$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

2 stars
808 61st Street C, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
18 reviews
excellent stay

Its a short drive from the beach, clean rooms, and nice staff. Its a perfect stay for a family. See full review

  • Beachbum1
  • Jul 4, 2013
Good location

Breakfast would have been a blessing, since we were too exhausted to cook. Would have liked to have... See full review

  • glam momma
  • Jul 12, 2014
All-suites hotel features a kitchen, outdoor pool and fitness center
Families and business travelers who prefer more living space than a standard hotel room appreciate the all-suite accommodations at the Candlewood Suites Galveston. Every room has a fully equipped kitchen, and the hotel offers an expansive library of movies for guests to watch on DVD players in their rooms. A free laundry facility is a welcome addition for travelers on extended trips. The fully equipped fitness center is free for Candlewood Suites Galveston guests.
Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access in all guest rooms
  • Outdoor seasonal pool and patio
  • Free laundry facility
Rooms

Subtle earth hues set the tone in the Candlewood Suites Galveston. Each room boasts a fully equipped kitchen, plus dining and sitting areas. In addition to a king- or queen-sized bed, or two full-sized beds, rooms are furnished with the expected amenities, including an iron/ironing board and hair-dryer. An overstuffed reclining chair is the perfect spot to watch a movie borrowed from the Candlewood Suites Galveston library and rooms have televisions with premium cable, and pay-per-view movies.

Features
The beach is minutes from the hotel, and the Candlewood Suites Galveston is close to other Galveston attractions, including the Schlitterbahn Waterpark, the Galveston History Museum and the Port of Galveston. The historic Strand District, with dozens of shops, galleries, restaurants and museums, is also a five-minute drive away. A free laundry facility is especially welcome by visitors on extended trips.
Transportation
  • William P. Hobby Airport (40 mi/64 km)
  • George Bush Intercontinental Airport (57 mi/97 km)
Attractions
  • Moody Gardens (1 mi/2 km)
  • Fort Crockett (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston Island Convention Center (2 mi/3 km)
  • Lone Star Flight Museum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Schlitterbahn Waterpark (2 mi/3 km)
  • Galveston Island Railroad Museum (3 mi /4 km)
  • Port of Galveston (3 mi /4 km)
  • Galveston History Museum (3 mi/5 km)             
  • Strand Theatre (3 mi/5 km)
  • Texas Seaport Museum (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in guest rooms
  • Laundry facilities (fees apply)

Hotel Map

29.2893 -94.8384
Nearby airports
Hobby Airport, (HOU), 40.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites GALVESTON also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of Galveston: 3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 18
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beachbum1
Galveston, TX
Jul 4, 2013

excellent stay

Its a short drive from the beach, clean rooms, and nice staff. Its a perfect stay for a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Trinity, Texas
Jul 24, 2011

Great place to stay!

Best place to stay and still be close to all the entertainment in Galveston. Very clean, had a full size refrig and two burner stove with all the things you would need to cook with. We did not need it but nice to know for future trips. [...] the desk clerk was so helpful and informative and gave us excellent directions. Movies to rent for free. You just sign them out and take them back. Night clerk was very friendly also, morning clerk just as friendly. How refreshing, will definitely stay there again next year but for a longer period as I will save on meals knowing I have the facilities to cook. Great price also!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Stay here and you avoid all the traffic to all the main attractions.

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
galverston
Apr 25, 2010

fantastic for family get away

better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
glam momma
galveston, texas
Jul 12, 2014

Good location

Breakfast would have been a blessing, since we were too exhausted to cook. Would have liked to have separate bedroom since we had to get in and out of bathroom quickly, to give everyone a turn.. ( We had 4 people in a double suite)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Attractions are all 1-10 minutes away....no interstate needed...

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
May 26, 2009

The good and the bad

The room was not ready when I got there, check in was for 1500 hrs and I didn't get in my room until 1700 hrs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 28, 2009

Great hotel!

We stayed the night before we left for a cruise. The hotel was very nice and clean. It had a great pool and was comfortable. Great price and value!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, LA
Jul 6, 2010

Nice stay

We chose this room for the price and location and were pleased. The hotel was located next to a Target and down the road from Moody Gardens. The room was perfect for a baby. It contained a dishwasher with dish detergent so I was able to wash baby bottles while we were out. We didn't care for the beach so it was not a problem that the hotel wasn't on the beach. The room also came with a few pots, utensils, 2 rolls of papertowels, a toaster, coffee pot, and full size refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Team Maddie
Houston, Tx
Jul 10, 2011

Good Hotel

I came here a couple of years ago with my kids for a quick get-a-way. The hotel was brand new, and we looooved it. The rooms were okay, and the customer service was great. It's right by the beach--perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right across the street form the beach. Nuff said.

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
dallas, tx
Jun 14, 2011

family vacation

enjoy the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

nice, clean suites

Review of Candlewood Suites GALVESTON

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
t wilson
Houston, TX, USA
Mar 19, 2012

getaway

to speak candidly the room for the price was very disappointing it wasn't the two full seperate rooms as it appears on the pic and what you normally rec. with a suite.it was small and the t.v. had bad reception.and I paid double the cost for the room.I don't think I would ever revisit,great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search