$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

2 stars
2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
30 reviews
My proposal weekend

I proposed to my girlfriend the weekend I stayed at country inn an suites and it was fantastic! Bed... See full review

  • Nobrien
  • Jun 24, 2013
Great hotel, great location

This is a great hotel, right on the seawall and close to everything - Pleasure Pier is right across... See full review

  • Dark Glass
  • May 6, 2013
Hotel has oceanview rooms with balconies and features an indoor swimming pool, business center, full breakfast,Excersie room, free High speed Internet, HBO, ESPN, CNN, and major TV channels are available. Easy access to beach, numerous fine seafood restaurants and tourist attractions. Galveston features include Moody Gardens, Schlitterbaum Waterpark, Carnival Cruise Terminal, Historic Downtown, Colonel Paddlewheel Boat Tours, and Galveston Air Museum.

Hotel Map

29.2863 -94.7944
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
GEORGE BUSH INTERCONTINENTAL, (IAH), 69.70, MI, SE; HOUSTON HOBBY ARPT, (HOU), 42.00, MI, SE; SCHOLES FIELD, (GLS), 4.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Beach, This hotel is located near the beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.5 mi

Dining

Fish Tales
2502 Seawall Blvd 409-762-8545
The Spot
3204 Seawall Boulevard 409-621-5237
Gaidos Seafood Restaurant
3802 Seawall Blvd 409-762-9625
Salsas Seaside Cafe
4604 Seawall Boulevard 409-621-2630
Joes Crab Shack
3502 Seawall Blvd 409-766-1515
Landrys Seafood House
5310 Seawall Blvd 409-744-1010
Tortuga Mexican Kitchen
6010 Seawall @ 61st 409-741-5000
Breakfast Room
Off of hotel lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Much Experience
Business
Idaho
Jan 14, 2013

Great place

Excellent hotel, one of the ones you wish you didn't have to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AR Dad
Business
Rogers, AR
Dec 29, 2012

Stay Away from Country Inn & Suites Galveston

The room itself was not bad: the double queen suite layout could have made for a nice stay. But the horrible service ruined everything. First, the air filter in the room was clogged shut by thick, gray dust coming out of the slits in the metal filter cover. Immediately requested that the filter be cleaned - but then they just cleaned the filter and did not bother to clean the thick gray dust off of the cover and just put it back on the way it was. Then when we asked them to clean the cover, which should have been the norm, the maintenance guy acted all insulted. And the room service itself was bad. Over a 5 night stay, the maid didn't clean the room take out the trash, change towels or make the beds once. We kept having to call the front desk after returning to the hotel in the evening to get anything done. At that, I felt bad for the girl at the front desk, because in the evenings she was often the only employee in the hotel and she kept running around trying to do everything. The management should be ashamed. Finally, the 'free breakfast' was absolutely horrible. The same stale slices of bread and bagel were left out with a couple of plastic-wrapped slices of cheese for our entire 5 day stay. Only on the very last day did they bring out a few (stale) pastries to add. The other hot items for breakfast were godawful. Only the coffee was halfway decent. After the first morning, we'd just check the food to see if anything had changed or been added, but just ended up eating breakfast out the rest of our stay. This was a true waste of money, and really had a negative impact on our vacation. There are a lot of hotels in Galveston, and absolutely no reason to stay at this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amy sue
Business
Pearland
Oct 15, 2012

Girls night out

The room was nice, staff was nice, bar next to hotel was way to loud! Lots of loud street noice kept us awake. Breakfast was good. Room 409 had unfinished sheet rock above the tub. Paid $150.00. I didn't feel like the room was worth that. $99.00 would have been fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pier across the street is lots of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim Lewis
Business
Santa Fe, TX
Oct 7, 2012

great getaway

me and my husband booked this hotel without any knowledge about it..we were pleasantly surprised how nice it was. For the price-it was pretty outstanding...we had an amazing view of the Pleasure pier....I don't see one reason anyone would be disappointed with this one....KML

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pleasure pier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
South San Antonio
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Location

Great Value, only thing I have to say is that they need more parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Prof. Trish
Business
Nacogdoches, TX
Oct 10, 2011

This is our new hotel of choice for Galveston.

The location is great. The staff was so kind and helpful. I asked for a room on the end- no problem. The lobby is so welcoming! And the breakfast was really good. This one is a keeper! The ONLY complaint is that the coke machines charge $2.00 per coke. That was a little annoying!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door is a little store, so if you forgot something, you don't have to make the trip to Krogers or Wal-mart.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewisville, TX
Apr 25, 2011

Great Location and Clean

This was a great hotel. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. We enjoyed our time there as it is very close to the beach and within walking distance of many restaurants. The breakfast area was a little crowded but there was plenty of food and it was constantly restocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
experienced business traveller
Business
Austin
Apr 18, 2011

Country Inn - Seawall area.

I wanted a good workout before breakfast. The equipment looked good on the surface, but the main weight machine was broken. Very cheap stuff. Obviously not purchased by someone who knows anything about such equipment from the standpoint of quality. The free breakfast was of such low quality that if you were served this swill in a restaurant you should refuse to pay for it: cheap scrambled egg mix, hash browns, the sausage was OK. Place isn't as good as Hampton, Courtyard, or updated Holiday Inns

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a very good pizza - Italian fare restaurant 1 mile west of the hotel on the Seawall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sugar Land, Texas
Feb 28, 2011

Love the room and balcony***

Booking last minute, we were quite please with what we got. We will definately be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Nov 3, 2010

Wonderful hotel in Galveston, TX

The employees were very friendly, efficient and knowledgable. They were there with a smile and helped to make my stay as pleasant as they could, accomodating my requests for the room details and view (ocean). The hotel itself is situated across from the beach. Very low noise and clean with modern ammenities -- lcd tv, wireless & hard lined internet access, feather bed and pillows, huge bathroom, private balcony, refrigerator & microwave, sitting area, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bennos -- the stuffed shrimp is a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top