$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

2 stars
2818 Avenue R 1/2, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
30 reviews
My proposal weekend

I proposed to my girlfriend the weekend I stayed at country inn an suites and it was fantastic! Bed... See full review

  • Nobrien
  • Jun 24, 2013
Great hotel, great location

This is a great hotel, right on the seawall and close to everything - Pleasure Pier is right across... See full review

  • Dark Glass
  • May 6, 2013
Hotel has oceanview rooms with balconies and features an indoor swimming pool, business center, full breakfast,Excersie room, free High speed Internet, HBO, ESPN, CNN, and major TV channels are available. Easy access to beach, numerous fine seafood restaurants and tourist attractions. Galveston features include Moody Gardens, Schlitterbaum Waterpark, Carnival Cruise Terminal, Historic Downtown, Colonel Paddlewheel Boat Tours, and Galveston Air Museum.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.2863 -94.7944
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
GEORGE BUSH INTERCONTINENTAL, (IAH), 69.70, MI, SE; HOUSTON HOBBY ARPT, (HOU), 42.00, MI, SE; SCHOLES FIELD, (GLS), 4.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Beach, This hotel is located near the beach.

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 1.5 mi

Dining

Fish Tales
2502 Seawall Blvd 409-762-8545
The Spot
3204 Seawall Boulevard 409-621-5237
Gaidos Seafood Restaurant
3802 Seawall Blvd 409-762-9625
Salsas Seaside Cafe
4604 Seawall Boulevard 409-621-2630
Joes Crab Shack
3502 Seawall Blvd 409-766-1515
Landrys Seafood House
5310 Seawall Blvd 409-744-1010
Tortuga Mexican Kitchen
6010 Seawall @ 61st 409-741-5000
Breakfast Room
Off of hotel lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Much Experience
Idaho
Jan 14, 2013

Great place

Excellent hotel, one of the ones you wish you didn't have to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ASCamp
Business
DFW
Jun 21, 2014

Conference

Came to Galveston for a conference. Decided to stay here as it was close(within walking distance) to several places I wanted to go. The hotel was nice. Not much of a view from my room(roof of hotel drive blocked it). One thing negative about room was that the shower drained slow. Other than that, the experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebbieG
Clute, Texas
Jun 15, 2014

Great view!

We love Galveston and this Hotel was right where we could walk to everything we wanted to! Great location and clean and nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bethanyg5
Henderson,KY
Jun 9, 2014

Nice trip

Other than the internet was awful the whole week, it was a nice place. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pleasure pier

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ the One
Houston
May 7, 2014

Perfect couples get away.

Clean, modern and located a short walk from a lot of great places. I will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Babymoonerof2
Fort Worth, tx
Mar 11, 2014

Great location

Breakfast was pretty terrible. Hot milk, raw oatmeal, watered down waffle batter. Thank goodness the 3rd morning someone knew what they were doing. Beautiful balcony views, close to pleasure pier, and an easy walk to the beach. Not a bad hotel for the price. The indoor pool was VERY cold!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to restaurants and pleasure pier and a few beach shops. Right by a conveinant store

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The sweetest Mel ever
Sweeny, Tx
Mar 2, 2014

Great getaway for the price.

Only complaint is there was no parking. We had to park in the front on the drop off driveway. I was nervous the car wod get towed, but didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

To beach and easier pier.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
economic traveling
Lake Orion,MI
Feb 26, 2014

Great get away

Unforntunately it was foggy so we couldnt see well outside. Warm food, eggs, sauage, red skin potatoes, waffels, along with the rest of a typical cold breakfast was worth eating there. Staff was nice. Workout room kinda sucks because the weight machine didnt work but the tread machine and eliptical did. Nice bar that has a pool!! Next door, another sports one as well. Pleasure pier is about a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Rooms 3 rd floor and above are best for sights. A bike would be great to get around.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Islander by Choice
Houston, TX
Feb 24, 2014

Perfect Location

We were in town for Mardi Gras, it was the perfect location. Walking distance to plenty of bars and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wed 35 years
Longview, Texas
Oct 16, 2013

Beach getaway

Comfortable bed, nice view of Pleasure Pier, Courteous and friendly staff, great price. We look forward to returning soon. I missed the fresh cookies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's Crab Shack on harbor side. Graet food, great staff, and calm quiet in the afternoon before evening rush.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach, TX

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CyndiG
La Mesa, CA
Oct 10, 2013

This place is the pitts, don't stay here

DON'T EVER GO HERE! Especially if Malcolm is working! We took a trip to visit one of our friends that recently got stationed in Texas with the Coast Guard. After checking in we were unloading our luggage and noticed some men drinking close to the parking lot, then upon entering our room found trash in the toilet, and the room stunk. We called down to Malcolm and asked about the parking lot and our concerns with the room, we were greeted with his AWFUL customer service skills. He showed no concern and was rude. Then while trying to make the best of the situation I sat on the bed where I found a bug! Awesome, we spent $145 on the room and got: awful customer service, a sketchy parking lot, a stinky room, trash in the toilet, and now a bug! We then decided not to stay there and went down to the front to see if there was anything they could do to help. Malcolm was no help and his attitude was out of control. He told us that he knew the only reason we didn't want to stay was because of the car(I wasn't aware that he was also a mind reader) and there was nothing he would do for us. Then when we asked about a customer care number he pointed to a card on the counter(which was for reservations, not a customer care number.) I then later complained to the manager and she told us as well that there was nothing she would do for us and she knew we were concerned at the black men outside. This pushed me over the edge. For one, I'm not racist, but thank you for using a tone and phrasing it in a way that assumes that I am. There were three men drinking in the dark. I'm sorry, but it makes no difference the color of their skin, it was a little sketchy with there being no lights on around them. Long story short...DON'T STAY HERE! And Malcolm has the worst attitude EVER!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Spot is super cool and fun

Back to menu Return to top