$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

2 stars
View map of 2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, TX 77550

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
33 reviews
This was an awesome weekend getaway!

We had a mini vacation in Galveston, the hotel was great as well as the staff. The location was... See full review

  • Ruth M.
  • May 5, 2015
Spring Break Trip

We wanted a decent hotel that was within walking distance to Pleasure Pier. This hotel was more... See full review

  • MW
  • Mar 21, 2015
Hotel has oceanview rooms with balconies and features an indoor swimming pool, business center, full breakfast,Excersie room, free High speed Internet, HBO, ESPN, CNN, and major TV channels are available. Easy access to beach, numerous fine seafood restaurants and tourist attractions. Galveston features include Moody Gardens, Schlitterbaum Waterpark, Carnival Cruise Terminal, Historic Downtown, Colonel Paddlewheel Boat Tours, and Galveston Air Museum.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.5 mi

Dining

Fish Tales
2502 Seawall Blvd 409-762-8545
The Spot
3204 Seawall Boulevard 409-621-5237
Gaidos Seafood Restaurant
3802 Seawall Blvd 409-762-9625
Salsas Seaside Cafe
4604 Seawall Boulevard 409-621-2630
Joes Crab Shack
3502 Seawall Blvd 409-766-1515
Landrys Seafood House
5310 Seawall Blvd 409-744-1010
Tortuga Mexican Kitchen
6010 Seawall @ 61st 409-741-5000
Breakfast Room
Off of hotel lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bluediver50
tyler,texas
Feb 12, 2013

last minute stop

Was supposed to go o a cruise it got cancelled last minute...looked on internet this hotel cost 62 total...I'm very picky when it comes to hotels...the casinos have spoiled me...you will not be disappointed.. very clean very comfortable beds...I read other reviews warning about club noises and because of its location they are probably true but it was late on a Sunday night and the club was almost empty so we had no noises...very good choice for us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ruth M.
Business
N/A
May 5, 2015

This was an awesome weekend getaway!

We had a mini vacation in Galveston, the hotel was great as well as the staff. The location was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MW
Business
N/A
Mar 21, 2015

Spring Break Trip

We wanted a decent hotel that was within walking distance to Pleasure Pier. This hotel was more than we were expecting. I have never been to a hotel that did not have a hotel smell. When we walked into the room it smelled very nice and the room and bathroom were very clean. We even had a balcony with a view of Pleasure Pier and the beach. This was definitely a great hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scott 999
Business
Houston
Nov 11, 2014

Lone Star Rally 6

Nice place to stay. Great hot tub and pool. I Enjoyed the location and view from the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hulster
Business
Plano, Tx
Oct 14, 2014

Not a bad choice.

Room was clean and housekeeping did a great job. Breakfast was acceptable but not fabulous. Front desk staff as polite and helpful. Parking is limited but possible. Beach is across the street. Not a bad choice for a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pleasure pier. Well managed and clean but a little pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
33 yrs anniversary
Business
pasadena tx.
Aug 25, 2014

great access to beach & bars

great staff very helpful hot breakfast in morning indoor pool. Rooms could use a bigger tv. I would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the spot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love the Yankees
Business
Southern Arizona
Aug 25, 2014

country inn-Galveston

Hotel was nice. Rooms were clean and there were no issues with anything in the room. We were assigned a handicapped NS room, although we did not need handicapped. Only suggestion would be that if someone with unsteady footing were to use the shower, they might slip and fall, as there was no slip resistant texturing on the tub. I found it very slippery and did not use it to bathe my 1 yr old, as I did not want him to slip and fall. There were cigarette butts in the cracks of the cement on the patio but no residual scent. Overall, I would go back and would suggest the hotel to others. The continental breakfast was good, and they had different offerings daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
min1979
Business
galveston
Aug 18, 2014

It is a clean, good place.

It is our second time to book this hotel. Room is clean, and the swimming pool is an extra surprise for my son. However, when I booked the queen suits, which includes 2 queen beds and separate sofabed, I was planning us the room for the 4 adults and my 6 year old son to stay in, and I did not notice the people number when I typed on the website. To my surprise, when I tried to check in, the lady said I need to pay additional 30 dollars for the additional 3 people, including my little boy( he is supposed to be free with an adult). I do not want to ruin my holiday, so I paid the 30 dollars. Except this issue, everything is great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ASCamp
Business
DFW
Jun 21, 2014

Conference

Came to Galveston for a conference. Decided to stay here as it was close(within walking distance) to several places I wanted to go. The hotel was nice. Not much of a view from my room(roof of hotel drive blocked it). One thing negative about room was that the shower drained slow. Other than that, the experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebbieG
Business
Clute, Texas
Jun 15, 2014

Great view!

We love Galveston and this Hotel was right where we could walk to everything we wanted to! Great location and clean and nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bethanyg5
Business
Henderson,KY
Jun 9, 2014

Nice trip

Other than the internet was awful the whole week, it was a nice place. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pleasure pier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top