$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Galveston Beach Hotel

3 stars
1702 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
76 reviews
GREAT BARGIN

GREAT VIEW, CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN ROOM , EVERYTHING EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTIONS, THE ONLY THING I CAN... See full review

  • JENNYJAN
  • Jul 3, 2014
Thank you!!!

We were one of many staying at this hotel prior to a cruise. The Port closed due to fog and an oil... See full review

  • Skinnykitty
  • Apr 1, 2014
Beachfront resort, close to Galveston Convention Center
Situated within a stone's throw to the beach, the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston boasts new island-inspired decor, plus a huge outdoor free form pool where families can splash and relax. The hotel is conveniently close to many "must see" attractions in Galveston, including the Strand Historic District and area museums. For indoor entertainment right at the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston, visit the arcade or try a game of billiards before heading to Kokomo's Grille for steaks and local seafood specialties.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in public areas
  • Kids eat free with paying adult
  • Outdoor free form seasonal pool and patio
  • Near Galveston Island Convention Center
Rooms
Tropical style greets guests as they enter rooms at the Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston. Furnished with flat-screen televisions with HBO and On-Demand movies and Nintendo, rooms also include a Wi-Fi access, mini-refrigerator, coffee-maker, personal safe, hair-dryer, air conditioning/heating, and iron/ironing board. Most rooms have private balcony with panoramic views of the Gulf of Mexico and public beaches.Rooms are also furnished with either a king-size bed or two queens. Families with small children will want to ask about the Kids Suites at Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston, with a separate sleep area and bunk beds.
Features
The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Galveston has Tiki bar and outdoor bar, and one restaurant serving full breakfast menu and American cuisines including fresh fish tacos, char grilled burgers and fresh cut fries. Kids eat free when accompanied by an adult (some restrictions apply). For indoor entertainment, visit the arcade and billiards table. Guests are welcome to use the fitness center, and have use of a coin-operated laundry. There is also a dry-cleaning and laundry service (fee applies). Free self-parking and shuttle service are available.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (38.8 mi/62.4 km)
Attractions
  • Galveston History Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Strand Theatre (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Stewart Beach Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Port of Galveston (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Seawolf Park (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Galveston Convention Center (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Copying, fax and courier services (fees may apply)
  • Business center available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Galveston Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Galveston Beach Hotel Rooms

KING
Soft pillows top a King size bed in this oceanfront room. This room features a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This room will be
PREIMUM QUEEN
This room features two Queen beds with a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This is a top floor room with the best panoramic views of the ocean.
PREIMUM KING
This room features a King size bed with a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This is a top floor room with the best panoramic views of the ocean.
FAMILY JUINOR SUITE
This ground floor room features a Queen size bed and a set of bunk beds for children 12 and under. This room is located on our ground floor and offers a pool view.
DOUBLE QUEEN
Soft pillows top two Queen size beds in this oceanfront room. This room features a private balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, public beaches and Pleasure Pier. Free WIFI, mini fridge & flat screen TV. This room will be located on our 2-4 floors.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.2 mi

Dining

Beach Bar
Only 200ft from the sandy beach, you are sure to enjoy our beach bar, this large palapa-style bar is famous in Galveston and a favorite of locals and tourists alike. From the bar great views of the Gulf of Mexico from 2 sun decks and a dozen ocean view tables. We also offer a full menu with island favorites such as, fresh fish tacos, char grilled burgers and fresh cut fries.
Kokomos Hawaiian Grill
Start your day off right with a great breakfast at Kokomos!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting space is currently undergoing improvements. A detailed description will follow when complete.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Galveston Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas tx
Jul 10, 2011

Great Time in Galveston

First time in Galveston. Had such a good time we stayed an extra night. Hotel is in a great location. The beds are comfy but the sheets need to be upgraded. Not the best. The outdoor bar is open until 2am playing lots of music so get a room on the opposite side from the pool. Had great dinners at Fish Tales, Mario's and Brick House

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Went to Moody Gardens. Really enjoyed the Rain Forest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montgomery, TX
Jun 27, 2011

Great deal with Gulf View

We booked this hotel for a quick 3 day get-away and were pleasantly surprised. One big plus is that all the rooms face the Gulf with balconies. Excellent view from our room and looking down to the large lagoon style pool was an added benefit. Check in time was quick and staff attentive and helpful. Service at the swim up bar was a little slow but not bad. we did not eat in the restaurant but did order food from the bar for lunch and were not disappointed. Will definitely stay at this hotel again. Right on the Seawall and close to all attractions. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walk across the street and you are walking on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Forney, Texas
Jun 14, 2011

Fantastic all the way around!!!

It was a beautiful hotel, great view from our room of the ocean and pool. We relaxed on the beach and pool, went to Moody Gardens and the Ferry. Location was awesome, not as crowded as other places on the beach. Staff was incredible, very helpful except for getting the information binder of local resteraunts but that was fine since the hotel had GREAT food. Will definitely go back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is worth the short drive to the Ferry or Moody Gardens and then when you are back at the hotel, you are home and comfortable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ThePredicament
Business
New Orleans, LA
May 31, 2011

Great Overall, devil in little details

The room was great, clean with an awesome view of both the pool and the beach. Half of the rooms have pool view, all of them have beach view. Maid service in the rooms was excellent. Pool was great, swim-up bar, live music in Kokomo's, the tikibar opposite the pool, could be heard from the pool. The pool closed at eight or ten, the bands stopped at ten, the bar was open until midnight. I saw other reviews that complained of noise from the pool and the bands. We could not hear anything unless the balcony door was opened. That coupled with the fact that the bands shut down early, I have no idea what the complaints were for. Go sleep at an old folks home you complaining losers. We have a baby less than 1 y/o. Nothing disturbed his sleep or ours. FOOD: the restaurant was AWESOME. All the food served there was excellent, breakfast buffet included. Room service, however, was nasty. Food was cold and rubbery like it was just microwaved. Also, they have a 100% guarantee to "make it right." We were refunded for our room service, but waited 2 hours for the food/beverage manager. LESSON: go down to restaurant to eat. The beach is overrated. The surf was rough, so having a great pool with bar/restaurant/music was GREAT. Probably the BEST PLACE to stay on the island in this price range. I did notice how beautiful Hotel Galvez and the San Luis Hotel were. Not sure of the amenities at these, but definitely more expensive. Overall, great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Michael Burger was great. One order of fries feeds 2. Serving size is huge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flint tx
May 24, 2011

Great location for the price

Rooms are nice and clean and the staff is very friendly. Wished the safe that was provided in the room was somehow not removable . The oceanview was great !!! Our four year old loved the pool and we loved the swim up bar !! The food from the bar was also great !! Overall a very good experience and a fun family vacation !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SLC
Apr 30, 2011

great location, nice pool

This hotel was booked for one night before our cruise. We liked the location, across from the beach. We ate at the little outdoor cafe by the pool. The service there and in the hotel resturant was very very slow. It seems they are understaffed. The room itself was a little on the old side, but it was clean and a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin TX
Mar 25, 2011

We loved it perfect get away

We went to a wedding. The only thing that puzzled us was that our message light came on in the middle of the night and when I called to see what it was it was a recording from the mgr saying that they hoed our stay was pleasant. we thought that was strange. I ts very quiet and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wills Point, TX
Dec 22, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

Went on a Cruise & left Car while we were gone. They have a nice gated lot. People were friendly, It was clean. We did think they had a continental breakfast - This is one thing we look for. Would have given the highest rate had they had that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Meet Cruise Friends.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Milla83
Business
Bloomfield,NM
Sep 7, 2010

Kidssuite

Hotel was nice ,clean and staff was friendly BUT if u have kids DO NOT stay in the kids suite. Its on the first floor,u look out the pool and there is the pool...the pool also has a bar with loud music at night. The separated room for kids does not have a door!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Galveston Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Aug 29, 2010

SunSpree in Galveston

Enjoyed the hotel and the pool. The bar attached to the hotel with the swim up feature was very fun. Room service was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Swim up bar great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top