$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

2 stars
2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
30 reviews
My proposal weekend

I proposed to my girlfriend the weekend I stayed at country inn an suites and it was fantastic! Bed... See full review

  • Nobrien
  • Jun 24, 2013
Great hotel, great location

This is a great hotel, right on the seawall and close to everything - Pleasure Pier is right across... See full review

  • Dark Glass
  • May 6, 2013
Hotel has oceanview rooms with balconies and features an indoor swimming pool, business center, full breakfast,Excersie room, free High speed Internet, HBO, ESPN, CNN, and major TV channels are available. Easy access to beach, numerous fine seafood restaurants and tourist attractions. Galveston features include Moody Gardens, Schlitterbaum Waterpark, Carnival Cruise Terminal, Historic Downtown, Colonel Paddlewheel Boat Tours, and Galveston Air Museum.

Hotel Map

29.2863 -94.7944
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
GEORGE BUSH INTERCONTINENTAL, (IAH), 69.70, MI, SE; HOUSTON HOBBY ARPT, (HOU), 42.00, MI, SE; SCHOLES FIELD, (GLS), 4.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Beach, This hotel is located near the beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.5 mi

Dining

Fish Tales
2502 Seawall Blvd 409-762-8545
The Spot
3204 Seawall Boulevard 409-621-5237
Gaidos Seafood Restaurant
3802 Seawall Blvd 409-762-9625
Salsas Seaside Cafe
4604 Seawall Boulevard 409-621-2630
Joes Crab Shack
3502 Seawall Blvd 409-766-1515
Landrys Seafood House
5310 Seawall Blvd 409-744-1010
Tortuga Mexican Kitchen
6010 Seawall @ 61st 409-741-5000
Breakfast Room
Off of hotel lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 30
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hulster
Business
Plano, Tx
Oct 14, 2014

Not a bad choice.

Room was clean and housekeeping did a great job. Breakfast was acceptable but not fabulous. Front desk staff as polite and helpful. Parking is limited but possible. Beach is across the street. Not a bad choice for a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pleasure pier. Well managed and clean but a little pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love the Yankees
Business
Southern Arizona
Aug 25, 2014

country inn-Galveston

Hotel was nice. Rooms were clean and there were no issues with anything in the room. We were assigned a handicapped NS room, although we did not need handicapped. Only suggestion would be that if someone with unsteady footing were to use the shower, they might slip and fall, as there was no slip resistant texturing on the tub. I found it very slippery and did not use it to bathe my 1 yr old, as I did not want him to slip and fall. There were cigarette butts in the cracks of the cement on the patio but no residual scent. Overall, I would go back and would suggest the hotel to others. The continental breakfast was good, and they had different offerings daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
min1979
Business
galveston
Aug 18, 2014

It is a clean, good place.

It is our second time to book this hotel. Room is clean, and the swimming pool is an extra surprise for my son. However, when I booked the queen suits, which includes 2 queen beds and separate sofabed, I was planning us the room for the 4 adults and my 6 year old son to stay in, and I did not notice the people number when I typed on the website. To my surprise, when I tried to check in, the lady said I need to pay additional 30 dollars for the additional 3 people, including my little boy( he is supposed to be free with an adult). I do not want to ruin my holiday, so I paid the 30 dollars. Except this issue, everything is great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bethanyg5
Business
Henderson,KY
Jun 9, 2014

Nice trip

Other than the internet was awful the whole week, it was a nice place. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pleasure pier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Babymoonerof2
Business
Fort Worth, tx
Mar 11, 2014

Great location

Breakfast was pretty terrible. Hot milk, raw oatmeal, watered down waffle batter. Thank goodness the 3rd morning someone knew what they were doing. Beautiful balcony views, close to pleasure pier, and an easy walk to the beach. Not a bad hotel for the price. The indoor pool was VERY cold!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to restaurants and pleasure pier and a few beach shops. Right by a conveinant store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cheer mom 1993
Business
Galveston, tx
Oct 4, 2013

okay in a pinch

My hotel room had a fowl smell. There was a bug in my room and the staff were rude. It is adjacent to the pleasure pier though. Nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie Meyer Greenbags
Business
Lumberton, TX
Jul 15, 2013

Weekend Vacation

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The room was great because it had a microwave and a refrigerator. The beds were so comfortable and we loved the pillows too! Breakfast was a nice treat and helped fuel us for the day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is nicely located within walking distance to restaurants and shopping places. Also not far from Pleasure Pier!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AR Dad
Business
Rogers, AR
Dec 29, 2012

Stay Away from Country Inn & Suites Galveston

The room itself was not bad: the double queen suite layout could have made for a nice stay. But the horrible service ruined everything. First, the air filter in the room was clogged shut by thick, gray dust coming out of the slits in the metal filter cover. Immediately requested that the filter be cleaned - but then they just cleaned the filter and did not bother to clean the thick gray dust off of the cover and just put it back on the way it was. Then when we asked them to clean the cover, which should have been the norm, the maintenance guy acted all insulted. And the room service itself was bad. Over a 5 night stay, the maid didn't clean the room take out the trash, change towels or make the beds once. We kept having to call the front desk after returning to the hotel in the evening to get anything done. At that, I felt bad for the girl at the front desk, because in the evenings she was often the only employee in the hotel and she kept running around trying to do everything. The management should be ashamed. Finally, the 'free breakfast' was absolutely horrible. The same stale slices of bread and bagel were left out with a couple of plastic-wrapped slices of cheese for our entire 5 day stay. Only on the very last day did they bring out a few (stale) pastries to add. The other hot items for breakfast were godawful. Only the coffee was halfway decent. After the first morning, we'd just check the food to see if anything had changed or been added, but just ended up eating breakfast out the rest of our stay. This was a true waste of money, and really had a negative impact on our vacation. There are a lot of hotels in Galveston, and absolutely no reason to stay at this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
South San Antonio
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Location

Great Value, only thing I have to say is that they need more parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewisville, TX
Apr 25, 2011

Great Location and Clean

This was a great hotel. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. We enjoyed our time there as it is very close to the beach and within walking distance of many restaurants. The breakfast area was a little crowded but there was plenty of food and it was constantly restocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top