$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Commodore on the Beach

3 stars
3618 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX 77550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
50 reviews
short stay

This was a clean, well taken care of hotel for a decent price. See full review

  • Little Blondie
  • Jul 28, 2014
Good bang for the buck

Nice staff, clean rooms. Ocean view just outside your door! Only wished the shower worked better... See full review

  • Pauloboy
  • Jun 12, 2014
Wake up to a spectacular Galveston beachfront view of the Gulf of Mexico. Sip coffee on your own private balcony overlooking Galveston Island's famous Seawall. Take a dip in our sparkling pool. Stroll the beach for a shell or two. Bike through Galveston's historic neighborhoods nearby. The Commodore on the Beach is in the heart of Galveston Island's ambience, right on the waterfront at 37th and Seawall Boulevard (Longitude 95 degrees West, Latitude 29.2 degrees North). That beachfront corner is the Island's midsection ? to the east are Stewart Beach and Galveston's restored architectural treasures and museums; an equal distance to the west are the world-class attractions of Moody Gardens. The Strand Historical District and the Post office Street art galleries are even closer. It's as if the Commodore's builders said, "OK, here are all the fun things to do on Galveston Island, now where can we put a hotel to be closest to all of it?" Of course, they couldn't have known about the food. Today, The Commodore on the Beach finds itself surrounded by the great restaurants that make Galveston so delicious. Gaido's, Casey's, Joe's Crab Shack, The Rainforest Caf��, Landry's and Salsa's Seaside Cantina are within walking distance, and more are on the way. And now, in addition to our traditional Galveston beachfront hotel, we offer the option of renting a guest house. Commodore HomeStyle is a unique collection of cottages located conveniently throughout the Island, where you experience Galveston as the natives do. You can choose a property near Stewart Beach and the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, or choose one closer to the hotel. All are convenient walking distance to the beach. For more information, click the "HomeStyle" button to the right. Vacationers who choose The Commodore know from the moment of check-in that we want them to have fond memories of their visit to Galveston. The staff is happy to share our local knowledge - from the best bike rental deal

Hotel Map

29.2809 -94.8024
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Commodore on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Commodore on the Beach Rooms

Beachfront Double
Tastefully appointed beachfront room with 2 double beds First Floor Rooms have Pool Patios while Upper Floors have Private Balconies. All rooms have phones with Computer Ports, wi-fi, and satellite TV service. Small Refrigerators are Available for $15, pl
Beachfront King
Tastefully appointed beachfront room with 1 king bed First Floor Rooms have Pool Patios while Upper Floors have Private Balconies. All rooms have phones with Computer Ports, wi-fi, and satellite TV service. Small Refrigerators are Available for $15, plus
Beachfront Family Room
Tastefully appointed beachfront family room with 3 queen beds. These rooms are extremely spacious and a perfect choice for families. First Floor Rooms have Pool Patios while Upper Floors have Private Balconies. All rooms have phones with Computer Ports, w

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
In-Room Safe
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 2 mi

Dining

On-Site Food and Beverage Facilities
COMMODORE COFFEE SHOP - Type: Coffee Shop - Hours of Operation: 24 - Dress Code: Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Commodore on the Beach

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
2.9

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Commodore on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday Getaway of 3
Houston, Texas
Sep 30, 2013

Birthday Getaway

We got there on time for check in. The first room they gave us was a complete mess. I'm amazed at how grown ups can leave a mess that way and not even flush the toilet! Eww!! I know there's housekeepers but why should they see your business left behind. We had to go back to lobby and ask for a different room which was not cool cause we were on 4th floor. The second room was way better and clean! We loved the pool and location!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commodore on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SammieG
Killeen, Texas
Jul 31, 2013

Needs improvement

The room was a bit dirty, the furnishings were falling apart and the noise from outside kept the kids awake. The breakfast was a joke but the staff was nice . the location was good and the pool was nice. Oh the parking was not good. There was never any parking for guests because people that were eating nextdoor took up the spaces. Too expensive for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The dolphin watch tour ,Baywatch, is amazing check it out if your ever in Galveston!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commodore on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BretH
Minneapolis
Jun 9, 2013

Good Value, Good location, Friendly Staff

We had never been to Galveston before and this hotel met our needs. The rooms are a bit small but they all have a balcony facing the ocean. The pool was very nice. The staff really seemed to enforce the rules which was nice for us-for example, there was someone smoking at the pool and they were immediately asked to put it out and there were kids unattended in the pool and someone immediately told them to leave. The hotel was right by a cross walk which made getting to the ocean very easy with crossing that terribly busy road out front. Our only complaint, is that a maintenance person was using our bathroom when we checked in but it was a honest mistake and they apologized and recleaned our bathroom. All in all, we would come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commodore on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plan a trip
Austin, TX
May 10, 2013

Look inside the walls

The Commodore on the Beach has a fine location, walk across Seawall Blvd. and you are at the beach. Walk to fine dining just a block away, these folks know how to take care of there customers. The rooms are large, we had a first floor which allowed you to walk out to the pool in the front or the parked vehicle in the back. Coffee and breakfast goodies are available every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great food near by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commodore on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lavishly blessed
Business
Houston
Mar 26, 2013

Good view

Looking out over the beach is the most positive thing I can say about this hotel. I did not feel safe here even though they had security. It was open for anyone to access the entry doors to the rooms. The first room I entered had someone in it who was using a previous occupants key card! When I returned to the desk to inform them my room was occupied, they tried to put me on the first floor, where anyone off the street had access. They were quick to change it when I voiced my concern, but overall I DID NOT FEEL SAFE! I chose not to stay my second night even though I was required to pay for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commodore on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beachcombers
East Texas
Feb 18, 2013

It Was "OK"

Hot and cold water reversed in lavatory and tub. Shower didn't work. Stopper in tub leaked out almost as fast as water ran in to a tub so small I couldn't sit in it comfortably. It served the purpose of a place to sleep since we were there for events and dining, but was overpriced for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commodore on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
old moi
philly suburbs
Aug 12, 2012

on the beach

People were super. The room was nice actually better than expected after reading the comments before we left. It is definitely worth the money. It was not new but it was clean as one could expect. The pool was clean and all around it was nice and orderly. Breakfast was less than the hotels that include a waffle place, with small space, but I never saw it crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commodore on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeffcoat
Houston,Texas
Jul 30, 2012

Perfect if you want to be by the Beach..

Everything was good except A/C wasn't that cold ... it almost seem as if they controlled the temp !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brickhouse is a great place !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commodore on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gnette
Katy, tx
Jul 16, 2012

unacceptable

My husband and I have not had a vacation in two years. We stayed one night due to the room had bed bugs that bit me and my husband. The staff tried to downplay it by saying it was a sand flea! It was not. It was a bed bug. So therefore the room was not clean. For the amount of money we spent it was not worth us staying for not even a whole night. We were woken up by the bed bugs biting us at 3 am. We contacted the front desk and was told we could move to another room! Why would we want to move to another bug infested room. Don't stay here if you want to sleep bug free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commodore on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jeff S. 2012
Corpus Christi, Texas
Jul 9, 2012

Commodore on the Beach

Location was very good. Room seemed to be very over priced for the quality of the room, basically a dump. Parking was terrible. We will not be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search