bed in this oceanfront room. This room features a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This room will be
PREIMUM QUEEN
This room features two Queen beds with a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This is a top floor room with the best panoramic views of the ocean.
PREIMUM KING
This room features a King size bed with a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This is a top floor room with the best panoramic views of the ocean.
FAMILY JUINOR SUITE
This ground floor room features a Queen size bed and a set of bunk beds for children 12 and under. This room is located on our ground floor and offers a pool view.
DOUBLE QUEEN
Soft pillows top two Queen size beds in this oceanfront room. This room features a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This room will be located on our 2-4 floors.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting space is currently undergoing improvements. A detailed description will follow when complete.

Dining

Beach Bar
Only 200ft from the sandy beach, you are sure to enjoy our beach bar, this large palapa-style bar is famous in Galveston and a favorite of locals and tourists alike. From the bar great views of the Gulf of Mexico from 2 sun decks and a dozen ocean view tables. We also offer a full menu with island favorites such as, fresh fish tacos, char grilled burgers and fresh cut fries.
Kokomos Hawaiian Grill
Start your day off right with a great breakfast at Kokomos!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Galveston Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Forney, Texas
Jun 14, 2011

Fantastic all the way around!!!

It was a beautiful hotel, great view from our room of the ocean and pool. We relaxed on the beach and pool, went to Moody Gardens and the Ferry. Location was awesome, not as crowded as other places on the beach. Staff was incredible, very helpful except for getting the information binder of local resteraunts but that was fine since the hotel had GREAT food. Will definitely go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is worth the short drive to the Ferry or Moody Gardens and then when you are back at the hotel, you are home and comfortable.

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Katy, Tx.
Apr 2, 2010

Relaxing Getaway and Perfect Location

Watched the sunrise from my balcony while listening to the ocean waves and seagulls. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The only problem I had was the water in the bathroom sink had a bad smell. Luckily I had some bottle water. The shower was fine however. The bed was high up, but very comfy. The room and the rest of the hotel was extremely clean. Also had a safe area to park. I would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of beaches to choose from including right across the street. Drive on beaches just a short distance. Plenty of shopping and dining options. Close to available tours. Check out Harbor Cruise, the Elissa tall ship, Moody Gardens, the Strand, historical bldgs, and take a ferry ride over to Bolivar. Ask for maps at the Visitor Ctr on Broadway, including the carved oak trees which had been damaged by the salt water from Hurricane Ike. Awesome sculptures!

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kinder, Louisiana
Nov 23, 2009

Great Trip @ Great Hotel

We had a Great Time! Saw the Fest. of Lights and enjoyed Moody Gardens and Beach. Wonderful Room and Great view of Gulf. Very Relaxing trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I love visiting Galveston in the Fall, not crouded and not hot. Beached not crouded either.

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montgomery, TX
Jun 27, 2011

Great deal with Gulf View

We booked this hotel for a quick 3 day get-away and were pleasantly surprised. One big plus is that all the rooms face the Gulf with balconies. Excellent view from our room and looking down to the large lagoon style pool was an added benefit. Check in time was quick and staff attentive and helpful. Service at the swim up bar was a little slow but not bad. we did not eat in the restaurant but did order food from the bar for lunch and were not disappointed. Will definitely stay at this hotel again. Right on the Seawall and close to all attractions. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walk across the street and you are walking on the beach.

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 15, 2007

Wonderful staff

Right on the beach with a perfect view of the ocean. Staff was simply wonderful. Freindly and helpful. When we found that our room's phone was not working the maintenance staff was repairing it within a matter of minutes. Could not ask for a more pleasant place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wonderful informal dining within just a few blocks.

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pearland, TX
Apr 12, 2010

Great room

Great room for the price, friendly staff and clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JENNYJAN
WILLIS, TEXAS
Jul 3, 2014

GREAT BARGIN

GREAT VIEW, CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN ROOM , EVERYTHING EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTIONS, THE ONLY THING I CAN FIND TO COMPLAIN ABOUT IS THAT THEY HAVE THE WORST T.V. REMOTES I HAVE EVER SEEN. THIS WAS TWO ELDERLY COUPLES, THAT WENT OUT TO DINE, HAD FEW DRINKS, MOST LIKELY A FEW TOO MANY, WALKED ON THE BEACH, WHICH HAD LITTLE TO MUCH SEAWEED AND DID A LITTLE SHOPPING, HAD A GREAT TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GEIDO'S

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bartstar
Buffalo, TX
Aug 6, 2011

Great Hotel

Fantastic!! Had a great time. The beds and pillows are incredible......hated to get up. The swim up bar is great, awesome place to meet new people. Had a great view from the balcony as well. Gated parking lot makes you feel safe too. This place rocks!! I wish they had offered a free paper to read every morn though. But, that's minor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street from the beach.

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 15, 2007

Wonderful staff

Right on the beach with a perfect view of the ocean. Staff was simply wonderful. Freindly and helpful. When we found that our room's phone was not working the maintenance staff was repairing it within a matter of minutes. Could not ask for a more pleasant place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wonderful informal dining within just a few blocks.

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Penelope P
Garland Texas
Nov 12, 2011

Awesome

Great nights stay! Prefect relaxation and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top