$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Galveston Beach Hotel

3 stars
1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
112 reviews
GREAT BARGIN

GREAT VIEW, CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN ROOM , EVERYTHING EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTIONS, THE ONLY THING I CAN... See full review

  • JENNYJAN
  • Jul 3, 2014
Thank you!!!

We were one of many staying at this hotel prior to a cruise. The Port closed due to fog and an oil... See full review

  • Skinnykitty
  • Apr 1, 2014
Beachfront resort, close to Galveston Convention Center
Renovated in 2009, the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston boasts new island-inspired decor, plus a huge outdoor pool where families can splash and relax. The beach, visible from the pool patio, is just steps away. The hotel is also conveniently close to many "must see" attractions in Galveston, including the Strand Historic District and area museums. For indoor entertainment right at the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston, visit the arcade or try a game of billiards before heading to Kokomo's Grille for steaks and local seafood specialties.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas
  • Kids eat free with paying adult
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and patio
  • Near Galveston Island Convention Center
Rooms
Tropical style greets guests as they enter rooms at the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston. Furnished with flat-screen televisions with HBO and On-Demand movies and Nintendo, rooms also include a mini-refrigerator, coffee-maker, personal safe, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board. Many rooms have balconies that overlook the Gulf. Rooms are furnished with either a king-size bed or two queens. Families with small children will want to ask about the Kids Suites at Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston, with a separate sleep area and bunk beds.
Features
The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston features two bars and one restaurant serving a variety of beverages and American cuisine. Kids eat free when accompanied by an adult (some restrictions apply). For indoor entertainment, visit the arcade and billiards table. Guests are welcome to use the fitness center, and have use of a coin-operated laundry. There is also a dry-cleaning and laundry service (fee applies). Plenty of free self-parking is available in a gated lot.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
Attractions
  • Galveston History Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Strand Theatre (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Port of Galveston (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Seawolf Park (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Galveston Convention Center (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Copying, fax and courier services (fees may apply)
  • Business center available

Galveston Beach Hotel Rooms

KING
Soft pillows top a King size bed in this oceanfront room. This room features a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This room will be
PREIMUM QUEEN
This room features two Queen beds with a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This is a top floor room with the best panoramic views of the ocean.
PREIMUM KING
This room features a King size bed with a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This is a top floor room with the best panoramic views of the ocean.
FAMILY JUINOR SUITE
This ground floor room features a Queen size bed and a set of bunk beds for children 12 and under. This room is located on our ground floor and offers a pool view.
DOUBLE QUEEN
Soft pillows top two Queen size beds in this oceanfront room. This room features a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This room will be located on our 2-4 floors.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Hotel Map

29.2944 -94.7826
Area served
Galveston, Galveston Island, TX
Nearby airports
GLS HOU IAH SHOLES INTERNATIONAL AT GALVESTON, 6 MI, TAXI SERVICE, SHUTTLE FOR GROUPS WILLIAM P. HOBBY INTERNATIONAL, 31 MI GEORGE BUSH INTERCONTINENTAL, 54 MI
Area description
We are located directly on the seawall near East Beach and only a stones throw from the Gulf of Mexico. Nearby we have Saltgrass Steakhouse, Millers Landing, and within walking distance is the latest Galveston attraction, The Historic Pleasure Pier, a family amusement park built on a large pier jutting into the Gulf of Mexico. We are also one of the closest hotels to the cruise terminal and Strand shopping district.

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting space is currently undergoing improvements. A detailed description will follow when complete.

Dining

Beach Bar
Only 200ft from the sandy beach, you are sure to enjoy our beach bar, this large palapa-style bar is famous in Galveston and a favorite of locals and tourists alike. From the bar great views of the Gulf of Mexico from 2 sun decks and a dozen ocean view tables. We also offer a full menu with island favorites such as, fresh fish tacos, char grilled burgers and fresh cut fries.
Kokomos Hawaiian Grill
Start your day off right with a great breakfast at Kokomos!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Galveston Beach Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, KY
Jun 30, 2010

Last minute plans....

Very clean, enjoyable pool with bar, good location with nice restaurants in walking distance and beach just across the street. The pool was very enjoyable and the staff (Croatian students) were very friendly and hardworking. Drinks were awesome! Was very disappointed with the breakfast we had ordered through room service. They said it would take 15 minutes due to be very busy, but it actually took closer to 40 min. When we got the breakfast it was luke warm, the pancakes had a after taste and the french toast were previously frozen; we also had coffee, orange juice and a yogurt. After they tagged on 20% and a $2 service charge, our bill was $36....that was a total waste of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Galveston Semi-pro
Kingwood TX
Jun 14, 2010

Great Family stay for Galveston

I needed a place where we gcould get to all parts of the island without sitiing in heavy seawall traffic. Plus it had to be good for my kids ages 5 and 7. The room was on the frst floor but had bunk beds in a seperate part of the room with their own dvd/ tv combo. We were right in front of the pool so leaving our window open was not and option. The bar is part of the pool so you get a mix of drinkers and kids. But the pool is large enough you can get some space. The drinkers stay close to the swim up bar. But i liked being able to get a drink while swimming with the kids at the end of the day. Plus it is pretty empty in the morning. The beach is right across the street and it is fun to go for a coffee walk with the family first thing in the morning. You have a very secure getaed parking lot with access from back streets. You can drive from the parking lot down all the neighboorhood streets for easy short cuts to the strand and other part of the island. Plus you acn see all the cute and sometimes great homes. We went from one side of the island and back with no problems even when others were stuck in traffic on the sea wall.The room was cleaner than you get out of most Galveston baech hotels but still not the same as a mainland. The staff made up for it with very good personal service and always a great attitude.[...]Overall a great family stay spot for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget about building sand castles at night on the empty beaches. Much cooler and you can bury sheap flahlights into the castles all while looking for sea turtles.

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Galveston Semi-pro
Kingwood TX
Jun 14, 2010

Great Family stay for Galveston

I needed a place where we gcould get to all parts of the island without sitiing in heavy seawall traffic. Plus it had to be good for my kids ages 5 and 7. The room was on the frst floor but had bunk beds in a seperate part of the room with their own dvd/ tv combo. We were right in front of the pool so leaving our window open was not and option. The bar is part of the pool so you get a mix of drinkers and kids. But the pool is large enough you can get some space. The drinkers stay close to the swim up bar. But i liked being able to get a drink while swimming with the kids at the end of the day. Plus it is pretty empty in the morning. The beach is right across the street and it is fun to go for a coffee walk with the family first thing in the morning. You have a very secure getaed parking lot with access from back streets. You can drive from the parking lot down all the neighboorhood streets for easy short cuts to the strand and other part of the island. Plus you acn see all the cute and sometimes great homes. We went from one side of the island and back with no problems even when others were stuck in traffic on the sea wall.The room was cleaner than you get out of most Galveston baech hotels but still not the same as a mainland. The staff made up for it with very good personal service and always a great attitude.[...]Overall a great family stay spot for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget about building sand castles at night on the empty beaches. Much cooler and you can bury sheap flahlights into the castles all while looking for sea turtles.

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Tx.
Jun 3, 2010

Bonzai Trip

This is an older hotel that we were lucky enough to get a room at the last minute. The hotel is what it is, right on the seawall with a balcony with a view. This is a party atmosphere type of place with rock music playing over the loud speakers when you pull up to the hotel. Has a pool with a bar that opens up to the street. Room was on the small side with low ceilings in the room and non-air conditioned hallways. It is what you would expect from an older hotel in Galveston. Perfect for the weekend summer getaway for adults with a budget who want to kick back and drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Tales is just a short walk from the hotel and is alot of fun with very good food and friendly service. It isn't four star, but what is in Galveston. Just a fun place!

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Tx.
Jun 3, 2010

Bonzai Trip

This is an older hotel that we were lucky enough to get a room at the last minute. The hotel is what it is, right on the seawall with a balcony with a view. This is a party atmosphere type of place with rock music playing over the loud speakers when you pull up to the hotel. Has a pool with a bar that opens up to the street. Room was on the small side with low ceilings in the room and non-air conditioned hallways. It is what you would expect from an older hotel in Galveston. Perfect for the weekend summer getaway for adults with a budget who want to kick back and drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Tales is just a short walk from the hotel and is alot of fun with very good food and friendly service. It isn't four star, but what is in Galveston. Just a fun place!

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Katy, Texas
Apr 26, 2010

Nice get away

Nice hotel with ocean view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Katy, Texas
Apr 26, 2010

Nice get away

Nice hotel with ocean view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Conroe,TX
Apr 25, 2010

VERY DISAPPOINTED

I made my reservation and payed for our room well over a month in advance, I payed extra for a room w/a view and balcony. When we arrived they only had one empty room which was one of few that had neither. I would have gotten over that if they had at least changed the charges from the room I booked to the room I recieved, but nothing so I definitly would not stay there again. I believe once you pay for a room it should be held for you, regardless of who checks in first...so if you stay there get there early because it's obviously first come first serve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mario's on the seawall was great!!

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Conroe,TX
Apr 25, 2010

VERY DISAPPOINTED

I made my reservation and payed for our room well over a month in advance, I payed extra for a room w/a view and balcony. When we arrived they only had one empty room which was one of few that had neither. I would have gotten over that if they had at least changed the charges from the room I booked to the room I recieved, but nothing so I definitly would not stay there again. I believe once you pay for a room it should be held for you, regardless of who checks in first...so if you stay there get there early because it's obviously first come first serve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mario's on the seawall was great!!

Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pearland, TX
Apr 12, 2010

Great room

Great room for the price, friendly staff and clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top